We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location for Shopping and Football”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Ranked #49 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Brought my wife to Manchester for a shopping trip (And a visit to Old Trafford for myself).
Arrived too early for Check in but Steve the reception manager was most helpful in storing our luggage so we could head off shopping.We returned later and Steve ran through a very quick Check in. The room was Clean,spacious with a huge comfy bed.Very little noise from the busy street outside.Bathroom was very nice. Popped into the bar for a drink before we headed to the match and found the staff very helpful and chatty.
3 minor complaints
(1) I could not fit my standard 15" laptop into the safe.
(2)I booked a superior room but i dont believe the room we stayed in was one.While the room was fine it wasnt what i paid for.
(3)No Ipod docking station or mini bar.Advertised on hotel website

Despite these complaints anytime im in Manchester i will be staying here.

And i must also compliment Steve the reception manager on his service.He was most helpful over our stay and is a real asset to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidDunbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,780)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,652 - 1,658 of 1,780 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2011

I stayed at this hotel on friday night.
We where warmly greeted by the staff on arrival and bags taken to room. I got to the room and was very surprised it was just amazing living area big bedroom with a huge bed and the bathroom bigger than most people hotel rooms! The room was warm so clean and tidy and there was the most amazing espresso machine which i just love. We had dinner and the food was beautiful the staff where so attentive. Had the best sleep and in the morning we had by far the best breakfast i have ever eaten it was just a perfect stay.

I have stayed all over the world and i am most certain that whenever i stay in manchester or near the Townhouse will be the hotel for me. Fabulous in every way.

WELL DONE ALL STAFF AND MANAGEMENT 100% A********

Room Tip: The executive room is the best by far
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristofeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Stayed for 1 night on business and was very pleased with this hotel. The reception and bar staff were extremely friendly and professional and helped with any questions we had. The bar and restaurant were lovely and exceptionally clean and well maintained. The cooked breakfasts are cooked to order and was of a very high quality. There were many other choices too, such as cereals, fresh fruit, pastries and yoghurts.
The room was on the 5th floor above a busy street, but only slightly heard the traffic once rush hour started in the morning.
The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Piccadilly station, so nice and central without having to jump in a taxi.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karenghirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Wanted to stay somewhere central and nice in Manchester. Got a very reasonable deal by booking a few weeks in advance.

The hotel is on a very busy junction in the city centre, but the noise was hardly noticeable in the room thanks to the windows. The air con in every room means you needn't worry about keeping the windows shut on warm nights either just to keep the noise out.

Room was huge, king size bed was very comfortable too.

Staff were very friendly throughout, and had a great selection of meals for breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms on 3rd floor upwards probably benefit from less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We have just returned from a weekend away at the Townhouse and our overall impression was really good. Although there were 1 or 2 areas we thought they could improve on, but these are only minor niggles.

Like others, we did struggle to find the hotel initially as there was no obvious signage. However once inside, check in was smooth and we were allocated a room on the 5th (top) floor. The room itself was modern with all the amenities you would need and expect, including an impressive flat screen tv – the only thing missing was an IPod dock. The bathroom was functional rather than stylish, and overall I would definitely say the rooms do not fit into the “boutique-style” as alluded to on their website. Throughout our stay, the room was kept immaculate. Being on the 5th floor, we were not overly troubled by street noise. However our friends on the 2nd floor had a very disturbed night as their room overlooked a club which got very noisy at closing time.

Our rate, which we found cheaper through a hotel broker than on the Macdonald website, included breakfast with the Full English being freshly prepared each morning rather than being served buffet style – a big plus in my book. The ingredients for the cooked breakfast were of a high quality, especially the black pudding. The rest of the breakfast was a just your standard continental fayre, nothing overly special. Overall, the breakfast just about justified its hefty price tag. Our only issue was that the breakfast service was a little chaotic on the Sunday morning, with orders getting mixed up, plates not being cleared between courses and breads and pastries not being replenished. However all issues were resolved when they were pointed out.

The bad points of the hotel are that the 5th floor landing stank of smoke, the smell seemingly coming from the carpet. The smell was not noticeable elsewhere, so I am not sure what would be causing that. Also, the door to the rooms (at least on the 5th floor) did not auto-shut, meaning you had to really slam them closed, not good at 3 in the morning when your neighbours come home. Finally, the shower kept running out of water during the morning – I also don’t think the shower was a monsoon shower like advertised. As a guy, I didn’t really appreciate the lavender toiletries, something a bit more metro-sexual required please !

Despite the minor complaints, this is a great place to base yourself for a weekend break in Manchester with the shops, China Town, Gay Village and Northern Quarter all within easy reach of the hotel. A final word must go to the reception team, who were all really helpful and friendly during our stay and made us feel most welcom

Room Tip: Higher floor seemed less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

If you want superb service oppulance and luxury at affordable prices this is the place to stay great location too refurbishment has done this place proud best power shower ever too

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chasey544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This hotel is centrally located about 7-10min walk from Manchester Piccadilly Station (major train station) and 5min walk from Piccadilly Gardens (bus depot). The rooms are very well appointed with flat screen TV, spacious layout and luxurious bedding & furnishings; I was also impressed by the layout of the bathroom, which was spacious with both bath and shower, and had adequate space by the sink for all your guest toiletries etc. There was an individual control for air conditioning in the room so we could adjust our optimal temperature. Hot breakfast is cooked to order. Service at main reception is very friendly and professional, I was able to print out many pages for my conference (for a small fee) in no time at all. I would definitely go back again, and recommend to others who are visiting for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silvermoss28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Princess St. Hotel
Princess St. Hotel
#18 of 121 in Manchester
2,758 reviews
0.4 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#4 of 121 in Manchester
1,876 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 121 in Manchester
1,409 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#27 of 121 in Manchester
1,861 reviews
0.7 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel Manchester

Address: Hotel Manchester 101 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#28 Business Hotel in Manchester
#32 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £66 - £492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the beating heart of Manchester's city centre, the Townhouse Hotel is the perfect boutique-style hotel for your visit to this exciting and cosmopolitan city. Set in a former cotton warehouse, the hotel has been given a fantastic £3.5 Million makeover and now boasts the perfect blend of style, space and comfort. Townhouse Hotel is conveniently located in the city centre for the Manchester shopping district, theatre, exhibitions and two of the country's biggest football clubs as well as the city's vibrant nightlife. Relax in our stylish and comfortable guest rooms after a busy day's shopping and exploring - then why not check out our stylish 101 Brasserie for delicious dishes cooked with the best seasonal produce available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Townhouse Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Manchester
Best Western Manchester
Manchester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing