We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Ranked #43 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Ideally situated in the centre of Manchester this hotel is great for shopping and nightlife but I felt it was a bit pricey for the standard of hotel.
The staff were very attentive and helpful.
Traffic noise was a bit of an issue but what do you expect when you are on a busy junction.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Archibaldfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldTownhouse, General Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Archibaldfamily

Thank you for taking the time to express your comments. It is nice to hear that you found the staff to be helpful and attentive and that our location works for you.

Our guests choose to stay and do so in awareness of the value for money that they realise. The market is very competitive and we exist according to those demands and our property is appropriately priced in those conditions.

Perhaps, on a future visit you may find something that better suits your needs. I would encourage you to come directly to us early rather than booking later through a third party site and you will certainly find greater value for money in particular on a peak Saturday night.

Warm regards,


James McDevitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    551
    267
    112
    51
See reviews for
113
797
61
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Having stopped at other macdonald hotels, we expected nothing less that great service and we were not disappointed . The front of house staff were exceptional giving advice and help for what ever we needs, room was great, finished to usual high standard , but the original features of the building only added to the room, a little street noise, but you expect that for the location . Breakfast was fantastic great hot and cold selection All I. All a great stay

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick_smitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldTownhouse, General Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Rick_smitz

Thank you.

It is a pleasure to hear your wonderful comments and appreciation of the fantastic features of our staff, building and breakfast offering.

Perhaps, the team and I will have the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Warm regards,


James McDevitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

stayed one night beginning of March but one night too many . Room was poor and windows too high up wall to see out of. The guests in next room were unbelievably noisy all saturday afternoon/evening and even more so when they arrived back in early hours.
Traffic noisy was persistant all night and resulted in broken sleep and the a/c was impossible to get to cool room .
Sunday morning breakfast was well........... average to say the least.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Briglad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldTownhouse, General Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Briglad,

I apologise if you did not enjoy your visit.

It is surprising to hear that you perceive the room to be poor. Poor is not a word we often hear and numerous guests post above and below about their satisfaction.

You are correct in that the windows on one floor are higher, one of the features of our listed building which many of our guests appreciate.

I always welcome any guest to speak with us directly. It gives us opportunity to explain simple things like the fact that the air conditioning is switched off during the winter and also gives you a constructive means to provide feedback about your opinion.

I hope that you would choose to come back and experience all that reasons that so many of our guests return regularly. Should you choose not to do so; the team will continue to work hard to deliver those that do.

Regards,


James McDevitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Our second visit to this hotel that we booked well in advance to secure a good price. We are a party of 8 in town for a show at the arena. We booked 4 rooms and were all satisfied with our rooms. We enjoyed drinks in the bar and the staff were all friendly. The reception staff were very efficient. The only downside was the lack of double glazing meaning a poor nights sleep due to the noise from outside well into the early hours. Also the shower in our room kept stopping and starting and did not get warm. With so many hotels of similar standard to choose from not sure I will be back unless I can get a really good deal.

Room Tip: We were in room 503 the bed looked lost in this room and from the layout of lighting guessing it ori...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldTownhouse, General Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear sandra a,

Thank you for your comments.

Your decision to return is a wonderful compliment. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests return and also very flattering to know that they have brought friends with them.

I am pleased that you were able to enjoy the friendly team and the atmosphere of the bar. It is unfortunate that you were disturbed by external noise although our secondary glazing does its best to keep out the sounds of the city centre nightlife.

Perhaps, we will see you soon and you may once again find value for money in your stay with us.

Warm regards,


James McDevitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Treated myself to a suite for a couple of nights and wasn't disappointed. Sitting room was a really good size, as was the bathroom. lovely toiletries and superb shower. Bed was very comfortable and the only downside was the lack of window.
Staff were particularly friendly and attentive: Jordan, on arrival offered my friend and I a complimentary drink as the room wasn't ready, Jess looked after me really well over the 2 days I stayed and was friendly and welcoming as was Shaun.
Breakfast would very good. Plenty of choice for the continental selection and delicious cooked items.
Dinner was also very good.
I would definitely recommend staying here and would return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo_ryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldTownhouse, General Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear jo_ryder,

Thank you.

Your comments are greatly appreciated, in particular your mention of Jordan, Jess and Shaun, who share my good fortune in working with a very committed team of people who truly enjoy our role in service.

We thank you for your praise and recommendation and we hope that you return again soon.

Warm regards,


James McDevitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Arriving at the townhouse we realised it was in the perfect location, only 15 minutes walk to the city centre but nice and quiet virtually overlooking China town.The hotel interior is lovely, homely and modern and the reception staff are so helpful in checking you in and providing everything you could possibly want. The executive suite we stayed in was perfect. It had lovely lounge with large TV, complete with tea and coffee facilities and little touches like mini shortbread and sparkling water. The bathroom had both a shower and bath, cute mini toiletries and double sinks - everything was pristine. Finally, the bedroom had huge bed that had been made up with fresh crisp sheets and there was plenty of storage for clothes/ luggage. On the first night we ate and had drinks in the lounge. Staff were very attentive and the champagne cocktails were to die for! Food was of a really good standard too. I was really impressed. For the other two days, the hotel did not disappoint, breakfast was fantastic and there was so much choice and the room was consistently cleaned and tidied. We have been to two other hotels from this chain before and both have been equally spectacular, this one too has not let the chain down - I would highly recommend this hotel for business and leisure.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Siansimcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldTownhouse, General Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Siansimcock,

Thank you for your lovely comments and support.

It is always a pleasure to see that we have hit the mark for our guests and that they appreciate what we deliver, not only in our hotel, but within the brand. I am delighted to hear that you found it all to your liking.

Your choice to return is a great compliment and we look forward to serving you once again soon.

Warm regards,


James McDevitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

My boyfriend treated me to a night stay at this hotel when we were visiting Manchester last week to see Avicii. The room was very stylish with possibly the best bathroom ever! Staff were lovely and the location was great, just a quick walk from the busy Deansgate. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would love to go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic_Bush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldTownhouse, General Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Nic_Bush,

Thank you for your wonderful comments and please thank your boyfriend for choosing us as the place to treat you to some special time away.

We look forward to your return and to becoming a regular place for you both to celebrate.

Warm regards,


James McDevitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,401 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#8 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#26 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.0 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel Manchester

Property: Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Address: Hotel Manchester Hotel Manchester 101 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#28 Business Hotel in Manchester
#32 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#46 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the beating heart of Manchester's city centre, the Townhouse Hotel is the perfect boutique-style hotel for your visit to this exciting and cosmopolitan city. Set in a former cotton warehouse, the hotel has been given a fantastic £3.5 Million makeover and now boasts the perfect blend of style, space and comfort. Townhouse Hotel is conveniently located in the city centre for the Manchester shopping district, theatre, exhibitions and two of the country's biggest football clubs as well as the city's vibrant nightlife. Relax in our stylish and comfortable guest rooms after a busy day's shopping and exploring - then why not check out our stylish 101 Brasserie for delicious dishes cooked with the best seasonal produce available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Townhouse Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Manchester
Best Western Manchester
Manchester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing