We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“christmas market stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Ranked #45 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“christmas market stay”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed at the macdonald townhouse for the 2nd time whilst visiting the manchester markets. again the hotel was just as we expected.
A lovely big spacious room, large comfy bed with plenty of pillows. Bathroom was clean and spacious. The bedrooms were clean and well organised
Breakfast was lovely as usual, cooked selection to order and a buffet selection which you could help yourself to. Staff were a little slow bringing tea/coffee/toast but it was quite busy so this was to be expected.
would stay here again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimberley j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldTownhouse, General Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear kimberley j,

Thank you for returning to us and also for posting your lovely comments.

We find that we have many guests who enjoy the markets each year and we love to see them throughout the year as well. Please visit us again soon and let us pamper you once more.

Regards,


James McDevitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    575
    280
    118
    53
See reviews for
120
830
62
351
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for one night to celebrate 4 years together in April. The hotel receptionists were extremely attentive and informative and really friendly! The hotel itself is really modern and well decorated although only small it's a good enough size and in a great location, right in the town centre and 2 minutes walk from Q Park Piazza parking, which for 24 hours cost £20 but the hotel give you a 30% discount voucher so it only costs £14 which we thought was reasonable for Manchester parking! And it's safe and secure. The room was amazing! We stayed in room 102 on level 1 and it was lovely, although it was two single beds we just pushed them together. Lovely bathroom with bath and separate shower (extremely strong water flow!! Didn't need to have it on full flow!). The only negative about it was the jolly/drunk visitors that came back at 3am and were shouting from the room next door, but the hotel can't be blamed for that, and it's kind of expected for Manchester City centre!! The 101 Brasserie restaurant is fantastic. One member of staff who worked front of house - Joe - was brilliant. So attentive and helpful with the menu, and really professional and friendly. The other staff front of house were great too - opening every bottle of wine when I said I liked fruity! For such a small hotel it's packed with professionalism! The chef was amazing - best cooked scallops, salmon and sirloins we've had in a while! Overall we had a fantastic stay at the Macdonald Townhouse Hotel and we couldn't have picked a better hotel to celebrate at! Thanks guys!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ana-93-Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldTownhouse, General Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Ana-93-Marie,

Thank you for your fantastic praise and comments about the hotel and the team. Joe is a real star and I was delighted to thank him for your recognition.

It seems that you were able to appreciate many aspects of the quality and service for which we are proudly known. I am pleased to see that you see the great value in the discounted parking arrangement which we have with our neighbouring QPark, a real luxury in any city centre.

Please find any reason to visit and celebrate with us soon. We take a return guest as the greatest of compliments.

Warm regards,


James McDevitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Its a great location and the hotel is quite smart and confortable.
Overall it's not as good as the other McDonald hotel by the station but never the less one of the better hotels in the center.
Just be aware parking even with discount at q park is £ 14 per 24 hours and the food at the hotel is expensive for what it is.
Having said that i would stay again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldTownhouse, General Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Russell T,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and feedback.

It is nice to see that we have guests that explore their preferences and experience the special offerings and appeal of our two distinctly different hotels in the city.

We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Warm regards,


James McDevitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I had picked my boyfriend up from the airport and we decided on staying here and going to the Xmas market. The hotel was within walking distance of anywhere you needed to be, really close to many shops and eating places.
The room was really nice clean and modern.
The receptionist was really nice and helpful too, she seemed a lovely girl.
Also the man on the bar had just shut and was coming out and opened back up for us a bottle of water which was really nice of him!!
Good city stay, Thanks x

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SailieER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldTownhouse, General Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear SailieER,

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful feedback.

The weather is getting quite nice and you may need to come back soon and take advantage of our convenient location and our service as Manchester has so much to offer throughout the year.

Warm regards,


James McDevitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We visited on bank holiday Monday for one night to celebrate our 8th wedding anniversary. The lady on reception (I'm sorry I forgot your name) was beyond amazing. We unpacked our bag and went out for some drinks in the sun and when we came back she had organised 2 glasses of champagne and a tasting plate of cake with 'happy anniversary' wrote in chocolate to be delivered to our room. What a wonderfully sweet thought. The room standards are excellent and the bed is the comfiest I have ever stayed in. Will definitely stay again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldTownhouse, General Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Pride0fcheshire,

Happy Anniversary once again!

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your special occasion with us and the team delivered to your satisfaction.

We look forward to your return soon. Please don’t wait for another year . . . you can surely find another reason to celebrate with us.

Warm regards,



James McDevitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
551 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I stayed here for three nights while attending a conference. I found it clean, comfortable and very professional.

The staff were welcoming, and helpful. The breakfast servers were particularly so.

The room was of a good size and the decoration tasteful, but maybe a bit dated. The bed was very soft, but a bit high. The quality of sleep was very good. The shower had good pressure and plenty of hot water. The laptop safe provided was easy to use.

The breakfast was good, with buffet continental items and hot items cooked to order.

A very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Room 213 is an accessible room. It is near the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank padreray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldTownhouse, General Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear padreray

Many thanks for the lovely words of praise which you have posted about the hotel and the team at the Townhouse.

Perhaps, we will see you back soon and be able to serve you once again.

Warm regards,



James McDevitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here last night and I loved everything about my stay!

Friendly and accommodating staff, wonderful room and a bed that was so comfortable I wanted to take it home.

The breakfast this morning was fantastic, all good ingredients and not like a cheap hotel breakfast, like some of the competition in Manchester.

I will be back, I know where I will ask to be booked next time I go to Manchester.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Antony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldTownhouse, General Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Anthony C,

Thank you. How nice it is to read such wonderful praise. We are all very appreciative of your comments.

We are rightfully very proud of our breakfast and thank you for noting the quality. As a hotel group, we only work with the best in free range eggs, outdoor reared pork and top quality smoked fish from John Ross jr, a proud holder of the Royal Warrant, supplier to H.M. The Queen.

We look forward to welcoming you back to us soon.

Warm regards,



James McDevitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 118 in Manchester
2,508 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 118 in Manchester
1,352 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 118 in Manchester
4,997 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 118 in Manchester
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel Manchester

Property: Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Address: Hotel Manchester Hotel Manchester 101 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#28 Business Hotel in Manchester
#32 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#46 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the beating heart of Manchester's city centre, the Townhouse Hotel is the perfect boutique-style hotel for your visit to this exciting and cosmopolitan city. Set in a former cotton warehouse, the hotel has been given a fantastic £3.5 Million makeover and now boasts the perfect blend of style, space and comfort. Townhouse Hotel is conveniently located in the city centre for the Manchester shopping district, theatre, exhibitions and two of the country's biggest football clubs as well as the city's vibrant nightlife. Relax in our stylish and comfortable guest rooms after a busy day's shopping and exploring - then why not check out our stylish 101 Brasserie for delicious dishes cooked with the best seasonal produce available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Townhouse Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Manchester
Best Western Manchester
Manchester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing