We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and cheerful” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #87 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Colchester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

First impression, carpets at reception pretty grubby and a long queue to check in. We requested a quiet room as we had been warned there are often functions on and didn't want to be disturbed. On arrival in our suitably quiet room found the toilet hadn't been cleaned so had to return to reception to request it to be cleaned. seemed to confuse the receptionist who thought either we had made it dirty ourselves (!) or wanted a room change. Eventually it was agreed that it would be cleaned while we were out and this was done. Used the toilets in the main hotel as not keen to use the bedroom one until it was cleaned. Thought I had wandered into the male toilets by mistake as there was such a strong smell of urine! Apart from that they were clean. In the room we found that our quiet distant location meant that we couldn't pick up the wi-fi signal and there was no air con which made for a hot stuffy room on a warm evening. The lift was the smallest I have seen and would only fit one person with a suitcase or two people with no luggage. No problem for us as we needed the exercise but could be a problem for someone with limited mobility and luggage/children.
On the positive side, bed linen and towels clean and fresh, quiet room as requested, comfortable bed and nice powerful shower. Excellent location for what we wanted and very good value. Would I stay there again? Possibly for the convenience but it could do with some money being spent on it to sort out the carpets and toilets in the public areas. Didnt try the sports area as there was an extra charge and we didn't have much spare time.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you don't want to be disturbed - we had no problems. There is a very sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crackers88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I am sorry that the toilet in your room had not been correctly cleaned. We have an ongoing deep cleaning programme in place and I can confirm that all of our carpets have been cleaned this week in all of our public areas.

I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to in an excellent location and very good value.

Kind Regards
Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    631
    487
    345
    675
See reviews for
505
944
99
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed here for a night as part of a short weekend away (travelstyle ) we had a small but clean room, with a good shower .
Dinner was good and lots of choice fish/ chicken / roast beef /chickpea curry plus lots of diffent veg !!! AT Breakfast , they was lots of choice and all food was hot and tasty , YUM!!!
Yes in parts it does look a bit tired and does need freshening up but for what we paid , fine
The only thing I didn't like was why for such a big hotel, as it such a small bar with only a few seats !! WOULD Like to have sat a chat to some people but there was no room !!
ALL the staff were helpful and friendly .thanks for a nice stay . !!

Room Tip: lots of rooms on the ground floor ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123anita123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am sorry that you were unable to find seating in our bar area.

Thank you for your constructive criticism, rest assured your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here recently for a family wedding (reception also at hotel)
We were very impressed with the cleanliness of the room, the friendliness of the staff and the lovely breakfast.
The hotel is vast, and rather dated - like stepping back in time - however it is excellent value for money and very convenient for all guests to stay during the wedding.
Not where you would choose to stay for a romantic and quiet escape, but for a wedding which doesn't cost the earth to either the organisers or the guests, you will be hard pushed to find better.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor and couldn't hear anything from our neighbours or from the wedding belo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K_Lingwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel which I will pass on to all of the staff.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for posting your comments on trip advisor for other potential guests to read.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed here for the third time. Good points, it is far better than the sister Britannia Airport hotel down the road. We were a party of twelve having booked four rooms with parking for the week before our stay. Arrival seemed a bit haphazard, the receptionist only taking the car registration numbers at our suggestion. Transfer was by private minibus which was quick and efficient, also came quickly on request on our return. Then we arrived at the hotel, booking had been done through Travel Extras and it seemed only three rooms had been reserved. Eventually were given an executive room with jacuzzi bath! Room was OK but smelled of stale cigarettes, there was a wedding still in full swing and it was now 2.30 am, if they didn't have our booking, why were we allowed too park the car? Didn't manage breakfast but did manage to check out before 11.0am. Unfortunately we will probably stay here again because of the location, parking, transfers and cost.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 973SimonR973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

On our guests arrival at the hotel they are given a registration card to fill in, there is a section on this registration card for guest to write their car registration number on.

The Britannia Country house hotel is a large hotel with extensive conference and banqueting facilities and at times can be very busy and I am sorry that you were disturbed by a function that was taking place, our functions finish at 1.00am, however our residents bar is open until late.

Thank you for your constructive criticism, rest assured your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brierley Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed here for one night recently.

Yes the decor is dated and the carpets could do with a freshening up but for what we paid for three adults including breakfast I couldn't knock it.

Will be back soon for a long weekend when doing a tour with the children.

Rom was very warm so with no air conditioning could maybe do with supplying fans.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for placing your positive feedback Trip Advisor.

Kind regards
Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clevedon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

food was very good.cleanines of rooms disgusting.cob webs everywhere.and so many beer flies.kept wiping down bed side light before going to sleep.coach driver for trip was very arrogant.there and back.stayed for 4 days or three nights.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ade1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I have passed your comments on to my head housekeeper to look into.

Please accept my most sincere apologies for any inconvenience that may have been caused.

Kind Regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here before flying to Mexico from Manchester airport in June 2014. Quite convenient for the airport especially if you get a deal like we did where you can leave your car for the duration of your holiday and use shuttle transfers.

Not the cleanest hotel and it is in serious need of updating; I would not have been happy to have been staying more than one night, however for one night it was fine with bar area to relax in, ok food in the restaurant and a comfortable enough (but dated) room. Staff were helpful enough and we found this a great way to chill out before travelling long haul the next day.

Stayed in worse hotels and if it's only for one night then why not.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vegas_Vacation12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was sorry to read that you were unhappy with your recent stay and your comments have been passed on to my head housekeeper.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.5 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#64 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester West Didsbury Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#70 of 115 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#68 of 115 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Property: Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing