We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel - Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Sachas Hotel
Ranked #101 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 7 March 2011

After ready the horrid reviews on here i was extremely worried about arriving at this hotel. We were only staying the one night but was dreading it. On arrival the outside did appear dingy but upon entering the reception i was pleasantly suprised. The gentleman on reception was very nice and helpful and our room was very spacious, clean and tidy. Fresh clean sheets, bathroom was extremely clean with a jacuzzi bath, TV, tea and coffee, trouser press, hair dryer. The bar in the hotel had good drinks offers on and the breakfast the next morning was fab. Lots to choose from and as it was a buffet you could go back as many times as you liked. We could find no fault with this hotel at all, all the staff we dealt with were very friendly and helpful, good drinks prices, clean room, clean sheets - what more can you ask for?? Defo worth a re-visit.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MandyF0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM705, General Manager at Britannia Sachas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2011

Dear MandyF0,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, it’s important I receive invaluable guest feedback like yours so I can review and improve standards or service with in the hotel.

It is refreshing as a hotelier to see that guests that are happy do leave positive feedback as this helps to motivate my team and improve standards.

Thanks once again

Rob Wilcox
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,854 - 1,860 of 2,287 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2011

You really must ignore the negative comments this hotel is getting.
It's three star not five!
The hotel may be a little dated but gosh it's a beautiful old building. You get what you pay for and I think I got more. The staff are amazing! Oh and the duty manager I think called Carl would move the earth for you if he could.
Alls I can say Is check in now it's lovely. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wessam01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM705, General Manager at Britannia Sachas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2011

Dear Wessam01

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, it’s important I receive invaluable guest feedback like yours so I can review and improve standards or service with in the hotel.

It is refreshing as a hotelier to see that guests that are happy do leave positive feedback as this helps to motivate my team and improve standards.

Thanks once again

Rob Wilcox
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

I visited the Sacha hotel in Manchester a couple of weeks back and it was ABSOLUTELY AWFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!
After hours of travelling to Manchester, all we were looking forward to was a bed to sleep in. We checked in at reception, where they demanded the full price on arrival ( no wonder, as most people would not pay after seeing the rooms!!!) , may i add, all staff spoke extremely bad english so very hard to communicate when they had got our room bookings wrong!
Anyway, we walked to the lift and headed for our rooms. As soon as the lift doors open there was a VILE SMELL, a combination of smoke and damp!! When walking to our rooms, the carpet was torn and threadbare, like people had been dragged down the corridor!!
HAD WE JUST STEPPED INTO A SCENE FROM A HORROR FILM!!!
We got to our room and walked in, the smell even worse...dark, dingy lighting, cracked and broken bath, a tv that wasat least 30years old!!, the bed sheets all puckered...brown and an offwhite...yuck yuck yuck!!!
We left this hotel immedietaly and found another hotel, staff didnt care about us, didnt even stay half an hour..

TWO WORDS!!!........STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dancer_20111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM705, General Manager at Britannia Sachas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2011

Dear Dancer_20111

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, it’s important I receive invaluable guest feedback like yours so I can review and improve standards or service with in the hotel.

Manchester is an International destination and as with all city centre hotels my team comprise of many varied nationalities all of who do have a good command and understanding of the English language.

If guests do not secure their bookings with credit or debit cards then we do take payments up front, this is good business practise and is implemented in all sectors of business.

The patch of carpet has been temporarily repaired until a new carpet is purchased to replace.

I would not let a bedroom with a “cracked and broken bath” that just wouldn’t make sense.

Our cheaper economy rooms do not have windows as these are internal rooms and the price of these rooms reflect this, also on all the websites and agents we use we advertise this room type as an internal with no windows so guests know what they are booking.

The bedding is white and the valance on the base is a sandy colour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Good points:
Location
Staff fantastic sure they could get job somewhere more worthy of their skills
Very clean
If like my work paid £40 a night there's worse

Bad:
Whole place needs overhaul
Bathrooms falling apart (staff do an amazing job to make them feel useable)
Breakfast inedible
Took whole night with blow air heater system on to get room warm
Windows let in tons of cold air
Bulbs gone
Doors in lobby painted two different colours
Brass centres of taps in main bathroom gone
Terribly dated
Hole in top bed sheet

If it gad been full price I'd have been outraged (I've backpacked for a year in Asia so trust me I'm not uber picky by any means) as a fellow guest stated at the reception 'I've been in 3rooms and I would never stay again if you paid me'

To all the great staff get a job in a hotel where the environment matches up to your personal skills so instead of complaints you can get the recognition you deserve.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellervg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM705, General Manager at Britannia Sachas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2011

Dear Travellervg

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, it’s important I receive invaluable guest feedback like yours so I can review and improve standards or service with in the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

If you are going with friends or family for a night out to Manchester this hotel is fine as long as you don't pay a lot. We paid £48 for a twin room. It was internal and when we arrived the heat was unbearable it was so hot we slept on top of the covers in February!! The room was cosy though and well furnished. The bath had poly filler in it but the shower was good and very hot. Everything was hot. The swimming pool was lovely and warm too! The swim is steep at £2.50 for a little pool and no changing rooms.
The reception is lovely and they were very helpful. Breakfast £5. Location great for The Printworks and it looks lovely lit up. Overall fine if your drunk and don't need a view.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gooddog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM705, General Manager at Britannia Sachas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2011

Dear Gooddog1

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, it’s important I receive invaluable guest feedback like yours so I can review and improve standards or service with in the hotel.

I would just like to make one comment and that is there are changing facilities in the gym / swimming pool area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

From the moment the taxi pulled up outside, i knew this would be a bad experience.... I just never expected my self to be on the scene of a horror movie, Staff demanded full payment upfront, when arriving in the rooms we were hit with a damp, musky smell! The wallpaper was coming off the wall due to the amount of damp! All the beds were different sizes, with sheets just thrown onto the beds, graffitti on the walls, TV set from the 80's, phone didnt work, tap wouldnt turn off in bathroom, So Much mold in bathroom thought i was in a swamp! when going to complain, Spoke to duty manager who said he would show us another room, BLOOD everywhere!!! AWFUL!! Another room had a scraggy piece of fabric hanging from a hole in the ceiling, Most of the lights in our room didn't work. Hallway carpet was so worn the floor boards were showing through! Staff had no idea of customer service and Could not operate the PDQ maching to issue refunds! Duty manager had given his name badge to other members of staff to deal with us thinking we would not notice it was three different people we were talking too!
AVOID HOTEL!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLV1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM705, General Manager at Britannia Sachas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2011

Please see response below, guest part of the same group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

This hotel (If I dare to call it this) is truly the worst hotel I have ever come across. I booked it for a group of dancing students and their families as we were attending a dance event. We had booked executive rooms as we wnated to ensure some comfort for the students (Well we had initially booked a suite too ,but the hotel reservation team managed to mess up the bookings!!! Maybe this was an indication of what to expect)

When the lift eventually arrived, out came a member of staff pushing a trolley full of old rotting rubbish which was absolutely stinking, alot of which had managed to spill all over the floor of the lift. Apparently the service lift was out of action. He must have been in the guest lift for some time as it did take forever to reach the various floors. However the best was yet to come, as we stepped out onto the corrider we were greeted with the awful stench of damp,the carpet was threadbare and there was actually writing on the wall. Then joy of joys we entered our "Executive Rooms". The single beds were all different sizes, the beds had not been made correctly, there were ripped lampshades, no bulbs in the wall lights or the bathroom, blood on the carpets, walls were damp and due to this the wallpaper was peeling off. The smell of damp was over bearing. The bathrooms were filthy. I visited each of my students rooms and they were all the same. Absolutely disgusting! I decided to call down to reception but surprise, surprise the phone in the room was out of order. This meant another journey (Or should I say vacation) in the slow moving stinking lift!
When I reached reception I asked to speak with The Duty Manager. I complained about all of the above and his reply and i quote "What do you expect from a 3 star hotel" I asked if I could see a standard room so I could see exactly what it was that made our rooms executive, Surprisingly there were none to view(My heart goes out to the poor individuals staying in them) I then asked the manager if he would have been pleased and satisfied if he had paid for an executive room and been offered what we had, it was also pointed out to him that the damp was in fact a health hazard. This time his response was and again I quote "Give them their money back" How Rude and what dreadful customer service. I decided I would look for somewhere else however it was after 10.00pm and I did have to find somewher for all my students. I was told no internet after 10.00pm and if I wanted to use a phone there was a payphone I could use. Then the man on reception said he had some better rooms to show me, another trip in the slowest lift in the world, were they better?? No even more blood on the carpets and an attic room. Both with dirty bathrooms, badly made beds and no bulbs. I told the receptionist I was very upset as I had wanted a decent hotel for my students. the response this time Quote "Well what did you book this one for then" Unbelievable!! Luckily we did not have to use the 'Payphone' as we have mobiles, and even luckier we were able to get into The Premier Inn which was complete heaven after out hellish nightmare. Unfortunately it was Midnight before we were settled somewhere else! I belong to a very large dance organisation and when I got to the dance venue and spoke with my colleagues so many of them said "The Sascha Hotel, never stay there" They have had similar experiences! My students took photographs and when I meet with them I am going to post all of the photots to back my review up. This has been a very long review but I feel so strongly about it. I stay in hotels at least once a month and this really is the very, very, very worst hotel ever, ever,ever. DO NOT STAY HERE WITHOUT A GAS MASK, TORCH AND FUMIGATION SUIT!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dancerSurreyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM705, General Manager at Britannia Sachas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2011

Dear Dancersurreyengland

Some of the detail you have provided is incorrect and not even relevant to Sachas Hotel which makes me wonder if you have left feedback for the right hotel at all.

We do not have attic bedrooms. None of my bedrooms have wall lights they are all free standing or table lamps. All my single beds are the same size 3 foot by 6 foot. Internet is wifi so it’s available 24/7. The telephones are all direct dial so again available 24/7. We have two guest lifts although not high story express lifts they do both work adequately and are by no means slow as you described.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Mitre Hotel
Mitre Hotel
#94 of 121 in Manchester
996 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#72 of 121 in Manchester
1,212 reviews
4.6 mi away
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.2 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
0.2 mi away
easyHotel Manchester
easyHotel Manchester
#66 of 121 in Manchester
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Sachas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Sachas Hotel

Address: 12 Tib Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M4 1SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: £33 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Sachas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the bustling Manchester city centre stands the vibrant and elegant Britannia Sachas Hotel; its fabulous city centre location makes it a superb base whether you are on a business trip or just visiting for pleasure whilst exploring Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Easy Market Spa, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Britannia Sachas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Sachas Manchester
Hotel Britannia Sachas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing