We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Britannia Sachas Hotel
Ranked #97 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Kristiansund, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Close to everything”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

The hotel has a very good location, to transportation, pubs/restaurants and shopping. Very cheap pub, just beside breakfast room / restaurant. Hotel is a bit wornout, but everything works. Cleaning service good. Smoking rooms available. There are some internal rooms, I do not fancy those. Slowest elevator in England? Service in reception good. For me, location is superb.

Room Tip: Go for superior or executive rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roarjens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    218
    380
    392
    1,142
See reviews for
218
758
133
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I was under no illusion that this would be a luxurious hotel!! We were using it as a base for a girlie weekend. The room was very clean and tidy, we got a window as requested. All the staff we encountered were polite and courteous. The corridors were clean as well, no litter anywhere. We booked a sunday night deal. So we got a 3 course meal, bottle of wine (a bit pitroleumesque!!) and breakfast, Breakfast was ok, but we hadn't paid the earth and it was cheaper than a taxi home. There is a locked storage area if you want to go shopping before checkin.
Yes check in was slow, and only one girl on the desk. But try to be in her shoes!! She remained polite even under extreme stress!!
Happy hour in the bar, so drinks did not cost the earth, and the meal was fine.
Beauty treatments were 50% off, but don't expect 5* luxury. As i said cheap and cheerful and worth the bargain price of £75 for 3 of us, including dinner bed, breakfast and wine!!
Don't expect 5* as definitely is not!!! Excellent value if using it as a base.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I booked a night at this hotel for last night and then checked tripadvisor (You'd think I'd have learned by now!!). The experiences of other guests were reinforced by my visit. Check in was dreadfully slow and I didn't bother waiting for the lifts as the crowd of people demonstrated that there was a problem. The corridors seemed to be littered with rubbish, food trays, and general detritus that one could imagine at midnight but this was 4pm. Bit grubby too and needed a good "shake'n'vac". Room was OK(ish) if a bit shabby and the telephone in the bathroom was falling apart. No windows, but I knew that when I booked so no complaints there, but it was like an oven. Not sure what was going on with the air conditioning but it sounded like a jet engine but the room was still overheated. Bed great and bedding clean and crispy (gold star there). Just got the feeling that the place was trying to be top notch and sophisticated when it just couldn't reach those standards. Bottom line though is that I paid £29 for a double room and yes I got £29 worth of value. The thing is that Sasha's thinks it's in the £150 league and that is just a delusion.My advice is pay £29 and enjoy Manchester's great nightlife but don't think of this place as a destination in itself.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ennismore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

To start off we had to wait about 45mins just to check in. The staff were not professional and were very slow at their job, didnt show any interest on what they were doing. when we finally got our room the room key did not work so we had to go all the way back from 4th floor to the reception which was irritating as the lifts were very old and slow. They did not have enough plugs for me to charge my phone. we asked for a room with windows when we booked but they gave us any room i felt like i was staying in a box.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dervis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Thinking of staying in a 'luxury' hotel?
Stay away from anything to do with Brittania!!
Me and my boyfriend were looking for a place to stay in the centre of manchester, for a decent price. We were on Bookings.com when we saw Sashas for £39 instead of £139 for standard double room, and it was cheaper than anywhere else. I have always had my doubts about this hotel, its location and its exterior really put me off. However, my boyfriend thought it would be ok and for the price we opted for it.
When we walked through the front doors, i actually couldn't believe how grand it is. But if you look closer, you can actually see how worn down everything is, and how outdated it is.
Reception is a pathetic experience. we had ONE couple check in, in front of us. we were waiting for TWENTY minutes. That was plenty of time to notice how many other staff are just walking around doing sweet FA, trying to look important. When we finally got to the front, the receptionist almost seemed incompetent at his job role, as if he was training, but i'm sure it was just the Britannia behaviour. It really did annoy us both that, being a grand hotel, they would actually make check in process and simple as possible, to not delay their guests. (i work in a budget hotel and it takes less than a minute to check people in, and thats while being chatty!)
Finally checked in, we went to the lifts... this is where the building starts to give up its grand impression. the lifts take their time, and the interior is failing. We were allocated a room on the sixth floor (p.s. we were informed by a contractor at the hotel that floor 6 was the best floor). On leaving the lift, the floor looked like it hadn't been hoovered in years and was full of bits. We walked to our room which was given two small windows. The impression of the room.... hmm.
there was a new red carpet that we could still smell, it was that fresh. however, the bed was old, and on a metal frame - something i wouldn't expect. the TV was from the 1990's! as was the furniture and the wall paper. the only good thing was that it was clean. apart from the random splatters of blood or something similar on the doors.
luckily, with the autumn weather the room wasn't too hot, but the air con, when we turned it on, made the room stink of stale smoke!
The bed was comfy though and we both had a good nights sleep.
The next morning we went down for breakfast in the basement. we paid £5 on reception when we arrived... and that is all its worth!
as we left the lift we had to walk through the bar area - getting a lovely wiff of the toilets. The breakfast is a continental buffet. but the hot food isn't hot. the tea/coffee wasn't hot. the bread ran out and no one bothered to replace it. wow... it just wasn't nice at all.
Also, the basement is all dark wood and made the place feel very dark and dingy. the tables are laid out nicely and you are given milk, but we both wanted a hot breakfast, not a luke warm one. - so don't pay the £10 for breakfast in the morning - just go to Greg's or one of the many cafe's outside!

The biggest let down, and the funniest thing, is that when entering the hotel, you expect the service to be excellent. but, instead the staff appear to be more interested in making them self look good. which all that does is annoy customers that are waiting to check in.

Room Tip: Level 6 apparently is the best - but still awful. make sure you get a room with a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MillyJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egremont, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Stayed at Sasha's as part of a package trip with a concert and would never stay again. Complained before we got there due to what we had seen on tripadvisor and got told we would be upgraded to executive rooms. However upon arrival they said we couldn't have the rooms as they were not available, despite having a letter of confirmation from the hotel. Eventually got into our "executive rooms" to find the curtain rails hanging off , stains on the ceilings and marks all over the walls, hair on the bed, the window propped open with a spoon as the handle was broken AND a towel shoved into the air conditioning system as it was broken. Non-smoking rooms also STUNK of smoke. Our friends got put into an internal room with no window and the air conditioning system was broke. Received terrible service from a male manager who had a terrible attitude and certainly did not follow the saying 'the customer is always right'. Thought it was acceptable that there was a pubic hair on the bed in a room that had supposedly been cleaned. Payed over the odds and were not offered any compensation.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are not executive, awful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollyw21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Arrived to find our original rooms already taken, rude arrogant girl on the desk, room filthy had a large dirty wet patch on the floor outside of the bathroom door on the carpet I dread to think what it was. Breakfast tasted like it was all stale out if date food , horrible couldn't eat it, breakfast room smelled like a gents toilet because for some reason the gents door was propped open with a chair. Vending machine out of order so couldn't even purchase a bottle of water after the bar closed. Overall expensive and rubbish hotel, don't stay there !!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#69 of 118 in Manchester
1,121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mitre Hotel
Mitre Hotel
#91 of 118 in Manchester
893 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
easyHotel Manchester
easyHotel Manchester
#84 of 118 in Manchester
73 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Sachas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Sachas Hotel

Property: Britannia Sachas Hotel
Address: 12 Tib Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M4 1SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Sachas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the bustling Manchester city centre stands the vibrant and elegant Britannia Sachas Hotel; its fabulous city centre location makes it a superb base whether you are on a business trip or just visiting for pleasure whilst exploring Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Sachas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Sachas Manchester
Hotel Britannia Sachas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing