We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Good Base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Ranked #45 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,231 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,062 helpful votes
“A Very Good Base”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Stayed many times at this hotel and haven’t got round to writing a review. I LOVE this hotel. The staff are so friendly. The breakfast is smashing. The hotel itself is in a good location near Chinatown. The pub opposite the hotel ‘The old Monkey’ is a great place to start the evening. I would definitely stay here again. The hotel is good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saintlysinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    566
    272
    116
    52
See reviews for
118
815
62
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunningwell, Oxford
Level Contributor
95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Stayed here again in July - my good experience the last time was replicated. Great staff, lovely breakfast, nice quiet room with great bathroom. This is a good central location, very handy for the tram and railway station.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quoinbarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2012 via mobile

I normally try to be very objective when writing a review but I really can't find anything negative to say about this hotel! The location was great (short walking distance to two train stations), the room was very comfortable, stylish, and clean. Not too fancy but provides just the right feeling of elegance and quaintness. The front desk staff was very helpful with taxi ordering, lending of plug adapters (we always forget!), restaurant recommendations and baggage storage. Oh and the bar staff was fantastic!!!!! If I had to say something negative I guess it would be there was too many pillows on the bed for my taste, but I just didn't use them! Problem solved! Will most definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0bbysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stayed one night in executive double, which was on 5th floor and spotless. However the loo didn't flush easily, phone didn't work, smelt of damp due to leaky air conditioning unit which had dripped onto carpet creating wet patch on carpet, noise from street very invasive despite being floors up and no robes or slippers in room as promised on web site.
I cannot fault the staff or the service they provided, all were friendly and helpful to a fault and made us very welcome, but this hotel needs to up it's game a bit as it is not cheap and I left feeling a bit dissapointed as weekend had been booked to treat the current wife. Shame really as it could be really nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel, friendly staff and good service. Nice sized rooms. Reasonable food and easy to get to Chinatown and most of city centre! I am happy coming back for repeat visits when my preference Roomzzz is booked up,
Only advice try and get a high floor to minimize street noise from local late night yobbos

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed here for my birthday this month. Hotel room was lovely. Staff were excellent, very polite even when passing, two that stood out were Alex and the female receptionist working saturday 7 July. Will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
1,329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 116 in Manchester
2,451 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
586 reviews
0.4 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#8 of 116 in Manchester
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel Manchester

Property: Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Address: Hotel Manchester Hotel Manchester 101 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#28 Business Hotel in Manchester
#32 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#46 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the beating heart of Manchester's city centre, the Townhouse Hotel is the perfect boutique-style hotel for your visit to this exciting and cosmopolitan city. Set in a former cotton warehouse, the hotel has been given a fantastic £3.5 Million makeover and now boasts the perfect blend of style, space and comfort. Townhouse Hotel is conveniently located in the city centre for the Manchester shopping district, theatre, exhibitions and two of the country's biggest football clubs as well as the city's vibrant nightlife. Relax in our stylish and comfortable guest rooms after a busy day's shopping and exploring - then why not check out our stylish 101 Brasserie for delicious dishes cooked with the best seasonal produce available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Townhouse Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Manchester
Best Western Manchester
Manchester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing