We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #91 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel for one night in a "family rooms" designed for 3 people with one queen bed and one single bed.

The place feels run-down but it was also very quiet when we stayed (we maybe saw 30 other guests).


The good things:

-The restaurants and bar were reasonably priced and service was good.

-Our bathroom was well-renovated.

-Parking is plentiful and free.

-Breakfast was included in our room rate (if you book a room without breakfast it costs £7.95)

-The hotel is located in a quiet green area between some golf courses.


The downsides:

-The room was old (with bad furniture and TV) and not very clean (dirty floor and windows).

-The room didn't have enough electrical outlets for guest use (you can't unplug things like the lamps or TV because they've got a cover attached to the outlet).

-The breakfast didn't have enough fruit.

-There's not much within walking distance.

-The windows aren't well sound-proofed so you can hear people's outdoor conversations from rooms on the second floor.

-The fitness centre has a very cramped gym space. It costs £4/day for hotel guests and it doesn't open until 7am.

-The bathroom had lots of towels but no small cloths that could be used to wash your face.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Superguy1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to thank you for your constructive criticism, your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,183 - 1,189 of 2,700 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

We spent the night here before flying away on holiday. Its not the typical stopover hotel its much terrible. Dirty bedding carpet covered in stains and the food well horrible. Only pleased that the holiday was fantastic. This was the second Britannia hotel we have stayed in and it will be the last.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was sorry to read that you were unhappy with your recent stay. I have passed your comments regarding the cleanliness of your room and the standard of the food served to my Head Housekeeper and Head chef to ensure your comments are investigated and issues rectified immediately.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

Kind Regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This hotel is close to the airport for parking, adequate for a base while touring the area. Food is good particularly breakfast. Happy hour helps the money go a bit further. Plenty of choice at the buffet service.

Room Tip: 176 is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed your meals in our restaurant.

We do try to offer the best value to our guests and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is great for parking the car but not for anything else noisy groups of lads shouting and drinking all night food worst expensive drinks no customer care staff nit interested in dealing with any problems you have only in going home

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xanadublackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was sorry to read that you were unhappy with your recent stay and were disturbed by noise from other guests.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

Kind Regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed here with a coach party to see Coronation Street. The hotel staff were very efficient and friendly on check in. Our room was clean and tidy and restaurant food and staff were lovely. Would recommend this hotel for a short break.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank littlegem02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you really enjoyed your stay and I will be delighted to pass on your kind comments to all of our staff.

Thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed for one night at the Britannia Country House Hotel at the beginning of August using this as a stop over before our early flight out of Manchester the next day and would definitely recommend it.

We bought a Groupon for a one night's bed and breakfast, a bottle of wine, 8 days on-site parking and transfers to and from the airport. After reading reviews we weren't expecting anything much and were happy the hotel would just provide us with a crash pad but we were really impressed.

The hotel's in a great location, really easy to find and we had no trouble parking - getting a spot close to reception. At check in we were upgraded to an 'executive room' and booked our transfer for the next day.

We were pleasantly surprised by our room and you can tell the hotel was very grand in its day. Yes it seems a little dated now but very clean and more than did the job for us. The bed was comfy, there were two squidgy chairs and a table, small clear tele and the bathroom even had a jacuzzi bath! The hotel wasn't noisy and we slept well.

The bar area is small but nice and the drinks were reasonably priced. It had a nice atmosphere and was good for passing a few hours. We didn't use the restaurant but it appeared popular.

We'd booked on the 6am airport pick up the next day but leaving at this time meant we were too early for breakfast. The hotel packed us up a great selection each to take with us: a croissant, yoghurt, cereal bar and apple so be sure to ask if you're in the same boat.

The transfer turned up promptly. We were expecting a coach but it was a taxi that we shared with another couple - swift and stress free. The return transfer was also well organised and straight forward. On calling the company we were told that a transfer had just left (they run every 45 minutes) but that they'd send a driver now. By the time we got outside he was waiting and we were quickly back at the hotel to pick up our car.

All in all our stay kicked off our holiday nicely. We'll be staying here next time we fly from Manchester and would definitely recommend it.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank loonylaura666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you so much for your positive comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be of good value for money, I will be delighted to pass your comments on to all of the staff at the hotel.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for placing your positive feedback Trip Advisor.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Having read previous reviews I was a bit concerned when we were told by Newmarket holidays that this would be our overnight stay. We were on a trip to the Coronation Street tour in Manchester. My friend had also stayed here a few years ago and had a terrible experience.
We were delighted when given a family executive room which had obviously been upgraded and it was beautiful. ( Others in our group were not so lucky and their rooms were more outdated )
We had a jacuzzi bath and a flat screen tv as well as a king size and single bed and the decor was lovely. The carvery style dinner was good as was the breakfast with a good choice on offer.
As this is an airport hotel it was very busy and there was the usual inconsiderate guests who left their room at 6.15 shouting to their friends in the corridor but apart from that we had a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor and was upgraded so maybe ask for a room up there. Ours was 462 and wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kath2648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is always great to receive positive comments and I would like to thank you for adding your comments to Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room to be clean and comfortable.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.5 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#39 of 120 in Manchester
150 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#68 of 120 in Manchester
851 reviews
3.3 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#69 of 120 in Manchester
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#75 of 120 in Manchester
102 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
#59 of 120 in Manchester
255 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £39 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing