We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolutely terrible experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia Sachas Hotel
Ranked #100 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 1 August 2012

This hotel has got to be one of the worst I have ever had the misfortune of staying in. I stayed here for one night on a business trip because it was centrally located in Manchester and it seemed reasonably priced.

I would never make the same mistake again. The carpets were disgusting, the corridoors and the bedroom stank of smoke and the room had no windows. As if this wasn't bad enough - the reception staff were rude and charged me an extra £2 for paying my bill by debit card!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erf1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,220)
There are newer reviews for Britannia Sachas Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,503 - 1,509 of 2,220 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed here for a Saturday night in July. We paid £97 for a twin room, basic with no window, which I knew I had booked. Upon arrival, we were checked in fairly quickly, and went to our room. Upon walking down the corrider we noticed that it smelt of stale fags, and when we opened our room door, was met with an awful smell - a musty dirty smell. We sprayed body spray over the room and when we returned it smelt again.
The TV was pretty much on the floor and was not viewable from the beds.
The toilet didn't like to be used more than once in 5 minutes, as it didn't want to flush the second time.
We went out feeling like we smelt due to the awful smell in the rooms.
The shower was all rotten round the edges.
The air condition unit didn't really blow out cold air as the dial had broken so couldn't see what temperature it was on
I would not recommend this hotel to anybody and would not stop here again. I am completely disgusted with the price we paid to stop here!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emsyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

What a dump! Dirty, tacky and grim. The rooms without windows are my favourite part.

If you want a dirt cheap bed for the night right in the city centre then you may consider this place. Otherwise I suggest you avoid.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Carpets were filthy. Room smelt awful and had no window. For £100 per night, totally disgusted with the standards. Needs a complete refurb. Car park is nowhere near hotel.
Only good thing is its location and the lager was £1.50 a pint when we stayed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

The first thing which greeted me in the room was buzzing bluebottles circling near the ceiling. The source of the flies was unclear, but I did notice that the window sill was very dirty, especially the groove of what looked where 2ndry double glazing had been was encrusted with black dirt. On looking out of the window there was a pigeon perched on the balcony type constructions on the outside of the hotel and these were full of debris. I can only describe having to kill at least 8 flies prior to using the room as a very unpleasant experience and not one I have ever had to do before in a hotel. The overall cleanliness of the room left something to be desired, there were stains on the bed head, surfaces not thoroughly cleaned and stains on the carpet.
In the bathroom the sink was cracked, the tap dripped constantly. The shower in the bath had two temperatures too hot and too cold, these taps too dripped constantly. The areas where one would expect to see nice white sealant were grubby looking. Overall the bathroom did not feel like a place to get clean in.
DON'T CHOOSE THIS HOTEL IF YOU WANT A CLEAN HOTEL

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 485KarenW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Right after I read all these reviews I was so scared to go there, I tried to cancel because I'm a person who likes my hygiene.. I don't know why so many people are complaining... I had a great stay here! I booked it for after a gig in Manchester and was lovely. The room I got was gorgeous maybe because we got lucky, but it was clean, comfy, and had no problems apart from the toilet didn't flush sometimes but we was hardly in there as it is so close to everything and all the shops! For 35 it was a bargain. Yes maybe it is abit old fashioned but if you want luxury PAY FOR LUXURY. You get what you pay for here and it was a pleasurable stay. The room I stayed in was 519 and I would go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazfiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This place should be closed down it is disgusting you would not let your dog stay here let alone humans, the room was so bad(with Bed Bugs!!) after taking 18 pictures and ask to the manager, and what a joke he was showed me to another room which was worst than the one In, there was no customer service and they tried to charge us for late departure which we did not ask for what a con!!! I have reported this hotel to E.H.O and I hope this place is closed! all I can say is god help you if you stay!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't bother !!!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GBI_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Mitre Hotel
Mitre Hotel
#95 of 120 in Manchester
916 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#72 of 120 in Manchester
1,155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.4 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
easyHotel Manchester
easyHotel Manchester
#74 of 120 in Manchester
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Sachas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Sachas Hotel

Address: 12 Tib Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M4 1SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: £38 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Sachas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the bustling Manchester city centre stands the vibrant and elegant Britannia Sachas Hotel; its fabulous city centre location makes it a superb base whether you are on a business trip or just visiting for pleasure whilst exploring Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Britannia Sachas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Sachas Manchester
Hotel Britannia Sachas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing