We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holed up for the office party”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #90 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 8 December 2013

had to find somewhere for the office party night, since its too expensive to have a taxi home 35 miles. £33 for a single room excellent value and you get to use the leisure club complete with all the usual water features, for only £4. Well worth the effort. Snag is its a bit far out of town. Take the 43 bus right outside and it will take you to Picadilly Gardens. catch the 143 or 43 back they run all night. An interesting experience if ever! Breakfast extra at £7.95 would be good if you need it.

Room Tip: realise how far out it is if you want the city or the airport. Taxis in Manchester are extortionate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be of good value and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,415 - 1,421 of 2,720 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013

Stayed at this wonderful hotel as a stop over for our holiday flight at Manchester Airport not only was the tariff reasonably priced we were able to include a three course meal room upgrade and parking during our holiday i would recommend this hotel to anyone unfortunately we were unable to take in the surroundings because of the cold winter nights but in summertime i sure it would be fabulous ideal place for a few days break

Room Tip: choose an upgrade superior room for an extra £10
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyholidaymakers24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you really enjoyed your stay and I will be delighted to pass on your kind comments to all of our staff.

Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The fact that we got a room at a really good price was the only saving grace! Hotel very tired looking, needs some tlc. Room was clean but it you want to get any sleep, stay somewhere else. Horrendous night, having to listen to unruly neighbours in next room, loud music, swearing, banging on walls, etc. Complained to staff who smiled politely and said there was a lot of young people staying that weekend!!!!!! Would not stay here again if you paid me insurmountable sums of money.

Room Tip: Don't bother - choose different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I am sorry that you were disturbed by noise from other guests we do ask guests to be quiet however some guests can be inconsiderate.

Thank you for your constructive criticism, your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Was hoping to find suitable accommodation as visiting family in the area, and was looking for somewhere to use on a regular basis.

Parking was an absolute nightmare! No where to park your car as it is used for airport parking.

Hotel I would describe as 'tired', very basic. need of a re-decoration - watermarks on walls from water leaks in past.
Bath was a laugh - need to have steps to as very high plus the bath taps in were in the way to step into the bath. Would not be suitable if any limitations in movements.

Bed uncomfortable and very noisy from the Airport bus /taxi and banging of luggage !

Not suitable for my needs in meeting up with my family.

Room Tip: Find alternative hotel - unless going to airport!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

I was sorry to read that you were unhappy with your recent stay with us.

We have over 600 spaces on our car park and at times our car park can be very busy.

Unfortunately some of our guests can be noisy when they are entering and leaving the hotel and I am sorry that you were disturbed by this.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

Kind Regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel early November,and read some reviews before we went,so I just had to add mine, we had a great time here for 5 days,food was very good room was good and the staff were really good,and at night in the bar it was only £1 a drink, so thanks Brittania see you next year

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FalkirkPortonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you really enjoyed your stay and I will be delighted to pass on your kind comments to all of our staff, I look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Stayed for one night. Hotel is large and reception area very nice. Rooms are slightly dated but its a cheap room do what more is expected. Clean bathrooms with great power shower. Would stay again for the price. :)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemna105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments and I would like to thank you for adding your comments to Trip Advisor.
Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Believe me, I would never willingly stay a night in this hotel after reading the myriad of appealing reviews and especially after reading the manager's inadequate and often condescending replies...
However, I attended a conference here which was rather quite pleasant. The room was warm, pens and paper were waiting, as were coffee and pastries.
The toilets were very old fashioned but extremely clean.
I got dropped off but noted that the car park is pretty rough and full of pot holes.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank J3KTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for your comments following your recent visit to the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was sorry to read that prior to your visit you felt that you would not stay with us due to reviews online. I do wish that more guests that stay with us and enjoy their stay would post their comments as we have many repeat visitors and guests that do enjoy their stay with us and it is a shame that most of the time it is only guests that do not enjoy their stay that leave feedback.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit and found the conference facilities pleasant.

I do hope that following your visit that you would visit us again.

Our car park repairs have now been carried out.

Thank you for your constructive criticism, rest assured your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.5 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#38 of 120 in Manchester
157 reviews
3.3 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#68 of 120 in Manchester
1,395 reviews
2 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#69 of 120 in Manchester
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
#61 of 120 in Manchester
260 reviews
5.9 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#75 of 120 in Manchester
103 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £40 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing