We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Ranked #45 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Not 4 star. Beware refurbished hotels. Location is a bit scruffy. Probably 3 star at best.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staceandimme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,532 - 1,538 of 1,731 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2012

We had a tiring journey up from Wlitshire but from the moment we entered the hotel we were welcomed and pampered and made to feel we were welcome guests. Sash at reception was brilliant.He sorted everything out for us including arranging discounted, safe parking just aound the corner. He advised where to eat and what evening entertainment was available over the weekend. Harvey behind the bar was a star and gave us the best service we have ever had in hotel. The brilliant service continued on Sunday morning when Andrew checked us out quickly and efficiently. We thoroughly recommend this hotel
We had two rooms both were modern, comfortable, clean and functional. I can't undertsand people complaining about noise - it is a city centre hotel! I'm sixty and it wasn't a problem.

The hotel excellenly situated a short walk from the Gmex centre, the Gay Village and the Northern Quarter. Shopping paradise my wife informs me!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sixtyandstillrocking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a fabulous weekend break at this delightful hotel. From the moment we walked through the doors, the service was exemplary and we were made to feel special. The young man who checked us in was personable, knowledgeable and could not do enough to assist us.
The room was absolutely gorgeous. It was spacious and contemporary in style and also scrupulously clean. We have never stayed in a hotel where there is no dust whatsoever! Due to the unseasonably warmish weather the room did feel quite warm but, no problem. We phoned down to Reception to ask if there were any fans available and, within five minutes, the young man who had checked us in arrived with said fan and also a light bulb to replace one that had blown.
On the first evening we dined in the brasserie where the food was delicious and the service, attentive and extremely professional.
Any staff we encountered during our stay were friendly and helpful. When making the booking I had e-mailed one of the staff called Harvey to request a room away from the lift and on one of the higher floors to escape some of the street noise and his e-mail communication with me was always prompt and polite. My request was followed to the letter.
I would recommend this perfect hotel to anyone and we shall definitely stay there whenever we are in Manchester.
P.S. As previously mentioned in several of the reviews the hotel is still named 'The Princess' thus making it unclear to some that this is indeed the Macdonald Townhouse. When we queried this we were told that this is due to be changed within the next few weeks. The hold-up has apparently been because it is a listed building with all the red tape that involves.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lift and on one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Relaxed33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Stayed here midweek. Arrived early and room ready. Booked superior room which was a good size, clean and comfortable. Bathroom quite dark so difficult to apply make up. Room at front of building and traffic noise terrible woke me at 6.30 appreciate it is a city but never experienced noise like it. Didn't complain as only stayed one night. Staff very helpful, polite and friendly. Breakfast lovely with a good choice. Great location close to shops and picadillay station. Enjoyed stay but did find traffic noise too much

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariecharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

My wife and I stayed here on a Saturday night with a late booking and could not have been better looked after from the reception team to the bar staff. The room was well appointed and modern, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean and functional. We did not use the restaurant but it was busy and we would have liked to try it. Will do next time we come up and stay here. Great location although I was glad I had read some previous reviews on here as the main entrance still refers to the old name Princess Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamesmac37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Stayed at MacDonald Townhouse Hotel for 3nights. Stayed in the superior room and this was perfect, room was a brilliant size with a king size bed (best bed I have slept in, so comfy) and a bathroom with bath and shower. Room was cleaned everyday and clean towels everyday. Staff were extremely friendly and so helpful. As we were in Manchester to go to a football match didnt stay in hotel too much as wanted to explore the city. Hotel is in a brilliant location, just a five minute walk to the picadilly gardens where there are trams and 10minute walk to Arndale Shopping centre. Only ate in the restaurant on the last day while we were waitin to go to airport, but what we had was lovely. Would recommend this hotel to anybody, Perfect hotel in a perfect location.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We have just come back from a weekend break in Manchester and found this hotel was excellent in every way. We arrived early and our room was ready for us, everything was so clean and to a very high standard, the bed was so comfortable I didn't want to get out! There was nothing I could fault. We had our evening meal in the 101 Brassiere on the Friday evening and it was amazing. The steak melted in your mouth and the goats cheese and red pepper tart was that good we decided to have our meal in the hotel again on the Saturday evening. Nothing was too much trouble and the reception staff were so helpful as was the rest of the staff within the hotel. I would stay in this hotel again and would highly recommend it. Everything was so close and within walking distance and we made good use of the public transport.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#17 of 120 in Manchester
2,612 reviews
0.4 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#5 of 120 in Manchester
1,728 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#23 of 120 in Manchester
1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#34 of 120 in Manchester
2,577 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#8 of 120 in Manchester
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel Manchester

Address: Hotel Manchester 101 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#28 Business Hotel in Manchester
#32 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#46 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £65 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the beating heart of Manchester's city centre, the Townhouse Hotel is the perfect boutique-style hotel for your visit to this exciting and cosmopolitan city. Set in a former cotton warehouse, the hotel has been given a fantastic £3.5 Million makeover and now boasts the perfect blend of style, space and comfort. Townhouse Hotel is conveniently located in the city centre for the Manchester shopping district, theatre, exhibitions and two of the country's biggest football clubs as well as the city's vibrant nightlife. Relax in our stylish and comfortable guest rooms after a busy day's shopping and exploring - then why not check out our stylish 101 Brasserie for delicious dishes cooked with the best seasonal produce available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Townhouse Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Manchester
Best Western Manchester
Manchester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing