We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$134
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$122
US$112
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$184
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$92
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$94
Trip.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$76
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$127
US$115
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Manchester Upper Brook Street(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$55
Travelodge
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,338)
Filter reviews
4,338 results
Traveller rating
292
828
1,032
818
1,368
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
292
828
1,032
818
1,368
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,412 - 3,417 of 4,338 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I should start by saying that this hotel cost us very little in a last minute deal....we had two rooms booked, one for myself and my partner and the other for our son and his girlfriend.
The lobby and staircase are beautiful, if in need of a bit of a spruce up. The staff were competent, friendly and helpful.
The notable issue, which to be fair we were somewhat aware of when booking, was that the economy room had not windows, at all, not even really dirty ones. We had been told this on the booking website. But, a key bit of information not shared was that the occupants of said room would have no control, whatsoever, over its temperature and absolutely no incoming air. My son and his girlf actually had to prop their door open just to try and cool the room down - it was roasting hot (and this was a cold drizzly couple of days in April).
Our room, us having spent a few quid more and 'upgraded' to a executive room, was absolutely fine. Huge window, which could be opened a few inches. Far more room than the economy. TV reception was a little iffy. The room itself - carpet, sheets, chairs etc etc were all very clean, if shabby. The window was utterly filthy, inside and out. And the selection of pictures on the walls was bizarre and baffling.
BUT, the rooms averaged out at only about £35 per night, which is dirt cheap. If they had been anymore than this I would be a little hacked off. Also, be warned about the economy rooms, splash out the extra few quid and upgrade .]
Overall, the entrance was shabby and chic. The executive room was functional and clean although the artwork and window needed attention. The economy room was a bit of a cell-like hellhole. The location was excellent for exploring Mcr - travel interchange up the road, tourist info across the street, chinatown right on the doorstep, Canal St round the corner etc.
We ate at the Red Chilli, which was great. We also went to Mr Thomas' Chop House for food, which was excellent. Things we did: Manchester Art Gallery, The People's Musuem, The Royal Exchange Theatre, Afflecks Palace, Museum of Science and Industry, Town Hall, Imperial War Museum and The Lowry.

Room Tip: Don't go for the economy room unless you really can't afford anything else!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntandVick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Britannia is conveniently located for Manchester Picadilly Station. It is in a large and imposing building.
My room was adequate and reasonably clean. It was not ready on time and I had to wait in the massive but rather unfriendly reception area.
The breakfast was just adequate.

Room Tip: OK for a night on business.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

stayed here wednesday the 18 th april first impressions was good on the ground floor, got to the room on the fourth floor and it was an eye opener blood stains on the wall before we even entered the room then on entry to the room there was even more blood stains up the walls. The soup was terrible, but the staff seemed ok. i would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ny44Hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

This hotel looks like it once was something special, but now its just terrible. Its not just dated, its like it was stuck in time and not been updated in 100 years. The staff are rude, the rooms are filthy, and that's not due to the maids, its due to ground in dirt and filth over years and years. The first room we were offered was like a cell, with a window that was 8 feet off the ground, it was dark and dirty. The management of this hotel do not care at all, I used to work for the same company, they are not hoteliers they are money men, they are not interested in service, just in getting your money and offering the most basic hostel style rooms. I would not recommend staying here unless you like drab dirty rooms

Room Tip: do not stay here
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

A couple of weeks ago, my partner and I decided to have a night in Manchester. It was all of a rush job, so I booked the Britannia without checking the reviews here first. That was a mistake.

The Good...
• The ground floor is impressive, with a rather OOT (if a bit scruffy) chandelier and a grand staircase.
• It’s in a great location.
• For LGBT visitors, it’s very near the gay village.
• That’s it for the good bits.

The Bad...
• The toilet was so close to the bath, it made it very awkward to use.
• The windows were completely filthy, to the point where you could barely see through them.
• The TV was broken.
• There was no overhead light in the room, just two lamps, one of which was broken.
• The wardrobe doors were broken.
• The carpet was stained.
• The wallpaper was covered in scuff marks and ripped in places.
• The room smelled.
• The bathroom was moldy.
• One of the two chairs was covered in a rather dubious looking white staining. Needless to say, we didn’t sit on it!
• The fire alarm went off in the middle of the night.
• The lift was broken.
• We had to pay a £2 ‘admin fee’ for using a debit card to pay for the room.

The Ugly...
• Pretty much everything above the ground floor!

We had paid for breakfast, but didn’t have it, assuming that if they can’t keep the rooms clean, then the kitchen wasn’t likely to be spotless. If we had been staying in Manchester for more than one night, we would have moved hotels, regardless of the cost.
Have a good trip!

Room Tip: Try a different hotel!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gazumpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews