We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #89 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“good hotel”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

hi we stayed 2 nights at this hotel,we were a party of 8.Four couples,we were all pleased with our rooms all nice and clean.Food was good,entertainment was ok.Swimming pool, sauna, gym all ok. We all enjoyed our stay at this hotel.Only one point to make if you play bingo the payout is very poor ,in fact it wasatotal rip off,i suggest the managment take alook at this,when you pay good money to play ,you should pay good money out,it should be 75 per cent pay out,on the night we played pay out was an insult.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mick195059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
I was pleased to read that you found your stay to be enjoyable, although you were unhappy with the prize money for bingo. Thank you for your constructive criticism, rest assured your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    651
    510
    380
    716
See reviews for
536
996
108
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We are a family group and we stayed one Saturday night to attend a family function nearby. Our check in was prompt but not welcoming. We enquired about the time of breakfast there was a hand written sign saying 6-30-9-30am but we were told by a male receptionist that it was until
10-30am on Sundays. We had two family and one double executive room. The rooms were a good size but needed updating. There were stains and ground in dirt on the carpets. The walls are paper thin so you do hear noise from the surrounding rooms. We went to the bar to get a coffee but were told the coffee machine was broken so could only get cold drinks. The barman did apologise for this.

The next moring we went down to breakfast at 9.45am and were told the breakfast was finished. We explained that we had been told 10.30am eventually we were allowed to enter but told we would need to choose our hot food quickly as it was being removed. The breakfast was just about edible. The Restaurant Supervisor returned to our table on a number of occasions to ask us to describe the receptionist who had told us 10.30am. We fully expected her to ask us to identify them in a police line up!

Obviously the staff are allowed to get their breakfast after service. I was surrounded at the toaster by food service assistants putting their own toast on the toasting machine.

After breakfast we used the pool we were suprised that there was a charge for hotel residents to use the pool.

The hotel is mainly used by guests on coach trips or by travellers using the hotel to park using Manchester airport. I would say it is ok for a one night stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChoiceHotelsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I am sorry that you were given the incorrect information by our reception staff and for this I offer my most sincere apologies. Our breakfast is open Monday to Friday 6.30am to 9.30am and Saturday and Sunday 7.00am to 10.00am.

Our staff are not permitted to help themselves to breakfast in the restaurant and I would like to thank you for bringing this matter to my attention.

Thank you for your constructive criticism as this enables us to improve our standards to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I was a solo traveller with a coach firm and stayed here for 4 nights. I have to say I was given an executive double room with en suite including jaccuzzi. the room was clean and comfortable. I slept like a log every night as the hotel was lovely and quiet. Set in beautiful grounds it was all very pleasant for me.
Staff were all brilliant and nothing was too much trouble. A special mention to Sandra the restaurant manageress, who went out of her way to help us. I would definately come back here to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you really enjoyed your stay and I will be delighted to pass on your kind comments to all of our staff.

Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Mmmm where to start, the staff were rude, slow & on the first night our room was SHAKING from the music downstairs until 1am and the clientele attracted to the wedding event were god dam awful. It was like entering the twilight zone!

on the second night we were asked to show our room key to the manager on returning to hotel entrance because hooligans were trying to enter drunk as skunks after they had been attending a 400 person event at the hotel that night. there were also five police cars at the property during the early hours and our mother in law was kept awake through noisy idiots throughout her corridor until 4.30am.

This hotel is dirty, poorly managed and attracts Horrible people. their 1am policies for events on the weekend and lack of respect for other paying guests makes this literally one of the worst hotels we have ever stayed in. The breakfast tasted awful too.

Sorry, this should be delisted.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

The hotel can be extremely busy at times as we do have 255 bedrooms and extensive Conference & Banqueting facilities and I am sorry that you were disturbed by noise, we do ask our guests to be quiet however some guests can be inconsiderate..

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay North Wales
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed one night before flying out from Manchester airport on 6 December. I think we must have been in a different hotel from some of the reviewers. Reception staff were welcoming and polite- making sure we knew about the transfer system. We parked our car close by with plenty of spaces to choose from. Our room- not huge and bathroom were very clean and comfortable with more storage space than we have had in supposedly 'better 'hotels. Pity we were only there for one night!!! We had dinner and breakfast and were amazed at the quality and choice available for the price. I liked the fact that someone from the kitchen came out frequently to check on the dishes. Also liked the fact that as we were on the 7.30am transfer we were allowed in for breakfast early. The transfer was on time and the driver again explained how we got the transfer back. We would not hesitate to return or to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ground floor room was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareColwynBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for placing your feedback Trip Advisor, I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed there on the 13/12/2013 when we arrived it took us at least 15 minuets to find somewhere to park it was a total disgrace cars were parked everywhere we had to park on the edge of this muddy verge and a big puddle not what I expected from a large chain of hotels. The general outlook of the hotel was impressive on entry to our room first thing was the thermostat to turn it down as the heat was over bearing and there was no way to turn the heat down we had to sleep with the window open all night which I do not like to do as I have children in the room take note the middle of December window open all night not the best thing to do but did not have a choice due to the heat in the room. We enjoyed the breakfast and was worth the £5.00 if you book in advance I must say that all the staff were polite. Would we stay again I think we would.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
We do have in excess of 600 car parking spaces at the hotel and I am sorry that you found it difficult to find a parking space on your arrival at the Hotel. The hotel can be extremely busy at times as we do have 255 bedrooms and extensive Conference & Banqueting facilities.

I am sorry that you found your room too hot.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your breakfast and that you would stay with us again.

Kind Regards
Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Please think several times before booking this hotel. Reception staff rude. Rooms absolutely dreadful. Hotel not only in need of TLC - in DIRE NEED of a good old fashioned clean ! Absolute shame because the place would not take much to sort out. Manager? If you want someone who has no interest in listening to views then he would be suitable for Managing the 'couldn't care less got your money up front' brigade ! Bad doesn't even come close.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sayitasitis_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was sorry to read that you were unhappy with your recent stay and felt that the hotel was in need of TLC.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

Kind Regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
1.5 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#50 of 118 in Manchester
99 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#71 of 118 in Manchester
808 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
#56 of 118 in Manchester
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#67 of 118 in Manchester
1,283 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
5.2 mi away
The Airport Inn Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Property: Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing