We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am a Human get me outta here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia Sachas Hotel
Ranked #97 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“I am a Human get me outta here!”
Reviewed 21 February 2011

After passing all the XXX shops in the taxi we stopped outside the sachas, service desk had messed up booking, they demanded full payment up front, when entering the room a dirty damp stench almost made me pass out, no decent lighting, graffitti on the wall, bath tap was leaking heavily, side panel was hanging off of bath, carpet was so worn you could see the floor boards, phone didn't work, stains on chair, bed were made awful with matresses all different sizes, wallpaper was held to the wall with mold and damp, tv set from the 80's. when complaining the duty manager show another room which had blood all over the carpet, when we said we normally stay in nice hotels manager replied " Why you Book Here Then". Staff bearly spoke english, and three different people said they were the duty manger, in order to get the Ghost image of the credit card cancelled we had to hand a £1 coin over for them to hand it right back.!

DO NOT STAY HERE, Major health and safety risks if you do!!! I am writing a letter to Manchester City Council Now!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLV80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM705, General Manager at Britannia Sachas Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2011
Dear DLV80

I am astonished by your comments, we are rated each year by Visit Britain who are a professional independent body and they have never hesitated to award the hotel with 3 stars.

There are many different ways to access the hotel and your comments about the XXX shops implies we are situated in a sleazy part of town which is not correct, we are situated right in the city centre just off Piccadilly Gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    218
    380
    392
    1,142
See reviews for
218
758
133
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

The 'best' this hotel had to offer: Not charging a cancellation fee on the remaining nights after a first night in what's hopefully the worst hotelroom I'll ever visit. We shared a damp and foul room with no windows; only some weird hole in the ceiling which was sporting a shabby curtain.

While it was -5 degrees outside the room had a very comfortable 35 degrees plus temperature. Luckily the room did feature air-conditioning, but it mysteriously managed to pump in even hotter air. (I wouldn't be surprised if its actually exit of the kitchens extraction hood). To top it all of the room featured something which would even be considered an unacceptable shower in a 1-star hotel in India.

On a positive note: the breakfast was decent, but make sure you head towards the hotel restaurant well in time since the elevator will delay you by approximately 45 minutes.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RutgerT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM705, General Manager at Britannia Sachas Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2011
Dear RutgerT

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, it’s important I receive invaluable guest feedback like yours so I can review and improve standards or service with in the hotel.

The room you booked was indeed an economy room and as stated on all the websites we use this type of room has no windows therefore the price reflects this.

The lifts do get busy, as in any city centre hotel that is full but I think 45 minutes is a slight exaggeration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Hotel room was clean enough. Room was a good size double bed looked a good size but as what is hapening in so many hotels now it was two single beds joined together so wasnt to comfortable.Bedroom furnature although old fashioned was clean and usable, it made a change to have a decent built in wardrobe with full length sliding mirror doors to put clothes in.Good size gym and pool.Food was ok but laking in choice it seamed to be the same basic choice each night, only soup as starter, three different main courses which were repeated several times over the week and a couple of choice of gatauxe cheese cake or what looked like tinned fruit and cream, i dont think the limited menue was anything to do with being part of a coach holiday as it was a carvery/buffet type restraunt.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotsguy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM705, General Manager at Britannia Sachas Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2011
Dear Scotsguy,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I take your point with regards to Coach dinners and the food we provide are popular choices which have been voiced by other coaching guests, I will however address your comments with my Head Chef.

Regards
Rob Wilcox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2011

First room was double executive, hairdryer hardwired into wall which was then accessible through dressing table drawer, dressing table in front of window, mirror 2 foot to left hand side, hairdryer would not reach the mirror. Offered change of room to double superior, mirror above dressing table, however lamp on dressing table not working and bulb in bathroom not working, reported to reception, on return to room dressing table lamp had new bulb, however bathroom light still not working, i then phoned reception who advised me someone from maintenance would be up to sort it out, this didn't happen, so light in bathroom not sorted out. Walls and carpets not clean.
Restaurant staff unfriendly, tables not cleared or reset, no plates for food or dishes for cereal, butter in open dish uncovered not in individual packs, the same goes for the jams and marmalades there were just dollops of each in bowls uncovered not offered in individual packs as we have normally come across on many other short breaks we have taken. I would never stay in this chain of hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gowland78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM705, General Manager at Britannia Sachas Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2011
Dear Gowland78,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.
I have personally investigated your comments and I see your point with regards to the hairdryer cord not being long enough to reach the mirror in this one particular room, I have spoken to my Maintenance team and this will be rectified ASAP.
I have arranged for the carpet to be shampooed as there is a small stain on it but I could not see where the walls were dirty!
Our restaurant, as do the majority of hotel restaurants, can get very busy at peak times, we ask that our guests are patient whilst the restaurant team clear, relay and restock the buffets, I will speak to the Restaurant Supervisor re your comments about his staff friendliness.

Regards
Rob Wilcox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Once again I set off on a break / holiday full of trepidation having read reviews on Trip Advisor. Once again I get to my destination delighted with the accommodation. Who am I ? - a retired hospital consultant who during his working life traveled worldwide staying at (mostly) luxury hotels attending conferences with wide experience.
I have to ask myself who are the people who write such hyper-critical reviews? Talk of fleas and bed bugs - absolute nonsense! If you pay 5* prices expect 5* service and food. If you pay these prices then lower your standards.
This hotel is situated in the very centre of one of Europe's most vibrant cities. The accommodation is clean, the rooms are similar to any 3* hotel anywhere in the world. It is not luxury but it is perfectly adequate.
The food is buffet-style. Once again, you get what you pay for. There was more than enough in terms of choice and volume and I was more than happy - at these prices I wasn't expecting 5* dining. There are clearly some fools out there who want to pay pennies for 5* service / dining and LOVE to moan.
Would I go back? You bet I would!!
I noticed that international airlines used this hotel for their staff for overnight stays - I doubt that this contract would remain in place if the nonsense written by some of the critics on Trip Advisor were true.
Go, Enjoy your stay, Ignore these people.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boro_Traveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM705, General Manager at Britannia Sachas Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2011
Dear Boro_Traveller50

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and also for your great comments.

Regards
Rob Wilcox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

enjoyed a great weekend at sachas, helpful staff, clean rooms, great location. no complaints whatsoever, do not take any notice of negative reviews.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nobbyessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM705, General Manager at Britannia Sachas Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2011
Dear Nobbyessex,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and for your great comments.

Regards
Rob Wilcox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Found the hotel perfect, after reading reviews of it been a nightmare i'm wondering if people stayed in the same place! got for £43 which was a bargain, right in the centre. Had a window which most people stated they never, helpful staff fast check in/ check out! would def recomend! will be booking again for next month!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penrithdiner1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM705, General Manager at Britannia Sachas Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2011
Dear Kimstas1987,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and for your great comments, look forward to welcoming you back next month.

Regards
Rob Wilcox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#69 of 118 in Manchester
1,122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mitre Hotel
Mitre Hotel
#90 of 118 in Manchester
893 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
easyHotel Manchester
easyHotel Manchester
#82 of 118 in Manchester
74 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Sachas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Sachas Hotel

Property: Britannia Sachas Hotel
Address: 12 Tib Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M4 1SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Sachas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the bustling Manchester city centre stands the vibrant and elegant Britannia Sachas Hotel; its fabulous city centre location makes it a superb base whether you are on a business trip or just visiting for pleasure whilst exploring Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Sachas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Sachas Manchester
Hotel Britannia Sachas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing