We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shambles!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia Sachas Hotel
Ranked #100 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 5 August 2012

If paying just£29 for one night and you are out most of the night , this is a good budget hotel! Don't expect anything else!
It's badly run, rooms are poor lots of people complaining poor check in and all this was on a tuesday! Hate to think what weekends are like!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisakatt43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,529 - 1,535 of 2,249 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2012

I chose this hotel as it provided the best value for a single room in central Manchester near Piccadilly Station and the location is excellent for central Manchester. The room was fine- clean and with a good bathroom and good lighting. The view was very limited, a dilapidated yard with barbed wire and air conditioning units. TV only had a few odd channels. Check in at reception was poor- staff smiled at each other but did not even give eye contact to guests, and unless payment was in cash £2 was added, even for debit card. A pile of dirty tissues lay on the desk. The public areas were rather run down. There was noise late into the night, but some of this may have come from outside the hotel .If you only require somewhere to sleep for good value this hotel is okay , but not really that pleasant

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We syayed there for 1 night. It was a Sunday and cosy £39. The room had no windows. Linen and towels were clean but the furnishings are dated and dingy.Peeling wallpaper,gaps in the panels on the bathroon ceiling, dated bath that had seen better days. Basically its neglected. For £39 it was ok but definitely no more than that.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

This hotel has got to be one of the worst I have ever had the misfortune of staying in. I stayed here for one night on a business trip because it was centrally located in Manchester and it seemed reasonably priced.

I would never make the same mistake again. The carpets were disgusting, the corridoors and the bedroom stank of smoke and the room had no windows. As if this wasn't bad enough - the reception staff were rude and charged me an extra £2 for paying my bill by debit card!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erf1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed here for a Saturday night in July. We paid £97 for a twin room, basic with no window, which I knew I had booked. Upon arrival, we were checked in fairly quickly, and went to our room. Upon walking down the corrider we noticed that it smelt of stale fags, and when we opened our room door, was met with an awful smell - a musty dirty smell. We sprayed body spray over the room and when we returned it smelt again.
The TV was pretty much on the floor and was not viewable from the beds.
The toilet didn't like to be used more than once in 5 minutes, as it didn't want to flush the second time.
We went out feeling like we smelt due to the awful smell in the rooms.
The shower was all rotten round the edges.
The air condition unit didn't really blow out cold air as the dial had broken so couldn't see what temperature it was on
I would not recommend this hotel to anybody and would not stop here again. I am completely disgusted with the price we paid to stop here!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emsyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

What a dump! Dirty, tacky and grim. The rooms without windows are my favourite part.

If you want a dirt cheap bed for the night right in the city centre then you may consider this place. Otherwise I suggest you avoid.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Carpets were filthy. Room smelt awful and had no window. For £100 per night, totally disgusted with the standards. Needs a complete refurb. Car park is nowhere near hotel.
Only good thing is its location and the lager was £1.50 a pint when we stayed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Mitre Hotel
Mitre Hotel
#93 of 120 in Manchester
952 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#71 of 120 in Manchester
1,184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
easyHotel Manchester
easyHotel Manchester
#72 of 120 in Manchester
182 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Sachas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Sachas Hotel

Address: 12 Tib Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M4 1SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: £37 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Sachas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the bustling Manchester city centre stands the vibrant and elegant Britannia Sachas Hotel; its fabulous city centre location makes it a superb base whether you are on a business trip or just visiting for pleasure whilst exploring Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Britannia Sachas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Sachas Manchester
Hotel Britannia Sachas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing