We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in an ideal spot.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Townhouse Hotel Manchester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Ranked #44 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in an ideal spot.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights midweek with my girlfriend. We booked on laterooms and got it for £59 a night on room only.

We had a corner bedroom on the 4th floor with great views. Nice bug room but it was a twin when we'd booked a double. Reception did call about 20 mins after we had checked in and asked if we wanted to change rooms but we liked the room we were in and had already unpacked.

Location is great....we found a fab cocktail bar next to the arora hotel which is about 2 mins walk and also went to try Thai which is a fab Thai restaurant which we could actually see from our hotel room. It's only about 10 min walk into the city centre shops etc so all in all a fantastic spot.

The only negative is you can hear quite a bit of noise from the street and the hotel bar lacks any kind of atmosphere....at least put some
Music on folks.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tibbs1790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    543
    264
    111
    51
See reviews for
111
788
58
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
132 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

I had read reviews from guests, mostly commenting on the fact that in the outside, the sign refers to the Princess Hotel (which could prove a little confusing). Upon arrival at reception, was welcomed by the night porter and went to my room. Had a super corner room which was very spacious. Simple but well decorated, tea and coffee facilities and free wi-fi. The bathroom was also lovely with a rain shower, although I felt the bathroom decor was a little too dark. Excellent breakfast with cold buffet and choice of cooked breakfast (all included in the price).

The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help.

The only downside (and this is not a criticism of the hotel) is the fact that Portland Street is very noisy on Friday night so best to bring ear plugs.

I will definitely be staying at the MacDonald Townhouse again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Von_Smiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, Lancashire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

This hotel was planned as a get-a-way with my boyfriend, i had requested an extra special room on booking and am not totally convinced we got one!

It was on portland street and we could pretty much see where primark was from our room so proving how close to the centre it was! very close to canal street if that floats your boat!

The rooms were spacious and the bathrooms very very clean and sparkly. I would like to comment on the lack of light however? the bathrooms were dimly lit, perfect for a romantic bath but not so great for everything else.

Also there are no getting ready mirrors with decent lights. I think this is needed as people do usually need light to get ready!

Apart from that the hotel was lovely, the chair in the room was a little stained but only cost £70 for the room on a weekend night so can't complain.

The check-in was speedy and she was very helpful, however she stated we were in a double room and i confirmed this. on arrival at our room it was a twin? with 2 beds. I hate complaining so i didn't say anything but it was great falling off the bed in the night to be honest.

Only in the morning we found the latch that will hold them together, i am not stupid but that definitly wasn't stated anywhere!

Overall perfect for what we needed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YYC
Level Contributor
289 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Recently renovated. Rooms are small but fine and price is reasonable. Good location. Too bad the renovation did not include replacing windows by new one with better acoustic properties. My room was in the back and noise from the street was distinctly audible in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bauwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a night in August and had mixed feelings about it. Firstly the staff are lovely, attentive and very helpful. The hotel guest areas, bar, restaurant and lobby are lovely. The rooms are one of the negatives I am afraid. Ours had a lamp that did not work, a light in the bathroom that did not work, a chair that was broken and we had no milk with our tea and coffee supplies. Now we were only there for a night and decided not to complain as we were not in the room much anyway. However I think had we complained, the staff would have understood and done everything to rectify the problems. The second negative is the price. The room was 90 pounds for the night, not a lot by any means, but compared to similar hotels nearby not great value considering breakfast for the 2 of us was 25 pounds extra, and was not exactly big. Anyway not a negative experience by any means, but compared to other hotels we have stayed in for similar amounts per night, this one was not as good as we expected.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antontoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TEESSIDE
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We paid £95 room only midweek.

The staff were professional and the room spacious.

However:

The carpets need vacuuming
The corridor lights need improving - dim LEDs maybe alternate 1 LED/1 Halogen
Our room REEKED of stale tobacco
The bathroom is too dimly lit- no mirror light for shaving well
Furnishings/refurb not finished well

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DXBTeesside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanzarote, Spain
Level Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

This is the former Princess on Portland totally renovated. A very nice hotel, ideally located between the Gay Village and Chinatown, within ten minutes walking from Arndale Center, Town hall, cathedral, Deansgate....

Very helpful staff, nice bedrooms, good breakfast and not expensive so...a very good choice in Manchester city center

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gorka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abode Manchester
Abode Manchester
#24 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#8 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel Manchester

Property: Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Address: Hotel Manchester Hotel Manchester 101 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#28 Business Hotel in Manchester
#32 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#46 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the beating heart of Manchester's city centre, the Townhouse Hotel is the perfect boutique-style hotel for your visit to this exciting and cosmopolitan city. Set in a former cotton warehouse, the hotel has been given a fantastic £3.5 Million makeover and now boasts the perfect blend of style, space and comfort. Townhouse Hotel is conveniently located in the city centre for the Manchester shopping district, theatre, exhibitions and two of the country's biggest football clubs as well as the city's vibrant nightlife. Relax in our stylish and comfortable guest rooms after a busy day's shopping and exploring - then why not check out our stylish 101 Brasserie for delicious dishes cooked with the best seasonal produce available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Townhouse Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Manchester
Best Western Manchester
Manchester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing