We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value at £85”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Ranked #45 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good value at £85”
Reviewed 10 November 2012

A little tricky to find on a dark rainy evening as there did not seem to be obvious signs of a hotel nor access from the street address but, more discreetly, via steps from Princess Street. Hotel is centrally located, handy for local business meetings as well as tasty food in nearby Chinatown.

Reception staff friendly and helpful. Room was very comfortable, tastefully furnished, well equipped including free wifi and peaceful.

As a modest breakfast eater, typical chain hotel all-you-can-eat buffets never seem very good value (financial or nutritional) so chose not to sample here. Room rate obtained at short notice via hotels.com was a very reasonable £85 (including their 10% discount voucher) and if such value were repeatable, I would happily return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    566
    272
    116
    52
See reviews for
118
816
62
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012 via mobile

This hotel is 4* but due to it's location it is noisy, the hotel is on a busy road which is great if you want to be in the middle of the city. The staff were friendly and the rooms are modern clean and tidy. Has hairdryer , iron, coffee etc. all you'd expect from 4* I think at £138 per room ok if couple or business. Tad high for single occupancy.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012 via mobile

Lovely clean reception and clean , spacious bar/lounge area. Nice to have a drink and relax in comfy sofas. Not too busy. Room was okay, nothing amazing , though very comfy bed!! Noisy outside but we like the hustle and bustle of city life. Breakfast was lovely and relaxing after a heavy night. Nothing was rushed, food lovely and waiter attentive. Highly recommended for price paid , but cost a little high for breakfast. Think it was around £17 each. Brilliant location, at the heart of Manchester and few minutes walk to train stations.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Check in, how refreshing to see someone with a smile and a personality! All very efficient & helpful.

Our room was a good size and the bed was huge, very modern clean and everything you could need inc iPod docking station, the bathroom how very nice to have a separate shower cubical and bath, all the usual toiletries, large fluffy towels and plenty of space for all your personal bits!

Breakfast, despite sleeping in and checking out thinking we had missed breakfast reception advised we had 5 minutes to grab something quick, this wasn’t the case we were given a slap up full English with coffee a plenty!

24hr Bar downstairs very handy for a night cap, and this is where I have to say a massive thank you to Shaun the bar man he was outstanding, so friendly and a good giggle.

The location, 5mins walk into the Arndale Centre shopping area, plenty of car parks around through the hotel offer a discount at the Piazza on St James Street. We got a cab to the MEN Arena £8, not bad, again the hotel we only too happy to book this for us.

I cannot express how impressed I was with this hotel, the staff nothing is too much trouble, appearance, location, sleep quality, cleanliness, everything just perfect. The staff really do make this hotel a joy to stay in, I would love to stay here again and recommend that you do to, you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meandtheoldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We only spent one night here but it made an excellent impression. We had a beautiful and spacious room, on the fourth floor with splendid views, as this was a corner room. Nice modern furniture, very comfortable bed and a state of the art bathroom. Every member of the staff whom we met, went the extra mile to be helpful and charming. We had a special deal for that night, which made it particularly good value. Breakfast! Which was not included in the price, was overpriced at £12. We went a couple of minutes down the street and had a lovely breakfast at half the price.

Room Tip: A few floors up for a great view and, if available, ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodwander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Stayed here on business in Manchester, great central location, staff were friendly and attentive. Room was nice, did feel at times it was a bit basic in terms of other hotels in Manchester.

I would stay here again, but I would be tempted to look around a little bit first off.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Myself and my partner stayed at this hotel on our recent trip to Manchester. When we first arrived we were very impressed by Harvey who checked us in. He established we were there for the football game and that we had not been in Manchester before. He explained the tram system, gave us a map and informed us of what he felt would be the most scenic route for us to take. He also informed us the Sunday lunch offer available the next day.

When we got to the room we were very impressed. Everything ease very clean and in good working order. The bed was extremely comfortable.

Other than thatwe had a wonderful experience and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
1,330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 116 in Manchester
2,452 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
586 reviews
0.4 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#8 of 116 in Manchester
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel Manchester

Property: Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Address: Hotel Manchester Hotel Manchester 101 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#28 Business Hotel in Manchester
#32 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#46 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the beating heart of Manchester's city centre, the Townhouse Hotel is the perfect boutique-style hotel for your visit to this exciting and cosmopolitan city. Set in a former cotton warehouse, the hotel has been given a fantastic £3.5 Million makeover and now boasts the perfect blend of style, space and comfort. Townhouse Hotel is conveniently located in the city centre for the Manchester shopping district, theatre, exhibitions and two of the country's biggest football clubs as well as the city's vibrant nightlife. Relax in our stylish and comfortable guest rooms after a busy day's shopping and exploring - then why not check out our stylish 101 Brasserie for delicious dishes cooked with the best seasonal produce available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Townhouse Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Manchester
Best Western Manchester
Manchester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing