We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Revisit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Ranked #90 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Revisit”
Reviewed 2 October 2011

The day we arrived their computer system was down. They were having to do all checkins manually. Felt sorry for the reception staff.
Some guests which was to include us ,were returning to the desk saying there was people already in the room. We went to our room and there was somebodies luggage in the room.
Reception gave us another room which was one of their best rooms, so no complaints about that. I am sure this was a one off incident.
The breakfast was as good as last time. *****
But the hotel is looking a bit ruff around the edges, its needs a make over.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuclearfusion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    782
    939
    737
    1,201
See reviews for
384
1,388
329
711
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,038)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Booked a single room for one night stay the hotel looks very good on the web page but what a disappointment. In real life the single room was a cupboard with no windows on the sixth floor, should say the attic, lift upto the fifth floor and very slow. could wait 10 minutes for one to come. Because of my room I would rate this hotel as zero star not very clean.
I normally stay at a hotel advertise by a comedian, I wish I stayed there.

Room Tip: Do not have the sixth floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank Joblog10100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

The tiny double room we were given had no windows and was a smoking room, it was like sleeping in an ash tray. Very dirty room, stains on the carpet and bedding. We hardly slept as it was hotter than the surface of the sun and all the "AC" did was vibrate the entire room with deafening effect but produce no cool air!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a window and a non-smoking room if you don't smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLDN_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Terrible service, filthy room, couldnt see through the window it was so dirty, it was a very hot night and the window only opened two inches, requested a fan at 7:30pm was told there wasn't one. Requested again at 12:30am and waited over an hour for it to be brought to the room. Sleep was out of the question due to the noise. The room was filthy, the bed was horrible and the bathroom was no better. Staff were not very accomodating either, i couldnt wait to get home to shower i felt so dirty, tired and irritable by the morning.
I would not reccomend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vonzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Had my daughters Wedding reception at this hotel last Saturday. Fantastic value for money, food served quickly and lovely and hot. evening buffett outstanding. Would recomend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie4n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I stayed here one Saturday night, only £55 for dinner, bed & breakfast. Dinner was a "carvery", actually just a help-yourself buffet. Basic but not too bad. The single room was on the 6th floor - the lifts only go to the 5th and this was up a staircase. Small attic room, tiny window but clean and the shower was fine. Overall, you get what you pay for. Cheap but just about ok.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenromford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I booked a double executive room for two nights at the weekend cost £160 bed and breakfast including free cancellation if necessary. I arrived on the dot (pretty much) of 2pm for check-in, and was given a stunning luxurious Victorian-style room on the 3rd floor at the quiet rear of the hotel with a four poster bed. I hadn't expected this at all! My room was large and split level, with a raised area at the back which contained two armchairs, the TV and a huge Victorian desk. One of the most beautiful hotel rooms I have ever stayed in, and it felt very decadent having it all to myself!

The bathroom was also large, containing WC, bidet and a fantastic (if noisy) spa bath with a very powerful shower. Gold taps. I slept like a log both nights as the bed was so comfortable, and no noise much at all. The view out of my huge window was disappointing perhaps, as it looked straight into the office built behind the hotel, and on Friday I could see all the office workers at their computers. On Saturday and Sunday of course, no one was there.

The hotel itself is an impressive vast Victorian structure on the busy Portland Road. The reception area is beautiful with a wonderful chandelier, and the wrought iron staircase goes right through to the top of the building and is very beautiful indeed. It was a pleasure to walk down the stairs, in fact, to the lobby and then to breakfast in the basement area.

Breakfast itself, I have to admit, was less than perfect. The buffet area is quite small for so vast a hotel and everyone was cramped up selecting their food, with nowhere to put your tray except on the precarious edge of the food counter. The food was acceptable - English breakfast with tinned tomatoes and, regrettably, stale croissants.

On my night out I ate at an excellent restaurant over a bridge on "gay" canal street, about 5 mins from the hotel. Its a beautiful area in the evening, with lights in the trees looking a bit like Christmas! and very lively and interesting people to look at! On my second night, feeling lazy, I ate in the pizza joint in the hotel basement, which cost considerably more and I found my pizza pretty inedible - stodgy in the extreme and greasy tasting. The garlic bread and desert were better.

If I went again, I would probably leave breakfast and always eat out, as there are plenty of places a stones throw from the hotel which offer better and cheaper food.

Nowhere was very far from the hotel. The gay village is just behind the hotel with all its lively bars, clubs, restaurants and cafes. The terrific Manchester Art Gallery is about 5-10 mins walk, and about the same to Piccadilly Gardens. Market Street which has all the main shops, including the vast Arndale shopping precinct, is about 15 mins away.

I would certainly stay at the Britannia again, for its beautiful building and my stunning room, and excellent location in the city centre.

Room Tip: Check in early (2pm) to ensure you get the best room. Rooms at the rear of the hotel are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#67 of 117 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,422 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Manchester Hotel

Property: Britannia Manchester Hotel
Address: 35 Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Manchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Manchester offers great value accommodation in a fantastic Manchester city centre location. The hotel is located in one of Manchester's premier architectural buildings and is grade II listed with outstanding details, such as balconied stairway throughout the building. This Manchester Hotel has two lively bars, where you can dance the night away or have a quiet drink. Jenny's restaurant serves a varied selection of Britain's favourite dishes, whilst the Overstuffed Pizzeria offers freshly cooked pizzas and pastas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Manchester
Manchester Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing