We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible is to good a word to describe this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Sachas Hotel
Ranked #96 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible is to good a word to describe this hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

My husband and I went to this hotel as part of a 60th birthday present to see Michael Buble, we were first given a room with no window, this is the first time ever I have seen a room with no window, we were then offered a room with a skylight, then a room that stunk of smoke, eventually we were given a room with a window but had to pay a further £10, this was very tired to say the least, the staff were very very unhelpful and at times rude.
Breakfast is in a very dark dingy lower ground room, most of the food was cold and the tea was totally undrinkable.
I would strongly advise people to stay away from this hotel my sister stayed at the travel lodge for less and had a lovely room and nice breakfast. KEEP AWAY

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    215
    372
    388
    1,112
See reviews for
210
736
133
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

My Husband and I booked a last minute night in Manchester for easy access to China Town.
It was cheap & not so cheerful, however, the room was clean & the bed was comfy - what more could we expect for £49?!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Cleobury Mortimer
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Lifts that creak as if they're falling apart, safety signs hanging off walls, one day the cleaners didn't bother, you have to pay a surcharge to pay by debit or credit card at the reception, the gym will cost you £5 - and it's rubbish, the rooms are dilapidated - see photos.

Enough said I think - oh hang on, the location is very central and it's cheap.

Room Tip: Err - find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdDargan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Where do I start??? When we arrived, the queue to book in was very long. We got to our room and the smell of stale smoke was overpowering. We had requested a non-smoking room but had been issued with a smoking one. This was easily changed and the room was better. The room however was very dated, from the 70's I think! The bed was not even double in size which made it very difficult to sleep comfortably! The windows were filthy and the bath was stained. The corridors/hallways smelled strongly of damp.
We just wanted a nice place to sleep after a busy day and night out.
The only positive thing I can say is that the staff were lovely, polite and very accommodating. It's a shame they have to work in that hell-hole! Sorry, but it's true. Stay away!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and i stayed here for only 1 night and could not have been any more disappointed, on arrival the staff were miserable, in our room the first thing we noticed were the dirty marks on the walls and the windows were filthy, it wasnt until we came back to the room later that we found that 1 of the grotty windows wouldnt close properly making the night quite cold, the bathroom had mold around the bath edge and the whole room in general needed updating.
The poor condition of the room was matched equally by the useless room service, i called the number and was put straight through to reception who said they will put me through to the restaurant, however after 15 minutes i was repeatedly answered by the reception who kept on saying they would put us through, in the end i told the receptionist to call our room back when they finally got in touch with the restaurant, a call which we never recieved with no attempt at an apology.
The final issue we had was with the general hotel services, such as the pool and gym etc which we believed to be free to use until we arrived at the hotel to find there was an additional fee, along side the extra fee we paid on arrival just for paying by card, all in all the only positive i can give is the hotels central location, other than that, its awful, stay in 1 of the many surrounding hotels

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank robbrookes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We aren't ones for complaining BUT this hotel's a joke. All we wanted was a place to shower and sleep, as we had a very busy day and night out. We got the shower in a dirty bathroom, But as for sleep - not a bit of it, nothing to do with noise but HEAT. Absolutely boiling in the room, air conditioning didn't work at all. We had to move all the furniture closer to the bed and prop a fan up to keep us cool and it still didn't do that.We even had to get ready with our door wide open. If I was you I would pay the extra and stay in a premier inn.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelvin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We arrived and found the hotel reception to be in what can really best be described as a back street. We had booked an executive double room, which when we got to it was in the roof area and if the stairs were used the final floor was only accessible from the fire escape stairwell
The room was so small that the double bed almost filled it completely. The tv was circa 1980 and there was damage to the wall. There was also a wardrobe door missing.The bathroom was very small and dirty with a hole in the door, and a toilet seat that did not fit and it was also mis-aligned.

Upon complaining we were told this was an executive double and they were unwilling to move us until they were told to refund the money and we would find another hotel. We were then given a much larger room but again only the shower really worked correctly, with lights missing in the bathroom and taps that were loose on the sinks.

Room service wasn't the greatest with us having to ask on both occasions for towels and the pillow cases not changed even though they were obviously dirty.
Other friends staying in the same hotel also reported similar issues with their rooms.

We will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Best way to get a good room is to choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#68 of 116 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.3 mi away
Mitre Hotel
Mitre Hotel
#88 of 116 in Manchester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.4 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Sachas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Sachas Hotel

Property: Britannia Sachas Hotel
Address: 12 Tib Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M4 1SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Sachas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the bustling Manchester city centre stands the vibrant and elegant Britannia Sachas Hotel; its fabulous city centre location makes it a superb base whether you are on a business trip or just visiting for pleasure whilst exploring Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Sachas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Sachas Manchester
Hotel Britannia Sachas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing