We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Centre Location+Discounted 24hr CP!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Britannia Sachas Hotel
Ranked #96 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“City Centre Location+Discounted 24hr CP!”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed one night, 22nd Dec, 2013. Chose it for City Centre location, price and discounted 24hr car-park (a few blocks away, but worth the walk!) Booked 'room only'/double £39. At check-in, (busy, so a bit slow, (not a problem!) staff pleasant, provided map/explanation etc re: CPark. Offered us 'discounted' (pay now) breakfast, £5pp (or pay £10pp in morning!) Took lift to 4th floor room, checked the 'view' (lol!) roof tops, big crane in Piccadilly Gardens (re-locating the 'Manchester Eye'!) Got my 'bearings', closed curtains (raining)! It's a city centre hotel in a densely built up area, if you want a 'view', try a higher floor in the Hilton! Huge en-suite room (Exec' type), huge wall mounted TV, table, chairs, desk, kettle, tea, coffee etc. Comfy bed, clean white linen/towels, everything clean and in good order! Slept surprisingly well for location, no noise! Breakfast-tables all laid, help yourself to usual cereals, juice, fruit, toast, bacon, eggs, sausages etc (something for everyone!) Tea & Coffee, disappointing, self serve from stainless steel flasks, rather cold/'stewed'! One lady trying to 'meet n greet', clear tables, help in kitchen, refill buffet etc. Breakfast-good value for £5.
I'm shocked by some of the horrendous comments on here, some made by guests who stayed on the same date as us! It's an old hotel and it is a bit 'tired' in places. I didn't see inside any other bedrooms, but we had no reason to complain about ours! Good deal!

Room Tip: Ring hotel prior to booking to discuss specific requirements!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    216
    379
    390
    1,131
See reviews for
215
751
133
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I spent one night at this hotel and would not recommend it. While it was reasonably priced and the staff were helpful, the hotel looks like it's falling to bits on the outside and the room was old, tired and not clean - outside of our room was a balcony which was filled with water and rubbish. The quality of the food in the restaurant was also poor. The only positive is its location, but I would not want to ever stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a good room, stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed at Sachas for 2 nights in December 2013. Why on earth is not this hotel rated 2*! They had pushed 2 single beds together to forfill the booking of a double room. I spotted lice & bugs on the sheets and carpet. The walls are dirty in the rooms, also the bathroom floor had a dirty sticky surface. The overall appearance of the room was truly upsetting. The beds have a horrible wooden structure, very unpleasant to the eye. Hallways and lifts are disgustingly filthy. I believe the complaints shall not down grade this hotel because of the location & structure of the building, even though eventually Sachas Hotel shall have to be closed down for fumigation.
Of course the spa is available to hotel guest at a price and obviously where there is a lot of water there is a clean environment: Albeit the steam room was broken at the time of my visit and the male changing room lockers are being broken in to and belongings stolen on a regular basis. A robbery of the male lockers actually occurred whilst I was using the spa and the members of Spindles complained in front of me to the Spindles staff who told them they are aware robberies had been occurring for the past 2 months and that lockers had not been repaired after break-ins, therefore members should avoid bringing valuables with them .
In a nutshell “Unacceptable” !
Manchester needs to take this hotel off of the Britannia Group and restore the building into a decent hotel that would make the city proud.
Property also has to be maintained internally not just the facade! Sachas in December 2013 was overbooked and fully booked (hence the two single beds pushed together) so the Britannia Group cannot but short of cash. It is time for authorities to make them take stock and clean the place up.

Room Tip: Avoid room 431 it has bugs crawling on the carpet!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maxina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

absolutely minging hotel this is,disgusting stench to the place ,the shower was more like a dripping tap,no heating in the bedroom the only good thing about this hole is the location central to almost everything ,would NOT stay here again and would recommend to avoid at all cost.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keith l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Recently booked a room at the Sachas hotel. The hotel was run down, the room was a nightmare, toliet door hanging off, toliet held on the wall with gaffer tape, it did not flush. Stains over the carpet, room stunk of smoke when it was a non smokers room. When we complained to manager he was very rude towards us and did not believe a word we said.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nuttall94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

what an awful hotel. britannia sent me here after i turned up to a booked room at there other hotel to be told they had no rooms left! Not one staff member apologised. We was checked in by a man on reception with wide shiny eyes who had clearly taken something! the corridor though out the hotel is repaired with tape, the room was literally falling into pieces. The window didn't even close properly, the bath was cracked and there was loose electrics! we paid £10 for a late check out, only to be woken up by the maid at 11am telling us that we need to get out of the room. absolutely awful experience in an awful hotel, would seriously recommend just paying the little bit extra and stay in an half decent hotel.

Room Tip: Book another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BenjaniA1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Myself and my girlfriend went to the boyzone concert at the arena in Manchester and as a special treat i booked here in a double executive room (sounds good yeah?) the place is absolutely minging and i would not advise anybody to ever stop there! the hotel stinks and the rooms are falling apart also if you have death wish then brekkie is a must! Britannia well i never thought you would put your name to this disgrace.

Room Tip: take a tent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noddy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#66 of 116 in Manchester
1,104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mitre Hotel
Mitre Hotel
#89 of 116 in Manchester
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.4 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#59 of 116 in Manchester
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Sachas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Sachas Hotel

Property: Britannia Sachas Hotel
Address: 12 Tib Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M4 1SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Sachas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the bustling Manchester city centre stands the vibrant and elegant Britannia Sachas Hotel; its fabulous city centre location makes it a superb base whether you are on a business trip or just visiting for pleasure whilst exploring Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Sachas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Sachas Manchester
Hotel Britannia Sachas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing