We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new year.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #88 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
carlisle
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“new year.”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

arrived 30 dec with Caledonian travel,for a4 day festive break, our first impressions were how stunning the reception was, greeted by smiling staff who took care of all our coach luggage, and left it outside our room, room was good with controlled heating, it did look a little tired but not a problem, although 4 coach parties were staying along with other guests it was not a problem, the staff were very well organised, all credit to the lot of them, nothing was ever a problem, the food right through was excellent, with a good choice of menu,the other factor was the price of drink which was more than reasonable .all in all thank you country house from my wife and I for a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: if you have any disabilities email the hotel before you travel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you really enjoyed your stay and I will be delighted to pass on your kind comments to all of our staff.

Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    643
    496
    363
    692
See reviews for
520
968
103
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Sitting in our family room now writing this review.....we came here for a last minute break away with the 2 children and as most other family rooms were booked in our usual Manchester hotels though we would give this a try. First point to make yes this hotel is run down and needs updating but it is not as bad as people are making out. We stayed in room 367 which is a quiet room with a double and 2 singles and a jacuzzi bath......yes not the best room I've stayed In but for what we paid perfectly fine. We didn't eat here so can't comment on that but the gentleman on reception was really friendly.....he was on his own checking people in and did a great job. The staff were lovely and a credit to the Britannia chain. Please ignore all the bad reviews like I said needs updating but good value for money.

Room Tip: Room 367 was a family room very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siany23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you felt that the hotel is run down, we do have an ongoing decorating / refurbishment programme, but with 255 bedrooms public areas and extensive conference and banqueting facilities this can take some time.

I was pleased to read that you thought the hotel was good value for money and the staff were friendly. I do hope that you return to stay with us again.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Some people on here are so critical, I stay at this hotel for 3 days on the twixmas break deal the room I received was clean and tidy for the £90 I payed and cleaned everyday it had a newly fitted bathroom with a powerful hot shower.

The hotel itself was clean and tidy and the food excellent for the money in jennys restaurant, it was hot and varied day to day mostly roast dinners turkey,beef and chicken etc.

Entertainment was ok could of been a few more acts but there was nightly bingo and a quiz. The hotel pool was clean and great but not included in the price of the trip.

Overall it was a great stay and would go again, Some of the reviews on here would put you off but its not 5 star luxury but a lovely hotel for a nice little get away with excellent value!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aibo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you really enjoyed your stay and I will be delighted to pass on your kind comments to all of our staff.

Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Reading some of the reviews you would think twice about booking the hotel and on arrival it seemed the case as we arrived just before check in time of 2pm, only to be informed no rooms ready for at least 20mins - I did return to the reception after about 10mins and the receptionist quickly sorted us out with a room and all the info we needed for our 3 night stay between Christmas and new year. The room was of a good size and was serviced well, it had everything one requires which was replenished daily. As we had booked dinner and breakfast on each day the restaurant was key to how good our stay would be and apart from it getting warm you could not fault the food with plenty of choice, staff were friendly, attentive and worked hard in a very busy place, going after 8pm is quieter and we left breakfast until 9am and found it easier to get to all self service buffet. We used the bar which was cheap and the spa which cost £4 to use and could not fault either- the hotel communal areas do get rather warm and some of the decor and furniture requires upgrading it did not spoil a good stay.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms very spacious and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runningraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Our check in time is from 2.00pm and I am sorry you had to wait for your room. I was pleased to read that you really enjoyed your stay and I will be delighted to pass on your kind comments to all of our staff.

Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbys
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a three night break between Christmas and new year, it was just what we needed. After reading some of the reviews on here I was a little scared.....
We had a executive room that was large clean and lovely large bath. All the staff were friendly and attentive, food at the hotel was lovely in Jenny's restaurant. Drinks was very cheap I really could not complain about anything. I must say a special thank you to Adrian in the restaurant he really looked after us for the whole of our stay. They did put entertainment on the the break which was good. Overall it was great. I must say the spa was the best one I've been in at any Britannia Hotel. Don't take too much notice of all the bad reviews on here, it's worth every penny.. Thanks for making our break enjoyable...

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bannersDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel which I will pass on to all of the staff whom I am sure will be delighted to read them.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed here overnight on a Wednesday night in December before flying out to Jamaica in the morning. My first impression on driving in through the gate was how nice it looked. The entrance foyer was really charming and the Chrismas tree looked stunning setting a really festive scene. We chcked in at 20: 30 and this was quick and efficient. We informed the rececptionist that we had a meal booked as part of our package and was told that was fine and thar it didn't close until 21:30. We dropped our bags of in our room and went straight to the dinning room where we qued behind a family going into what i think was an italian dinning area. The manager who was bright and cheery when dealing with the family in front of us suddenly changed when i mentioned we had a meal booked. It was 20:45 & i swear his first words to me were your going to have to be quick we
are closing in 10 mins. He pointed towards a seating area and didn't even show us to our table. No explanation as to how dinning would work. It turned out it was a carvery buffett. We got some soup and had to ask for spoons.All staff were busy in a vitualy empty place packing up and talking wuth each other. I had to ask the couple on the next table if i could have his bread roll as he was clearly on his dessert. No attempt was made to find out if everything was ok or if we wanted a drink. Not one member of staff approached us during the meal. Having finished our soup we got up and headed to the servery where the carvery was kept this looked very tired and looked like it had been out under the heating lamps for far to long. We struggled to find something that was edible and was rushed into making a selection by the chef? Who proceeded to remove dishes while we had nearly empty plates. It was now 21:00 and we were feeling extremly unwelcome. I have never ever seen such bad manners from any staff they were a disgrace to the hotel. We couldn't have a dessert because they had taken them away by 21:10. I thought about complaining to the manager but thought whats the point he set the standard the moment we entered. We left the restaurant with soup dishes still on our table uncleared and with the staff still talking to each other and preparing for what i presume was breakfast. No one asked if everything was ok no one checked to see if we needed to pay. We may as well have not existed. Congradulations Britania on getting my vote as the worst restaurant that i have ever been in. I have not got one good word to say about it or the staff.

On returning to our room we found a dingy dirty old fashioned bedroom that had seen better days.
We were only staying overnight so decided to go to the bar and spend the rest of the evening there.
The bar was busy but ok service was quick friendly and efficient.

We were picked up in the morning by a minibus and delivered to our terminal.....no problem.


On our return however we were left standing at the airport in the cold for what seemed like ever. The minibus broke down and we had to wait for a replacement to come out. When it did the driver was moaning constantly about the this being the 3rd breakdown that morning and how heavy the luggage was. Myself and another passenger proceeded to get of the bus and carry themajority of the luggage to the replacement van to speed up the process. Then it turns out the van isn't big enough......s ometimes you just have to laugh!!!!. The luggage was piled inside the minibus and on our laps.

Overall a terrible service by Brittania and your transport......Never ever again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PaulD61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I am sorry for the standard of customer service you received in our restaurant I do understand how frustrating this would have been. I do wish that you had spoken to the restaurant supervisor or duty manager at the time of your stay as this could have been rectified immediately. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for bringing this matter to my attention.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

hi we stayed 2 nights at this hotel,we were a party of 8.Four couples,we were all pleased with our rooms all nice and clean.Food was good,entertainment was ok.Swimming pool, sauna, gym all ok. We all enjoyed our stay at this hotel.Only one point to make if you play bingo the payout is very poor ,in fact it wasatotal rip off,i suggest the managment take alook at this,when you pay good money to play ,you should pay good money out,it should be 75 per cent pay out,on the night we played pay out was an insult.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mick195059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
I was pleased to read that you found your stay to be enjoyable, although you were unhappy with the prize money for bingo. Thank you for your constructive criticism, rest assured your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.5 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#56 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester West Didsbury Hotel
3.3 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#68 of 117 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#70 of 117 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
5.9 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#74 of 117 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Property: Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing