We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrendous - NEVER AGAIN!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #89 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“horrendous - NEVER AGAIN!!!”
Reviewed 19 June 2009

This hotel had been recommended by First Choice for closeness to the airport and to park our car as we live in Surrey. On arrival at the hotel a couple shouted to us "turn around and go back, do not stay here"!! We though that they were joking. However when entering the reception, there were scallies drinking cans of beer in the reception, children running riot and a very large queue to check in. The hotel reception was also not air conditioned and on a very hot day queuing for 30 mins to check in is no fun. The reception staff hardly spoke any English and were unhelpful. After finally checking into the room we were disappointed to find it was very old fashioned, smelt musty, the bed was creaky and hard, the bathroom was dated and unclean, the lock on the door did not work (not very re-assuring with some of the clientelle that stay in the hotel), there were not enough towels in the room and on phoning down to reception to request some, they did not answer or just hung up, the ironing service is an old fashioned dirty ironing board in a room on each floor. To top this off we were uneasy about leaving our car in the car park as there was broken glass all over the car park. Luckily our car was not broken into but the taxi driver told us that cars are always being broken into there. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise30Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    651
    507
    378
    716
See reviews for
534
993
108
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2009

I stayed at this hotel over a weekend to attend a function. My reactions are mixed from the good right through the very ugly. However, the bad and the very ugly far outweigh the good, and that is too bad as the Britannia Country House has great potential to be a good hotel. Unfortunately, it is far from that.

The Good:

1. The function I attend was extremely good and although I cannot complain about the food, beverage and service provided by the Hotel for the function, I suspect it had more to do with the due diligence and skills of those (not associated with the hotel) who organised it.

2. I had a very reasonably priced large and airy double room with a large bathroom with a jacuzzi tub.

3. The bar prices were very reasonably priced, in fact between 3pm and 7pm many drinks were priced at a pound a drink. This however, perhaps is part of the problem.

The Bad:

4. Very indifferent hotel staff, particulary at the front desk.

5. Poor quality food in the restaurant.

The Very Ugly:

6. Uncontrolled drunken guests running amok at all hours

7. Dirty toilets in the public areas. The morning I left I had to use the facilities before catching the shuttle bus to the airport. The toilets were in such a mess (excrement on the floor) that I refrained until I got to the airport. I suspect the mess was from the out of control drunken guests from the night/early morning before.

Recommendation? Only once the staff improve their service skills, cleanliness standards are improved and out of control drunken guests are banned.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shufti_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2009

I stayed at the hotel recently along with other friends. With hordes of drunken guests running amok through the corridors at all hours and a staff doing little or nothing about it and two members of our party being subject to gross incompetence resulting in extreme distress and inconvenience, our stay was blighted, to say the least.

The hotel management do not seem to care one jot. The fact that there are so many nehgative reviews here does not surprise me. Do yourself a favour and give this place a very wide berth.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babeloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 8 days. I also arranged for a large party of Adults to stay there some who stayed for4 nights as we had a function booked there. The Function side of things went well and the banqueting Staff more than did their job to make it a success. However as far as the hotel goes, I couldn't recommend it to anybody. They made my wife's stay miserable, but that's another tale on a situation that is certainly ongoing.

The hotel is very noisy particularly at weekends especially throughout the soccer season - Aug - May. They cater for large groups of fans who stay there and think that they have license to create mayhem. The car park is continually full as they let the parking space out for hundreds of people to leave their cars there whilst away on holiday. Pilferage and break in on cars is rife. The hotel service is not good and do not ask for Room Service after 8p.m. because you will not get it and you will be directed to take away chains over a mile away.

They run a 24 hour shuttle bus to the Airport, and there is often lots of noise throughout the night with guests either departing or arriving.

Certainly I would never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munich1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2009

About 70 something people went on the school trip to Manchester for three nights and when i got to my room it was quite nice. The Restaurant was called the Overstuffed Pizza, which was a weird name........? the food was Rotten it tasted terrible. Bathroom was ok and the lobby was quite cossy.

Over all, i would recomend it for value.........................?(maybe..... am only a kid!)

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripper09N_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2009

My wife and I stayed at this hotel (our first visit) looking for a nice 3 course carvery meal(£12.50pp) after our journey to Manchester. To say the meal was poor and looked unappetising would be an understatement! Cold starters of mostly salad stuffs. Supposed to be soup on, found out later you needed to ask for it as it wasn't available at the buffet bar. Free bottle wine was distinctly missing. Not asked if we wanted any. Main course consisted of a choice of lamb or gammon (had to ask for mint sauce). Vegetables unrecognisable. What I think was supposed to be mashed carrot looked overcooked and was a dark dingy brown colour. Inediable, also what I think was mashed potato, looked like a dingy grey sloppy mess, again inediable.. Roast potatoes looked and tasted burnt. Gravy looked like a thin orange watery ox tail soup. Sweet was a choice of 1 type of gateau or cheesecake, (no cream available untill asked for ) or fresh fruit. Also what looked like leftovers from breakfast; grapefruit segments and prunes. Waiter failed to clear plates from table. Ended up placing dirty items on table next to us.
Room was clean and tidy, although on checking my bed It looked as if someone had slept in it (sheets all wrinkled) prior to our arrival. Think it was just poorly made up. Mirror on cupboard broken, big crack halfway down. Layout of the room could do with rearrangement. TV in far corner of room - suggest it should be moved to middle of room between the 2 beds, then all occupants would be able to watch TV from beds. Finally overall room not bad for price. Avoid the carvery like the plague!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABONJUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2009

Arrived at hotel, first impression very good, room OK, parked car in their car park and went on 14 day holiday. When we returned to pick the car up, it had been broken into with the passenger window broken, the car radio taken and also the sat nav that had been hidden. The hotel didn't know when the incident had occured as it wasn't in their hand over book and the registration number hadn't been taken. The car had been left open to the elements and water damage had occured. They deny all responsibility saying there are disclaimers in the car park and break-ins do not happen very often. The police say different and that sometimes they have as many as 20 cars on one night. I have tried contacting them requesting the CCTV footage and they haven't had the courtesy of replying to e-mails/telephone calls and letters. Out of pocket to the tune of £450.00. NOT HAPPY!!!!!

Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StaffordChrissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.5 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#53 of 117 in Manchester
94 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#71 of 117 in Manchester
806 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
#55 of 117 in Manchester
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#67 of 117 in Manchester
1,278 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester West Didsbury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Property: Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing