We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs knocking down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia Sachas Hotel
Ranked #100 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Whole building un kept , dont let the entry hall or pics deceive you .
1970 's style requires major referb !!! . Most peolple complaing ;; like the star wars bar down stairs ,;; |£.1. 85 p a pint drags all locals in to get drunk before going home from work .All non speaking english staff who need alot of training , pool and gym dirty and un kept . all coridors smell of damp . My room basic , quite clean , spacious .
Breakfast not bad , basic evening meals if you like Mcdonalds chips .
I think good to put your head down if you were drunk and couldnt see anything . always book on line for a deal , they struggle to fill it ...
Many holes in walls , turn air con off , u will catch something , really needs closing ..

Room Tip: dont go plenty of deals around manchester centre
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sr12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,219)
There are newer reviews for Britannia Sachas Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

848 - 854 of 2,219 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here with my daughter as a treat for her to kick start the summer holidays. Room we were first given had no windows?! No air con, had one working light, tobacco smell and stained and a noisy fan that had been blocked with tissue to deafen the noise. TV from the ark with a dodgy picture. No way I was staying in that room and to be fair receptionist moved us immediately to a room with a window...wow. Bathroom was disgusting with mould spores everywhere so much so I couldn't bring myself to use the shower. Long and short of it...do not stay here it was truly disgusting.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Starcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My partner and I stayed there for 2 nights during our recent trip to Manchester and would advise everyone who's on a holiday to avoid Sachas like you would avoid a plague. The check-in / check-out experience was fine but the room was an absolute disappointment for the price we paid (£65/night). We were given a "loft-type" room on the 5th floor with non-accessible windows, located just below the ceiling. When we opened the curtains, we were horrified by the state of the window frames which were all rusty and the surrounding wall paper had clear signs of mold damage. This indicated a serious problem of roof leakage and we're certain that the room wouldn't have passed a health and safety inspection had one been performed on the spot. Given the severity of the problem, we're perplexed by the management's inaction to address the issue.

The room was stuffy and uncomfortable due to the absence of air-conditioning and switching on the air ventilation only produced a loud buzzing noise without any form of air circulation. Subsequently, we rented a mini fan from the reception for £10 (refundable) and it did alleviate the discomfort a little. In general, the toilet was clean but the water pressure of the shower was again a complete letdown. As a consolation, the free wifi, along with the old TV set, did work for us. Another serious problem that we came across during our stay was the "overeager" housekeeping team. Check out time for the hotel was listed as 11 AM but a cleaning lady knocked on our door at 9:50 AM while we were still in bed! Without waiting for an answer, she opened the door to come straight in. As the door was missing a security latch, I pretty jumped out of the bed to stop her from entering the room. She was non-apologetic and went off without explaining herself when I asked her about the check out time.

All in all, we would strongly advise anyone who's visiting Manchester on a holiday to avoid this hotel. It's poorly managed and hidden charges aren't always clearly stated upfront. For example, guests are required to pay £4/person to use the in-house health facilities (gym and sauna). Had we known Travelodge was just around the corner, we would have stayed there instead. We definitely won't be going back to Sachas anytime soon.

Room Tip: If you want a room with proper windows, you can pay an extra £10 to secure one.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank HarryAspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Booked via booking.com and despite negative views this hotel served its purpose for me and i will use it again.
Room was clean , didnt have a window but i knew this before i arrived.
The bar was good. the only slight whinge was the amount of time it took to get served with only one person at reception whilst others were messing around with tvs and fans in the backroom while they could have been serving guests and checking people in.
Other than that everything was fine

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with a window
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel does need a handy man as all hotels do !! But it is what is is and isnt trying to be anything else the room I stayed in was a little date but over all it was comfortable and quiet. Some rooms are great but u would have to ask to see the rooms before comitting to the preffered choice, worth an ask.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LIAMWILLIAMSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in, and we had an executive room. Rooms were filthy. Chairs ripped no make that shredded and stained. Windows held in with duct tape, 4 TV channels on old style TV with broken remote. Stains on everything, every room. Even the phone was filthy. The hall way carpeting leading to room was full of stains, two different colors of duct tape and a red mat covering who knows what. One reviewer worded it perfectly, wouldn't want a homeless person to stay at this hotel/dump.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noreen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on 5th July 2014 for one night booked two rooms for 5 girls age 24 for a birthday night out.
When we arrived we was checked in very quickly and given two room keys per room and rooms next door to each other but when we went into one room it was full of people clothes so we went down to reception where they apologised and put us in a different room!

Rooms are clean enough with comfy beds, coffee and tea making facilities, toiletries and towels, iron and ironing board provided! Only problem we had with our room is the lighting is very dull as they only have lamps and no ceiling lamps!

Check out at 11.

We didn't use the hotel bar and restaurant so cannot comment on them but if your just looking for somewhere to get your head down this is the perfect place! Will deffinately use this hotel again!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Wiganhunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Mitre Hotel
Mitre Hotel
#95 of 120 in Manchester
914 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#72 of 120 in Manchester
1,153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.4 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
easyHotel Manchester
easyHotel Manchester
#74 of 120 in Manchester
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Sachas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Sachas Hotel

Address: 12 Tib Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M4 1SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: £37 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Sachas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the bustling Manchester city centre stands the vibrant and elegant Britannia Sachas Hotel; its fabulous city centre location makes it a superb base whether you are on a business trip or just visiting for pleasure whilst exploring Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Britannia Sachas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Sachas Manchester
Hotel Britannia Sachas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing