We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop Moaning!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #88 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stop Moaning!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Me and my husband stayed here in May the night before we flew out of Manchester. I paid £49 with a KGB deal and for that, we got 3 course (buffet style) evening meal, bottle of wine and bed/breakfast. Ok, so the hotel is a little dated and tired, but I cannot complain. Food was extremely tasty and surprisingly very hot in the bain marie. Wine was pleasant - choice of red/white or rose. As we were late checking in there were no more available double rooms (even though it was requested when I booked the hotel) so we were given the option of transferring to another sister hotel or have a twin room, which we accepted. As a good will gesture, the hotel offered us a free one way transfer to the hotel which suited us as we were being collected from the airport when we returned. All in all I cannot complain. It was a very relaxed start to our holiday and I slept remarkably well, and would definitely book to stay here again. It was very good value for money, and I was pleasantly surprised, as I am a great beleiver in you get what you pay for, but in this case it was most definitely more.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianJ352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you will return and stay with us again.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    647
    503
    368
    708
See reviews for
528
981
107
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Got a good price for 8 days parking and one night's stay on LateRooms.com.
Showed up to park and they weren't even interested in getting our registration number, so off we went to the airport on the transfer they arranged (£6 each way, a good deal).
Returned at 0230hrs in the morning to enjoy our much needed sleepover. Reception staffed by an eastern Euro girl who was very friendly. I'd pre-booked breakfast and duly paid for this, but it didn't show on our room card. I queried this and she assured us it wasn't a problem. Actually it was, and a stand-off occurred as we entered the dining room in the morning, taking 10 mins to resolve. Breakfast was fine when we got it.
The room was no surprise to us as we've stayed before: old, tired, grubby, defunct plumbing, tatty décor, window that didn't fit in the frame letting gale through, old cathode ray tube TV, stained soft furnishings, one bath and one hand towel even though it was a double booking.
I would also suggest that if you have a toilet that doesn't flush particularly well, you ought to supply a toilet brush. Simples.
But we'll probably stay again, because it's about the best deal you can get to get your head down after an unsocial hours return to the airport with parking thrown in.
All I can say is that it's a sight better than it's sister hotel a mile or so away at the motorway junction; now that is a dump!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you so much for your positive comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

On check in each guest has to complete a registration card, the vehicle registration number is requested on this form therefore we do have the vehicle registration of each car that in on our car park.

I am sorry for the confusion with your breakfast, our reception staff should have issued you with a voucher to hand in at the restaurant and I am sorry that this did not happen.

Should you wish to stay with us again please contact me at the hotel directly to enable me to ensure you do not experience any issues with the room that you are allocated to make your stay more enjoyable.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Recently stayed here as package of a corrie tour with national holidays. Was so surprised after reading many bad reviews, when we arrived the staff were straight away giving out our keys and showing us to our room, informing us of meal times and entertainment etc. when arriving at my room I was very impressed I had a double bed, the room was pristine and the bathroom and walk in shower also immaculate. Had a great nights sleep very quiet although someone's child woke me and my cousin up at 6am screaming. My cousin had a room with a double bed and single bed also immaculate and clean and tidy. Tea was a buffet and it was absolutely beautiful with a variety, the beef was the most beautiful I've tasted. Amongst other things. The waiting staff couldn't have been better. They never stopped, as soon as someone stood up to leave they were straight over clearing tables. And the entertainment brilliant too. A young girl and 2 dancers singing abba etc was a great night with bingo and a quiz too. Lad on bar helped you to table with drinks he was lovely. Breakfast was also a buffet with anything you could imagine having for breakfast. All in all I had a great stay. Clean and tidy, quiet, helpful staff. Good entertainment and out of this world food. Only downside was no phone signal. I would definately recommend and would visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cbnxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you really enjoyed your stay and I will be delighted to pass on your kind comments to all of our staff, at time it seems that only guests that wish to complain post their comments on trip advisor , it is always great when a guest that has really enjoyed their stay posts their comments for other guests to read.

Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel I do hope that you come back to stay with us again.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stopped overnight for our early morning flight from Manchester airport despite some bad reports. Because of the bad reports we avoided dinner & breakfast.
We were pleasantly surprised to see clean well furbished rooms on the 2 floor. The room was spacious enough to accommodate a four poster bed. There was no noise to disturb our sleep.
There is ample free parking. I understand there is a shuttle service to the airport.
The only downside was the gardens are neglected allowing weeds to overgrow.

Room Tip: Make sure you request rooms on the second floor, they are clean, quiet and comfortable. Also there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLRvisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you so much for your positive comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I am so sorry that because of comments you have read that you decided not to dine with us. I am sure that if you had you would have enjoyed both breakfast and dinner in our restaurant.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel , with my granddaughter on the 3rd and 4th of June. I was given a room on the ground floor with an adjoining room for my granddaughter. My room was for a family of three and the other was a twin. They were both very clean although the furniture was a little dated it was still well presented. The food was excellent with a large choice. At night we had entertainment and a quiz etc. the rooms were quiet and we had a good nights sleep. I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaycec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always great to receive positive comments from guests. I would like to thank you for adding your comments to Trip Advisor for other potential guests to read.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Arrived on 31st May. Check in was smooth and very helpful with couple of questions I had.
Arrived at room to find it was a no smoking room, when a smoking room had been booked. Went back to reception to ask to be moved, to be just given an ashtray and told 'don't worry, just smoke in that room, its ok' ????
Personally, I found this to be very disrespectful to the next guests in the room.
The room itself was clean, although small. But wasn't planning spending much time in it. Beds were hard but I found very comfy. Clean bathroom with loads of hot water.
Breakfast- Don't bother. Find a cafe

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

We do have a limited number of smoking rooms at the hotel and I can only imagine that we had non left on your arrival therefore you were permitted to smoke in a non smoking room and I am sorry that you were upset by this.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I recently stayed at the Britannia country House hotel and it is the dirtiest hotel I ahve ever stayed in.

Upon arriving at the hotel at 1.30pm we were advised that our room was not ready but if we headed to the bar the receptionist would let us know when it was. This was not a problem as we were early for the 2pm check in. Receptionist was friednly as was bar man and drinks were a reasonable price.

2.30pm arrived and no-one had come to fetch my friend and I so we headed back to reception and advised the room was ready.

We were allocated room 204 and given directions. We entered our room and we shocked to see that the double room we had booked actually only included a ¾ bed and not a double but as our stay was only for one night we decided we could live with it. We had reservations to get to in town so without unpacking dumped our bags and headed out.

We returned to the hotel around midnight and went to our room. This is when we started to realise how dirty the room was and noticed more things the following morning.

1. The radiator in the room was covered in some sort of liquid, it appeared to be blood.
2. There was brown stains on the bathroom floor. It appears the mop used cannot reach corners.
3. The spare toilet roll had been dropped in (dirty) water and put back on the side to dry out prior to our arrival.
4. There were brown stains on the wall next to the toilet roll holder and under the sink.
5. The dust in the drawers was so thick we wrote our name in it.
6. There was rubbish under the bed from previous guests.

I appreciate that we booked a last minute deal. However, regardless of price I expect a hotel to be clean as a minimum.

Had we noticed these things before we headed out we would have complained and requested a room change. We actually didnt realise how dirty the hotel ws until the following morning. I complained upon checking out and was told that they would advise housekeeping with no further apology.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dionne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
I am sorry that your room was not ready on your arrival at the Hotel, our check in time is from 2.00pm. Unfortunately if our reception staff are busy they may not be able to come to the bar to inform you that your room is ready and for this I offer my apologies.

I have passed your comments regarding the cleanliness of your room on to my head house and I can only apologise that the cleanliness of your room was not up to our usual high standards.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board. Should you wish to come and stay with us again please contact me at the hotel directly to enable me to arrange your booking and make sure you have an enjoyable stay with us.

Yours sincerely

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.5 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#55 of 116 in Manchester
86 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#70 of 116 in Manchester
794 reviews
3.3 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#69 of 116 in Manchester
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
#51 of 116 in Manchester
211 reviews
4.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Property: Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing