We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #87 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
West Midlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

I stayed here for one night on 17th August, prior to our stay I had read some bad reviews so was feeling bit worried . Must say service was good room on first floor was excellent, staff helpful, evening carvery was just okay however breakfast was ist class, overall enjoyed it here

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel which I will pass on to all of the staff.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for placing your positive feedback on Trip Advisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    631
    487
    346
    676
See reviews for
505
945
99
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

We have just spent two lovely days at this hotel. The staff are friendly. Rooms are just right. Plenty of hot water towels changed daily tea and coffee in your room. And even though food was buffet style it was really great. You were spoilt for choice if we were ever in Manchester again we would definitely stay there again

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel which I will pass on to all of the staff.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for placing your positive feedback on Trip Advisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestatyn, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Set back from the hustle and bustle of Palatine Road we were impressed to find it was like a little hide away in the woodlands surrounding it. The room was lovely and comfortable and even included a jacuzzi bath tub. The hotel was very nice and as I stated in beautiful surroundings which you wouldn't expect for a big city. It was lovely weather so we could make the most of soaking up the sun in the gardens with a nice drink. We had breakfast there too and it was a buffet style help yourself. It had all the breakfast foods you could wish for. The whole place was kept lovely and clean and considering at night it was used for functions such as prom night, was impressive. All the glasses and cans left behind by the youngsters were long gone by morning. The only reason I haven't given it five stars is because the bar closed ridiculously early for a hotel. When we enquired we were told it was because teenagers were having their prom and they didn't want them buying alcohol. Which is fair enough, but not wholly considerate of the paying guests boarding there. Though we were told there was a machine to buy alcohol from, but we never found it. Plus the gentleman on reception was very surly when we arrived and didn't exactly welcome you. However the rest of the staff were lovely and all enquired after us each day whether we were enjoying our stay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area for business or pleasure, and we would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is always great to receive positive comments and I would like to thank you for adding your comments to Trip Advisor for other guests to read. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be very nice and in beautiful surroundings.

I will pass your comments regarding the receptionist on check-in to my reception manager to ensure this does not happen again.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

So me and my boyfriend stayed here after a flight home from Teneriefe. We arrived at 2am and the drive down was rather unnerving due to the dark roads and the hotel itself did meet the horror movie criteria. We were told that we had to be out by 11am, which was early but acceptable.
We go in our room and think it's lovely (it's very dark, not many lights worked). We go for a shower and see there's a jacuzzi but it doesn't work. We then went to bed. We woke up at 8am as a staff member just walked in our room! Just what we need after a long flight. We are next to a family room and in one ourselves which we shouldn't be! So children are screaming all around. Again not much sleep! Then at 10:45 just as we're getting ready to go, a knock at the door reminds us to check out soon! I'm sorry but we had plenty of time and I do not appreciate constantly been disturbed.

When we woke up and saw the room properly, we also realised what a unclean, disgusting state it was. Never ever again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keira56435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I have passed your comments on to my Head Housekeeper and have asked for these issues to be investigated to ensure this does not happen again.

Please accept my most sincere apologies for any inconvenience that may have been caused.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

I checked in on Saturday 23rd Aug at about 3pm. I had left by 5pm the same day with a refund, after refusing to stay there. My family and I have stayed in many hotels and very much have a positive attitude that "a room is just for sleeping in". However this has got to be the most disgusting and unclean hotel I have ever come across, I have stayed in nicer accommodation in Kibera slums in Nairobi.

You are first welcomed by imposing NO PARKING signs everywhere, despite being told the hotel has free parking, it is not sign posted well, nor were there any spaces within a 5 minute walk from the hotel reception. You then stand in a queue at reception for 28 minutes.

The first room I was given had several hairs on the bed, so I asked someone to come to the room, which reception seemed most confused by. After showing the duty manager the hairs, he explained it was probably the maid's hair who had serviced the room. I'd hazard a guess that the room hadn't even been serviced at all (apart from the bed being made). He then personally changed the bedding in front of me. The room was dusty, there were dirty marks on the walls, the furniture is in dire need of a deep clean and the room desperately needs modernising.

After he left I opened all of the windows, so upon my return later that evening the room would be nice and cool. As I opened the windows, I noticed an infestation of dead ladybirds along the crack of the windowsill and in the window frames (see pictures). I phoned reception again and explained. After being asked if I could not just keep the windows closed, the duty manager came back up to have a look. I asked to be given a room that was clean.

I was sent down to reception to be given a key to a new room. This room was even worse, it had dirty marks all over the floor, again, the furniture was covered in dust and stains. There was a previous guests receipt on the floor and the dust was disgusting. I opened the windows in this room and straight away saw that it had exactly the same problem of dead insects (obviously making a bid for freedom)! In the bathroom I noticed that the bath already had water in (a foot deep) as if again the room had not been serviced. I wouldn't even want to guess what the brown marks were on the bathroom wall in this room (see pictures).

By this point, reception were obviously becoming annoyed at my frequent calls and this time said they could not locate the duty manager (convenient) and didn't know how long he would be. When he did appear for the umpteenth time, he was understanding and apologetic, but I did get the sense he was sick of the sight of me adding to his work load. He offered to blitz our original room himself; as a plea to get us to stay there. I said I would not feel comfortable going around the room and pointing out everything that needed cleaning (as this obviously isn't his or my job). Again explaining that cleanliness is a basic concept and I was not comfortable staying somewhere so unclean.

After much toing and froing he eventually offered a bottle of wine for the inconvenience caused and as an apology and explained that housekeeping would be being spoken to about the state of the rooms. I explained I was not trying to get his staff in trouble, nor was I attempting to get a free bottle of wine, I simply expect a basic level of cleanliness for £85.

He then agreed to jiggle his room allocations around for that evening and eventually showed me a 3rd room. This was in the "newly decorated" side of the building, but I was not complaining to get a modern room! This room was the most acceptable out of the three, but it was on the inside and overlooked the kitchens, so the fans were roaring. You would have got the same amount of sleep as on a runway and he couldn't guarantee they would go off by a certain time. I also asked if this meant other families would be given the other unacceptable rooms and of course the answer was yes.

At this point I gave up and found somewhere else to sleep for the night. We had to let them know if we wanted a refund pretty quickly - so they could release the room/s to other people, the hotel must have hoped that if these people arrived after dark, they wouldn't notice half the things I did. I'd be embarrassed to work for this hotel.

The most ironic thing of the whole experience is on the hotel reception desk they have an unsightly, industrial sized hand santizer with a "polite" message to guests about minimising the spread of germs! I think anyone leaving this hotel deserves a shower in the santizing solution and a medal for having stayed the night, because I couldn't.

Room Tip: Avoid all rooms on all floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmmimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for your comments following your recent visit to the Britannia Country House Hotel.

We have over 600 car parking spaces at the hotel. We do have no parking signs up around the car park as we have to keep the driveway free of cars for various reasons such as the emergency services and deliveries and I am sorry that you were upset by this.

Our check in time is from 2.00pm and unfortunately if lots of guests arrive together there can be a wait to check in, as we have no way of knowing what time our guests are checking in.

Our Duty Manager did all he could to help you as you say he changed the bed immediately – they were clean but had a hair on them, they were changed immediately. As you left the window open some lady birds did come into your room.

As soon as you called reception to request a room change you wee allocated a new room. It does seem that the room you were given had not been serviced and for this I apologise.

Our duty manager has to check all of the departments in the hotel and deal with any issues a guest may have and I am sorry that he was not available when you requested to speak to him, he was actually speaking to another guest at the time. As soon as he was free he came to your room immediately, Chris did offer to fully clean your room for you this was to ensure you enjoyed your stay with us and he also offered a bottle of wine as a gesture of goodwill, all comments made regarding the cleanliness of the rooms has been passed to our Head Housekeeper to ensure all issues are dealt with immediately.

I would like to offer you my most sincere apologies for any inconvenience that may have been caused and I would like to thank you for bringing these matters to my attention.

Kind Regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Booked this on line and then remembered we had stayed in a Britannia Hotel before and said never again! But this hotel has changed our minds. It was clean, comfortable and extremely well priced.

Parking was a little erratic, but plenty of it.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weimiemommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel for one night in a "family rooms" designed for 3 people with one queen bed and one single bed.

The place feels run-down but it was also very quiet when we stayed (we maybe saw 30 other guests).


The good things:

-The restaurants and bar were reasonably priced and service was good.

-Our bathroom was well-renovated.

-Parking is plentiful and free.

-Breakfast was included in our room rate (if you book a room without breakfast it costs £7.95)

-The hotel is located in a quiet green area between some golf courses.


The downsides:

-The room was old (with bad furniture and TV) and not very clean (dirty floor and windows).

-The room didn't have enough electrical outlets for guest use (you can't unplug things like the lamps or TV because they've got a cover attached to the outlet).

-The breakfast didn't have enough fruit.

-There's not much within walking distance.

-The windows aren't well sound-proofed so you can hear people's outdoor conversations from rooms on the second floor.

-The fitness centre has a very cramped gym space. It costs £4/day for hotel guests and it doesn't open until 7am.

-The bathroom had lots of towels but no small cloths that could be used to wash your face.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Superguy1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to thank you for your constructive criticism, your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.5 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#64 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#70 of 115 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester West Didsbury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#68 of 115 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
5.9 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#74 of 115 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Property: Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing