We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-located, good value and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Ranked #45 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Level Contributor
150 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Well-located, good value and great service”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel as a base to visit our daughter at the university as well as proximity into the town centre. It was a great location and the accommodation was very spacious for the price, based on my past experience of hotels in Manchester in this area.
The aspect that made this hotel special was the personal service we received. Every member of staff was polite, courteous and responded very quickly to any help we needed.
Good value, good location with excellent clean accommodation and extremely helpful hotel staff make this a good choice.
My only word of caution is that it does get noisy outside, particularly on a Friday and Saturday night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srejtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    563
    272
    115
    52
See reviews for
116
811
61
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Stayed at the MacDonald hotel on 16th July as a special 15 year wedding anniversary break to see a show.
I'd spent some time looking at hotels and reviews before picking this hotel and glad I did!
What a little gem of a hotel this is. As previous reviews say, the staff are very welcoming.
We arrived early in the day and I'd checked in advance to see whether we could check in early to go on to do some shopping.Throughout the whole process of booking and arranging the couple of days stay, I had the pleasure of dealing with the manager James.
Great guy and a very big thanks for the extra work he did at making this stay as great as it was.
Will be sure to come again and recommend it to everyone. The aircon in the room was a lifesaver in the great summer we're having!

On to the restaurant, and I had again done my checking to see what restaurants were nearby and able to provide a 5pm seating, to allow enough time to get to the theater. Must be honest and say when I saw the 101 Brasserie review, I didn't realize it was actually at our hotel (yes I'm numb!)
Quick email to James had the table booked with time to spare for the walk to the theater. Food and service was exceptional and had the pleasure of James sit with us for a chat.

Staff all well informed and great service.

I termed this hotel the diamond in the rough as when you get through the door to the hotel, you are taken away from the outside world and find yourself in a relaxed comfy hotel, with good food and great service.

Our pleasure in staying with you and some brownie points on the board for me with the wife!

Room Tip: We booked the suite for size and as it was a special occasion. Lounge, bathroom, bedroom - magic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed here for about 5 nights in June 2013 with my 12-year old daughter. This hotel had one of the comfiest beds I've ever slept in a hotel in my whole life. No kidding.

As is common with old renovated buildings, front desk and elevators can be in weird locations. But that's fine, it is easy to adapt to. Elevators worked well getting into and out of the hotel. Buffet breakfast was great. Good selection of fruits, yogurts or else the full English. Good coffee too.

The downside of this hotel is that bathrooms are black granite. Sure they look fantastic but the light is so bright white, it creates shadows and so was difficult to put on makeup! I had to put on makeup in the other room to see what I was doing. The hairdryer was very good, btw.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalgrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The Macdonald Manchester is a bit difficult to get into, the main entrance is around the side with a lift to reception. Once you've arrived it's all good. Really nice reception staff and comfortable rooms. I got a standard room which was small but not too small, good bathroom though and a comfortable bed. There was a bit of noise from the road outside but bearable. The restaurant is great although on the pricey side. I got a deal with breakfast and that was a success. Best breakfast in Manchester no doubt, worth the price. The bar area is a bit busy with business types using it for meetings which is a bit annoying but not surprising. Local secure parking is fine and at £6 per night well priced.

Room Tip: If you can avoid a room at the front of the hotel for a quiet(er) night. Do go for the excellent bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Porpentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed here from 11-14 July for a city break. On arrival the reception is at a strange position where you have to carry your luggage up stairs and the same again to get to the lifts. There was a power cut on the Saturday meaning lifts out of order and nothing given to compensate - just a letter. The front desk staff were nice. There was a girl in particular who checked us in - she was very nice. Facilities in the hotel were average - the room was quite small and visible dust at high levels as well as the poorest quality wardrobe! Bathroom is basic with the shower screen causing a nice puddle on the floor. Good central location is the only good thing about the hotel. Hotel bar was poor - poor seating and I was given a dirty glass for beer which I left on the bar. Disappointing that it is part of a large group of hotels. Definitely NOT LUXURY!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 506 - you could hear traffic all night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnyMcComb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldTownhouse, General Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear JohnnyMcComb,

Thank you for your comments. I do apologise if there were any shortfalls in the high standards for which we are known and often praised. I am disappointed that you were not able to experience or appreciate the service and quality of the hotel.

The Duty Manager was most pleased to make himself available to speak to him personally should there be any concerns which may have arisen during the hour that the professionals worked to successfully resolve the power issue. It is a shame that you did not avail yourself of the opportunity as presented in the personally addressed letters presented to each and every guest.

The positive response from many of our guests and their understanding, demonstrated a great appreciation for the manner in which the team efficiently and appropriately managed the unforeseen and unexpected power spike on what proved to be one of the hottest days of the year.

I reiterate the invitation to contact either the Duty Manager or myself directly in the interest of further mutual clarity of your concerns.

Regards,


James McDevitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed here with my husband for a short shopping trip. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and were on hand to answer any questions. We upgraded to an executive room which had a lovely comfortable (huge) bed and a spacious and modern en suite. Was definitely worth the money. The location is just wonderful literally a 5 minute walk from the main stations and a further 5 minute straight road walk into town. We payed an extra £35 for late checkout as our train was in the evening back to Glasgow. Definitely going to stay here again really enjoyed my stay and will make sure this hotel is my first choice for my next trip to Manchester.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoppaholicx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldTownhouse, General Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear shoppaholicx,

Thank you for taking the time to praise the team.

I am so pleased that you realised the value for money in upgrading your room and that you took advantage of a little extra time spent. It is a true convenience for many guests who opt to enjoy all of the great shopping which is only steps away.

We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Warm regards,


James McDevitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I return to this hotel on a regular basis. Its simply the best hotel in Manchester. It has all the usual Macdonald refinements , superb rooms, food etc. The Staff make this hotel exceptional they look after us so well, nothing is too much for them to go well beyond the call of duty. If I win the lottery Im going to live here.

Room Tip: All very good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDJ63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldTownhouse, General Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear MDJ63,

Thank you. What fantastic compliments. It is always wonderful to hear acknowledgment of the team and the art of service which they so enjoy.

We look forward to your return and I would ask that you please introduce your self on a future visit as I would like to say hello and thank you in person.

Warm regards,


James McDevitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,426 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#23 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.0 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 117 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel Manchester

Property: Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Address: Hotel Manchester Hotel Manchester 101 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#28 Business Hotel in Manchester
#32 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#46 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the beating heart of Manchester's city centre, the Townhouse Hotel is the perfect boutique-style hotel for your visit to this exciting and cosmopolitan city. Set in a former cotton warehouse, the hotel has been given a fantastic £3.5 Million makeover and now boasts the perfect blend of style, space and comfort. Townhouse Hotel is conveniently located in the city centre for the Manchester shopping district, theatre, exhibitions and two of the country's biggest football clubs as well as the city's vibrant nightlife. Relax in our stylish and comfortable guest rooms after a busy day's shopping and exploring - then why not check out our stylish 101 Brasserie for delicious dishes cooked with the best seasonal produce available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Townhouse Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Manchester
Best Western Manchester
Manchester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing