We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #89 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Stayed here several times en route to Spain, used park and stay facilities.
Warm welcome from all staff, 3 course evening meal was lovely, full English breakfast was very much appreciated before our flight.

Room Tip: Go for exec room it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel which I will pass on to all of the staff.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for posting your comments on trip advisor for other potential guests to read.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,403 - 1,409 of 2,739 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

Booked here last minute, all hotels in the area were either fully booked or ridiculously expensive as United were playing at home. I read the reviews so wasn't expecting much at all but for the price I thought it didn't really matter. How pleasantly surprised were we when we arrived, a massive car par (they do airport shuttle runs) so parking was easy. The hotel reception was very Grandeur, we were met by very helpful, polite and friendly staff and were quickly checked in and given our room key. The hotel corridors were also very grand and spacious, the room was a little dated in the fact there was still had a large TV unit with a bulky old TV, but we weren't there to watch telly, the beds were comfy, the curtains were very thick so kept out any drafts and daylight, and the rooms were spotlessly clean. There was a small table and armchairs to sit at. There was little to no noise either from inside or outside the hotel and the room was warm. You could however hear the planes taking off from around 6.30 in the morning. We went down to the bar jut at the side of the reception, very cosy, comfortable, pleasantly decorated area that gave you the feeling that you were in a country manor surrounded by acres of lush land. We didn't eat in either of the two restaurant and opted for room service. Pizza, garlic bread and onion rings, all very tasty, piping hot. Check out was just as efficient, the hotel is probably 10 minutes away from the center of Manchester. I really can't understand the bad reviews because my experience of this hotel was excellent. Didn't use the spa so can't comment. If you pre book breakfast its £7.95 or £10.95 if you pay in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toni t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be good value for money and the staff helpful and polite.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Two single rooms for one night, mine was single, the other was a family room! OK it's not top of the range but neither was the price. The room was clean and had all the necessities for one night. Easy travel by car or bus to the City centre. Mainly lads and dads with Man u playing at home and someone was doing a penalty shoot out in the night. However I got my own back early next morning when the shower head fell off into the bath. The bar has a good selection of beers and they are at sensible prices, the bed was comfy, the room was clean and the breakfast, despite only mighty white bread, was good even having black pudding. I would readily stay again.
Ample parking.

Room Tip: From the stop outside take the bus to the 'Curry Mile', ten minutes towards the City. What a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CommodoreChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments and I would like to thank you for adding your comments to Trip Advisor for other guests to read.

I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff friendly and your bedroom clean and comfortable. I would like to offer my most sincere apologies for the problem with the shower head in your room. Please contact me at the hotel if you are coming back to stay with us again as I would be delighted to offer you a complimentary upgrade to an executive room as a gesture of goodwill..

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Travelled with wife and friends, hotel was wonderful, food service and entertainment was overall really good, enjoyed ourselves would return again ideal location for shopping in manchester. The beatles tribute band was excellent!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardWray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My wife and myself had another excellent vacation here at Didsbury.This was our sixth visit.The staff are all very friendly and cannot do enough for you.The food is very good and the service in the dining room is the same.The entertainment was great as usual and the drink prices were very very good.We must give a special mention to Sandra (manageress),Peter(entertainments) andAlberto(catering) they are really good at their jobs.Will return.D&A Arnott

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank douglas a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I would like to thank you for adding your comments to Trip Advisor for other guests to read. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Having read very negative reports of this hotel I was very apprehensive when we checked in. We had 3 rooms booked in the hotel on 9th December2013. Our stay with our families was very good. The staff were very helpful, food was very good also. The rooms were a little dated but were very clean. All in all for what we paid we have no complaints whatsoever about anything. In fact when we checked out we spoke with the reception staff and thanked them for their excellent customer service. We will definitely stay here again and had no trouble whatsoever parking our cars so thank you Britannia you were great.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanius0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is always great to read comments from guests that come to stay with us even though they have read negative reviews. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and will come and stay with us again.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

we spent Christmas at Didsbury , unfortunately we didn't enjoy it like the 2 New Years there. the room was very cramped, they charged us incorrectly, even though we questioned it twice, then they deducted money from our account without our permission a week later , so we are sorry but we won't be stopping there again

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charli683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your Christmas with us. I do hope that your over charge has now been rectified.

Please accept my most sincere apologies for any inconvenience that may have been caused and thank you for your constructive criticism; your comments will be taken on board.

Kind Regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.5 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#36 of 120 in Manchester
170 reviews
3.3 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#65 of 120 in Manchester
1,432 reviews
2 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#69 of 120 in Manchester
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester West Didsbury Hotel
5.9 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#75 of 120 in Manchester
104 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
#61 of 120 in Manchester
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £40 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing