We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hilarious” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britannia Sachas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Britannia Sachas Hotel
Ranked #97 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Hilarious”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

A few of our friends have used this hotel in the past; we used to live in Manchester and occasionally come for nights out. The location can't be beaten; it's smack in the centre of town, but it's the only good thing anyone could possible say about the place. It's a bit of a running joke amongst our friends, but for normal travellers expecting some kind of quality I would definitely advise them to stay away.

The whole place is in desperate need of gutting and refurbishing; it's hopelessly dated, and stinks of cigarette smoke and toilet bleach. The lifts are creaky and terrifying! We stayed in a twin room; the sheets were clean and the beds were comfortable, which made a change from the last time some of us stayed. The carpets and walls are grubby and the bathroom was rusty, mildewed and generally awful. Extractor was broken so very muggy in there; toilet flush faulty.

The thermostat in the room barely worked so we were absolutely boiling all night; there was a window, but too high up to reach and covered with an old, frayed rug stapled into the wall. Two friends who came round to get ready with us had allergic reactions because of the abundance of dust. Drinks in the bar downstairs are incredibly cheap if you can stand sitting in the depressing place for more than 5 minutes. Have never eaten any of the food there but honestly I wouldn't dare.

For the quality of the stay and cheap price of the room, it was a bit rich that housekeeping were already banging on our door twenty minutes before check out time - frankly the management should pay the guests to stay there.

For somewhere to simply sleep and then get straight out of there the next day it's just about bearable, especially if all the other budget hotels (Travelodge, Premier Inn) are sold out, as they often are - otherwise, avoid like the plague!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AET_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    213
    368
    383
    1,101
See reviews for
210
724
130
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

The room was terrible lots of moths around and room dirty and bathroom was discussing no one should go into a room that has so much wrong with it no one should stay here the roof in bedroom has dirt all over the room

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiggerss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

This hotel is disgusting!!! Rooms were horrid, dirty smelly!!! The first room we went in was not even cleaned, bed wasn't made, was no clean towels!! The room had not been cleaned since the previous guests (this was 4pm, 2 hours after we could have checked in)... We then went to the second room where again it was smelly, dirty (although this had been cleaned)... Finally got upgraded to a third bigger room which was just as bad... There were screws sticking out of the head board of the bed, carpet was disgusting, chewed sweets under the sofa!! Overall we will NOT be visiting again, this hotel is no where near worth the cost!! £102 per night is ridiculous for something of this state!! Definitely do not recommend this hotel to anyone!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabby22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

This hotel is vile!! Dirty, dark, smells of smoke, smells of urine. We went into the first room and it can only be described as a hole! It wasn't big enough to swing a cat, it was dark with no windows, stunk of smoke (even though it was supposed to be not smoking) boiling hot and when we tried to turn the heating down, the thermostat was broke. The bathroom again was filthy, hairs every where. We complained and got given another room, which was light and airy (windows wide open to try and disguise the smell of smoke) in which the view was moldy water with bottles in the window cills. Again this room was to the same dirty standard and the bathroom smelt of urine!! We could not stay here, when we told reception they asked us if we would like another room, yes please just not in this hotel!! Since leaving WITHOUT staying we have been offered a 10% discount on a room we didn't stay in and a discounted room on our next visit (which there will never ever be) WORST HOTEL I HAVE EVER SEEN.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ellie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed st sachas while attending a wedding in Manchester this is the 4th time we have stayed here and its St ill a great place to stay if you visit Manchester .rooms are large spotless the beds were made and tow changed.all the staff were great and very helpful .you can get a pint for 1.85 and see the guy in charge of the restraunt very fr guy .if you're visiting Manchester give it a try you won't be disappointed

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jimmythejudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

my friend and I have just returned from visiting Manchester and stayed at sachas
well what can I say, it was disgusting filthy needed a good cleaning the only thing that I wasn't upset about were the sheets as they were the cleanest things in the hotel. please take your beautiful photos of your hotel off the internet and update them to the truth which is, everything is sad and very very very worn out, the mattress protecter didn't fit the bed, the tv was old and at one time someone has obviously put something very hot on it, the tv table was chipped, the bathroom omg have I enough room to put down everthing that was the matter and this was supposed to be an executive suite,the shower curtain didn't fit too small and the shower pole fell off the wall it was put up with 1 screw in the wall at one end and a suction on the other end and pushed onto the wall, there was holes all over the walls, the towels were clean but not big enough to even wrap around yourself, don't know when the windows were last cleaned? 2 pieces of the double glasing missing so could hear people singing at 5am in the morning next door to room 306 had tv on and were shouting and talking,never never stay again don't think it looks like its pics cos it doesn't look anything like that, no stretch of the imagination could even come close to them pics that's on the net about sachas, staff surly the worst hotel I have ever been in. beds hard I could go on forever needs a paint job. stayed at sachas a few years ago but it has gone down hill since then, glad someone told me not to eat or drink there by a few locals so didn't, only good thing is it/s close to bars and shops, but would rather pay 40pnds a night more and walk a mile than stay there again time it was closed to the public please please please close it and overhaul completely

Room Tip: all rooms are terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Got a great deal on booking.com for 1 night. Initially had a room with a roof window but was very hot and air con wasn't working. Got moved to a bigger room with window and working air con, no problem. Staff were lovely.
Hotel is a bit old and dated but that said it was sort of charming. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helg28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#67 of 115 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.3 mi away
Mitre Hotel
Mitre Hotel
#88 of 115 in Manchester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Sachas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Sachas Hotel

Property: Britannia Sachas Hotel
Address: 12 Tib Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M4 1SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Sachas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the bustling Manchester city centre stands the vibrant and elegant Britannia Sachas Hotel; its fabulous city centre location makes it a superb base whether you are on a business trip or just visiting for pleasure whilst exploring Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Britannia Sachas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Sachas Manchester
Hotel Britannia Sachas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing