We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sad let-down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Ranked #45 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A sad let-down”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed for Valentine's night and had booked dinner, bed and breakfast in a superior room. It was disappointing as it lacked care... bits on carpet, ,many marks on the walls and cold. We asked for help with the lighting as the lamps didn't work and the heating... it took two visits and a fair wait before staff could sort it out. Noise from a fan just inside the door and also the radiator marred our stay throughout. The bathroom appeared attractive on first appearance but sadly was faulty... the shower stopped intermittently and temperature would change drastically. Also the shower tray overflowed as the drain was blocked. I was nearly scalded and wrote to report the issue to management. I did not receive a response & no follow up call was made to rectify the issues, which is why I'm giving the detail here.
On the positive side, we did have a lovely evening meal and the food was excellent. The waiting staff were attentive and there was a good atmosphere. The hotel was also well situated and we enjoyed being able to explore the city. I told these positives to the staff on reception and they asked me to write a review on trip advisor (Vicky) .. sadly that enthusiasm died when I mentioned the difficulties in the room & I left feeling that nothing would be done... which it wasn't! We won't be staying here again because of this lack of care. I hope others have more success!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manicmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldTownhouse, General Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Manicmags,

Thank you for your comments.

It is a shame that you did not enjoy your visit. We have had wonderful feedback from many couples who stayed with us and for whom we created some great Valentine's Day memories.

I apologise if you expected a response and did not, as I was unaware of any correspondence. I welcome you to contact me at the hotel to address your comments.

What I do know is that Vicky's enthusiasm, of which you speak, is only rivalled by her caring something which we all do in delivering to our guests. She took your comments on board and fed back to the respective managers who looked into your comments with thanks.

Regards,


James McDevitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    566
    272
    116
    52
See reviews for
118
816
62
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Service was faultless.

The water pressure was a little inconsistent but nothing major. Large rooms and clean and tidy. Breakfast a little pricey if you didn't book with the room rate.

Located 2m from Canal Street, 5m Piccadilly Gardens and 10m from Piccadilly station.

Area was safe. I would try and avoid a room on the street side. Would return for sure!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank panixxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldTownhouse, General Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Panixxxx,

Thank you for your comments.

It is very nice to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and service as well as our fantastic central location.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Warm regards,


James McDevitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My partner and I travelled here on Sunday for two nights after a wonderful stay in November 2013 and really wanted to go back. As we had such a great stay last time we decided to upgrade to a Superior room (as we stayed in a standard last time) just as a little treat so we had even higher expectations, however we felt a little let down as the standard room was actually better than the upgrade.

Negatives -
- couple of marks on the walls (smears and finger stains)
-freezing cold room and when I switched the heating on it would do very little. On the morning I was shivering and put the heat on again but it kept being switched off somehow.
-The room was on the 2nd floor and on the main street (I am not bothered by traffic noise and understand we are in the centre of a city), at 6am a lorry would pick up glass and make a racket - we never had any noise trouble last time.
-the only difference in the upgrade was a fancier bathroom - beautiful black tiles, a shower and bath (the bath was not in the standard).
-in our standard room we had an iPod dock yet in this room we were without one - something we expected as we only took one phone charger.

positives

-wonderful, friendly staff who were more attentive this time round and even took our cases after checking out so we could wander before going home. They gave us bus information and the night porter who kept the doors locked was very polite!
- we visited the Trafford Centre, there is a bus stop a block away and took us there and back for £3 each! Very enjoyable day out and would recommend.
-quick check in/out. When we came back for our luggage the receptionist remembered us and helped us before the next customer knowing we were in a rush - thank you!

overall we would LOVE to go back and sure we will soon. we understand the noise outside is no fault of the hotels however if the heat situation could be sorted and more information on the upgrades we would appreciate it. Feels like home from home and ideal for a city break.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are good enough, save money and do not upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayleightravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldTownhouse, General Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear kayleightravels,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and acknowledging the fantastic team with which I proudly work.

Seemingly, we did not have the chance to discuss any of your comments when you were our guest. It is truly a missed opportunity as we could have easily assisted you with the heating in your room and provided you with a docking station. We have recently removed the older systems and we are replacing them with Bose mini sound docks as well as putting Nespresso coffee machines in as new upgrade features. . . perhaps allowing you to enjoy your visit a bit more.

Please do visit us again soon and experience these upgrades as they will certainly be worth it.

Regards,


James McDevitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Ideally situated in the centre of Manchester this hotel is great for shopping and nightlife but I felt it was a bit pricey for the standard of hotel.
The staff were very attentive and helpful.
Traffic noise was a bit of an issue but what do you expect when you are on a busy junction.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Archibaldfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldTownhouse, General Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Archibaldfamily

Thank you for taking the time to express your comments. It is nice to hear that you found the staff to be helpful and attentive and that our location works for you.

Our guests choose to stay and do so in awareness of the value for money that they realise. The market is very competitive and we exist according to those demands and our property is appropriately priced in those conditions.

Perhaps, on a future visit you may find something that better suits your needs. I would encourage you to come directly to us early rather than booking later through a third party site and you will certainly find greater value for money in particular on a peak Saturday night.

Warm regards,


James McDevitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Having stopped at other macdonald hotels, we expected nothing less that great service and we were not disappointed . The front of house staff were exceptional giving advice and help for what ever we needs, room was great, finished to usual high standard , but the original features of the building only added to the room, a little street noise, but you expect that for the location . Breakfast was fantastic great hot and cold selection All I. All a great stay

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick_smitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldTownhouse, General Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Rick_smitz

Thank you.

It is a pleasure to hear your wonderful comments and appreciation of the fantastic features of our staff, building and breakfast offering.

Perhaps, the team and I will have the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Warm regards,


James McDevitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

stayed one night beginning of March but one night too many . Room was poor and windows too high up wall to see out of. The guests in next room were unbelievably noisy all saturday afternoon/evening and even more so when they arrived back in early hours.
Traffic noisy was persistant all night and resulted in broken sleep and the a/c was impossible to get to cool room .
Sunday morning breakfast was well........... average to say the least.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Briglad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldTownhouse, General Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Briglad,

I apologise if you did not enjoy your visit.

It is surprising to hear that you perceive the room to be poor. Poor is not a word we often hear and numerous guests post above and below about their satisfaction.

You are correct in that the windows on one floor are higher, one of the features of our listed building which many of our guests appreciate.

I always welcome any guest to speak with us directly. It gives us opportunity to explain simple things like the fact that the air conditioning is switched off during the winter and also gives you a constructive means to provide feedback about your opinion.

I hope that you would choose to come back and experience all that reasons that so many of our guests return regularly. Should you choose not to do so; the team will continue to work hard to deliver those that do.

Regards,


James McDevitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Our second visit to this hotel that we booked well in advance to secure a good price. We are a party of 8 in town for a show at the arena. We booked 4 rooms and were all satisfied with our rooms. We enjoyed drinks in the bar and the staff were all friendly. The reception staff were very efficient. The only downside was the lack of double glazing meaning a poor nights sleep due to the noise from outside well into the early hours. Also the shower in our room kept stopping and starting and did not get warm. With so many hotels of similar standard to choose from not sure I will be back unless I can get a really good deal.

Room Tip: We were in room 503 the bed looked lost in this room and from the layout of lighting guessing it ori...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldTownhouse, General Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear sandra a,

Thank you for your comments.

Your decision to return is a wonderful compliment. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests return and also very flattering to know that they have brought friends with them.

I am pleased that you were able to enjoy the friendly team and the atmosphere of the bar. It is unfortunate that you were disturbed by external noise although our secondary glazing does its best to keep out the sounds of the city centre nightlife.

Perhaps, we will see you soon and you may once again find value for money in your stay with us.

Warm regards,


James McDevitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 116 in Manchester
2,454 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
1,331 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
592 reviews
0.4 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#8 of 116 in Manchester
1,535 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel Manchester

Property: Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Address: Hotel Manchester Hotel Manchester 101 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#28 Business Hotel in Manchester
#32 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#46 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the beating heart of Manchester's city centre, the Townhouse Hotel is the perfect boutique-style hotel for your visit to this exciting and cosmopolitan city. Set in a former cotton warehouse, the hotel has been given a fantastic £3.5 Million makeover and now boasts the perfect blend of style, space and comfort. Townhouse Hotel is conveniently located in the city centre for the Manchester shopping district, theatre, exhibitions and two of the country's biggest football clubs as well as the city's vibrant nightlife. Relax in our stylish and comfortable guest rooms after a busy day's shopping and exploring - then why not check out our stylish 101 Brasserie for delicious dishes cooked with the best seasonal produce available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Townhouse Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Manchester
Best Western Manchester
Manchester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing