We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give This Hotel A Miss.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #88 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
belfast
1 review
“Give This Hotel A Miss.”
Reviewed 18 January 2011

This is a football supporters hotel. Do not go with your wife for a quiet weekend. Do not expect a comfortable bed. Do not expect to get a remote for the TV. Do not expect to enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank spatterson36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    647
    503
    368
    708
See reviews for
528
981
107
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We booked into the Britannia Country Hotel so we was near the airport for early morning departure. Believing our car was safe due to all the cctv. Although it states clearly at the hotel they are not liable for any damage to your vehicle if left. Well it wasnt and the hotel is apparently a hot spot for car breakins. The hotel knew our car had been broken into but did nothing to cover the smashed window, therefore by the time we arrived home the car was also wet though. Not only our car but many more looking at all the smashed glass along the car spaces next to ours. All you need to come home to on a sunday early morning and then whilst waiting in the reception fighting broke out and numerous guests where complaining at reception due to all the noise around the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueynbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Stayed for one night at this hotel and after reading the reviews i was dreading it. Had to wait little bit for check in but nothing too bad. The jacuzzi in the bathroom was nice although could not get the plug out afterwards. Did not eat in the hotel as went out into West Didsbury. Used the leisure club but not really sure why you need to pay extra for this! The room was boiling but after opening a window it was fine. Room was clean and quiet and i had a good nights sleep. The hotel seemed really busy for January so they are obviously doing something right/

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireLottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Booked for a night pre-flight with a week's parking so I thought I could put up with anything at that price (around £90). Room was ok but to get to it I had to take a lift with our heavy luggage.

Lift had room for ONE PERSON plus suitcase. First, one of our friends got stuck in the lift between floors and then I did. The intercom in the lift was ignored but eventually, on both occasions it re-started. I didn't know I suffered from panic attacks before then - but I think I do now! It was dim and pokey and very claustrophobic. When I finally got out I had to lug the rest of our heavy luggage up two flights of stairs.

With all the flight delays due to bad weather, we asked duty manager at reception if he would check our flight departure time. He checked the airports website which we knew was slow to update but when we asked him to check the Thomson website, he refused. Nice man!! Got to airport to find flight delayed for 14 HOURS and this was published on the Thomson website!! Thank you little man at the Britannia - time to go and update your customer service skills training.

Next time - I'll stay at the Radisson and not this shamful hole.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bluetop1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joer33, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 January 2011
Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was sorry to read your comments regarding one of our lifts we do have an intercom system at our reception to alert us if there is a problem with one of the lifts, if a guest overloads the lift or places their luggage too near the door then this will cause the lift to stop as a safety feature.

I have spoken to the duty manager that was on duty during your stay who explained to you that he was unable to access the Thompson website however he did direct you to our business centre where our guests have access to the internet to enable them to check flight times.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

Kind Regards

Joe Reilly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

stayed at this hotel for three nights
staff excellant couldn't do enough for us
food first class
rooms clean and well kept
entertainment superb
"bossman" mr joe reilly was very informative
would go back anytime.
happy punter from scotland

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johndickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joer33, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 January 2011
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always good to receive positive comments. Once again thank you from all the team at Britannia Country House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Lovely hotel for visiting Manchester, but we warned, it's far from central. Taxis cost approx 5 pounds from East Didsbury station or the service bus stops right outside the hotel and costs 2.70 to Manchester Piccadilly Gardens and takes approx 25 minutes.
The hotel itself has been recently refurbished and our room had two double beds and a jacuzzi in the bathroom! It's in a quiet location though the car park is large and it seemed that many guests were staying to travel to and from Manchester airport so there was a fair bit of audible chat etc from the car park at all hours but nothing overly rowdy. Pleasant bar, it also had a restaurant but we didn't use it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mousepractice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joer33, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 January 2011
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always good to receive positive comments. Once again thank you from all the team at Britannia Country House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
160 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We booked to stay at this hotel on a Travelstyle Yuletide break between Christmas and New Year and paid £119.95 per person for a 3 night break, dinner, bed and breakfast,
and we found it superb value for money! Having read some of the previous bad reviews about this hotel, I was a bit sceptical but as I thought, those reviews are a load of garbage in my opinion, they really are. I don't know what people expect, this is a Britannia hotel, not a 5 star Radisson or Lowry.
The rooms we were given were very nice and comfortable. The decor was pleasant, and the bed looked like one you'd get in a Premier Inn, and it was comfy! The bathroom had also been refurbished. We really liked our cosy rooms. We had jacuzzi baths in the bathrooms, and also a shower. The rooms were boiling hot on arrival, but we soon fixed that by turning the radiators down and opening the windows.
The rooms are perhaps a little dark with only lamps, but that's like a lot of hotel rooms these days. They are certainly comfortable and more than adequate.
The bar prices were surprisingly very reasonable, for the Christmas period only £2 a pint or glass of Rose, magic. The staff were friendly generally, though check in was slow at reception. The bar was comfortable with nice chairs and a sofa, flat screen tele, big screen for the sports events, quiz machine, fruit machine and even a pool table round the corner. Now onto the food in Jennys Restaurant. We found it superb value for money.
Although all self service, the choice and quality was very good!
For breakfast a choice of melon, yoghurt or salami to start, cereals and then full English fry ups which consisted of a choice of: eggs, bacon, sausage, mushrooms, plum peeled tomatoes, hash browns, black pudding, beans, fried bread etc, washed down with fruit juice, tea/coffee and toast.
For evening meals it was Soup. Pate, Pork Pies, Quiche, Salad etc for starter and for the mains it was carvery based with all the trimmings. There is also a vegetarian option. And several desserts to choose from too if you can manage them. I was often well full up by then!
You can eat as much as you want and the choice was really good.
The only criticism I had was the staff were always taking your plates away when one of your party had finished, even though the others were still eating. This was rude and annoying and needs to be addressed. I would've complained had the food and value for money not been as good as it was.
There is no room service at the hotel but they do have vending machines in reception for late night snacks such as crisps and chocolate, water, bottles of pop etc.
We slept well in this hotel, though there was a function underneath us one night till 12 midnight, we could hear all the songs and the dj etc. We enjoyed it but most people probably wouldn't have! That aside we didn't hear much noise.
We were pleasantly surprised we had an entertainment programme laid on for us in the Britannia Suite. It was generally a quiz followed by Play Your Cards Right and Bingo and then Cabaret Entertainment. The entertainment staff worked hard to make sure everyone had a good time.
All in all for the money we paid, we had a really enjoyable time, and would like to let you all know this is one of the better Britannia Hotels. Please ignore the over the top negative reviews. The rooms were nice and the food was very good value for money. Would definitely return again. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjm24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joer33, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 January 2011
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always good to receive positive comments. Once again thank you from all the team at Britannia Country House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.5 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#55 of 116 in Manchester
86 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#70 of 116 in Manchester
794 reviews
3.3 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#69 of 116 in Manchester
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
#51 of 116 in Manchester
211 reviews
4.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Property: Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing