We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Ranked #45 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Fantastic stay in the city, stylish very comfortable and very professional, helpful staff.

Would recommend for a romantic stay or for the more luxurious business trip.

Room service prompt and polite. Breakfast in bed was very tasty!

Everything you should expect from MacDonald and for the price!

Well worth it!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Little_Me_2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    577
    280
    118
    53
See reviews for
120
831
63
351
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

we arrived at 2pm check in time to be told our room was not ready and offered a drink in the bar,after 40 mins it was ready,bad start,lovely clean room,6 pillows,you control the heating,very large bed,plenty of towels,we stayed for 3 nights the staff cant do enough for you,andrew & sasha,we were on the 4th floor room 414 the last room in the corner maybe explains why it was not ready when we arrived last to be cleaned every day,i would stay here again,the 2 things that let it down are the windows dont open so no fresh air in the morning,and the traffic noise in the morning,get yourself some earplugs and you will be ok,we had a great time.

Room Tip: inner room would be quieter,buy ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

As always MacDonald hotels are well presented & far less corporate than some others. Unfortunately what you gain in decor you loose in food portion quantity. Very small portions and breakfast is not self-service so be prepared to wait for your order to arrive with a modest portion on a very large plate!

Staff are over friendly, so the slightest movement in the atea down stairs will cause a number of 'good afternoon sir/madam' even if it is morning or a shade before mid-night.

Customer service is about being genuine not ticking boxes drummed into you during some military induction course.

I do also think after 14 months it's time for the hotel to remove the sign for the Princess Hotel & put up a new sign with MacDonald Townhouse on it!

For business travellers is it warm, exceptionally clean and comfortable. If you eat out I think it is great.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEdCoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Had a lovelly meal here with some work colleagues, a very cosy looking hotel right at the heart of Manchester, within easy walking distance of most of the city centre venues. There is also a free city centre shuutle bus that stops nearby. Although we did not stay, we asked to see the rooms and were shown two, they looked superb
The food was great only outdone by the fantastic service from the staff.

A really great place to eat, make sure you try it

Room Tip: Rooms have secondary double glazing so a little bit of noise but it is a very old building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tulsablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Not 4 star. Beware refurbished hotels. Location is a bit scruffy. Probably 3 star at best.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staceandimme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We had a tiring journey up from Wlitshire but from the moment we entered the hotel we were welcomed and pampered and made to feel we were welcome guests. Sash at reception was brilliant.He sorted everything out for us including arranging discounted, safe parking just aound the corner. He advised where to eat and what evening entertainment was available over the weekend. Harvey behind the bar was a star and gave us the best service we have ever had in hotel. The brilliant service continued on Sunday morning when Andrew checked us out quickly and efficiently. We thoroughly recommend this hotel
We had two rooms both were modern, comfortable, clean and functional. I can't undertsand people complaining about noise - it is a city centre hotel! I'm sixty and it wasn't a problem.

The hotel excellenly situated a short walk from the Gmex centre, the Gay Village and the Northern Quarter. Shopping paradise my wife informs me!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sixtyandstillrocking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biddulph, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a fabulous weekend break at this delightful hotel. From the moment we walked through the doors, the service was exemplary and we were made to feel special. The young man who checked us in was personable, knowledgeable and could not do enough to assist us.
The room was absolutely gorgeous. It was spacious and contemporary in style and also scrupulously clean. We have never stayed in a hotel where there is no dust whatsoever! Due to the unseasonably warmish weather the room did feel quite warm but, no problem. We phoned down to Reception to ask if there were any fans available and, within five minutes, the young man who had checked us in arrived with said fan and also a light bulb to replace one that had blown.
On the first evening we dined in the brasserie where the food was delicious and the service, attentive and extremely professional.
Any staff we encountered during our stay were friendly and helpful. When making the booking I had e-mailed one of the staff called Harvey to request a room away from the lift and on one of the higher floors to escape some of the street noise and his e-mail communication with me was always prompt and polite. My request was followed to the letter.
I would recommend this perfect hotel to anyone and we shall definitely stay there whenever we are in Manchester.
P.S. As previously mentioned in several of the reviews the hotel is still named 'The Princess' thus making it unclear to some that this is indeed the Macdonald Townhouse. When we queried this we were told that this is due to be changed within the next few weeks. The hold-up has apparently been because it is a listed building with all the red tape that involves.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lift and on one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Relaxed33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 118 in Manchester
2,511 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 118 in Manchester
1,352 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 118 in Manchester
5,000 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 118 in Manchester
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel Manchester

Property: Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Address: Hotel Manchester Hotel Manchester 101 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#28 Business Hotel in Manchester
#32 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#46 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the beating heart of Manchester's city centre, the Townhouse Hotel is the perfect boutique-style hotel for your visit to this exciting and cosmopolitan city. Set in a former cotton warehouse, the hotel has been given a fantastic £3.5 Million makeover and now boasts the perfect blend of style, space and comfort. Townhouse Hotel is conveniently located in the city centre for the Manchester shopping district, theatre, exhibitions and two of the country's biggest football clubs as well as the city's vibrant nightlife. Relax in our stylish and comfortable guest rooms after a busy day's shopping and exploring - then why not check out our stylish 101 Brasserie for delicious dishes cooked with the best seasonal produce available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Townhouse Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Manchester
Best Western Manchester
Manchester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing