We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad....not too good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Ranked #90 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not too bad....not too good!”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Stayed here for one night. First impressions,hotel entrance welcoming , staff helpful bar one,who didn't seem like he wanted to be there.rooms are average size,digital box with tv, glasses dirty,hole in bathroom door.hallway dull.previous occupants hairs in bed. Overall this wasn't a bad stay,but this hotel is in need of some attention.Most Britannia hotels have had huge investments,over the years and this one could do with one. Located near a motorway but that shouldn't be off putting for short stay. There are two car parks. One to side and rear.besides the hair on the matress and hole in door.stay was average.cannot complain for price we paid(£20.00). Breakfast was £5.00 per person. Scrambled egg.beans.hash brown.toast.cereal.fried toast.juice.bacon.yoghurt.mixed fruit cocktail.served between 7-10am.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mystery-shopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    782
    939
    737
    1,201
See reviews for
384
1,388
330
711
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,038)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We stayed here 27/28/29 December on one of the special offer "Twixmas" breaks and found it to be amazing value for money. Having read some of the reviews, we took their advice and upgraded to an executive room, but it was still only £25 per person per night for dinner,bed and breakfast! Yes some of the carpets and furnishings are a little bit tired and dated but it does only claim to be 3* and our room was very clean with spotless sheets and fluffy white towels so what more do you need. A TV, hairdryer and ample tea and coffee making facilities are provided too.

The breakfast buffet had everything you would expect for a full English and/or cereals, croissants and jam etc. The dinner choice was a bit limited but well cooked, or you could do what we did one night, and exchange dinner in the standard restaurant for vouchers towards a meal in the other on site restaurants - the Indian restaurant (we tried this - excellent) or the Pizzaria. Reception are happy to do this for you and we found them very polite and courteous as were the dining room staff too.

The location is absolutely spot on, slap bang in the middle of the City, with everything either in walking distance or easily reached by bus or tram (bus/tram station just over the road).

I think all the bad reviews are undeserved and I would deffinitely stay here again, although probably not at the full price. As there are special offers available through out the year I would recommend anyone to try one and see for themselves.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy-from-Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

When booking a night in the Britannia Hotel I had high hopes of a special type of service and, particularly, quality of room.

We found the room to be very, very poor indeed. There was very little space within the room and it appeared 'tired'. The television was ancient with very limited channels on offer and the walls were very dirty with even one wall sporting a rather large amount of phlegm (yes, phlegm!)

I spoke to reception who didn't seem overly shocked or concerned about what I'd found and informed me, in an almost blasé fashion, that they would ensure it would be cleaned up.

They did do what they said they would but my overriding memory will be that a hotel with such a grand exterior and expensive reservation fees had failed miserably by their nonchalant manner when I'd mentioned what I'd discovered in our room.

Also, the hotel has a cheap deal with a local car park...except that its about 5-10 minutes walk away which isn't ideal when you're carrying luggage. We ended up paying £18 for overnight parking at the nearby NCP so it may be a good idea to consider public transport if you stay here and you don't fancy the walk.

On the plus side, the location is good as it is quite central and access to bars, restaurants, shops, etc is easy.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barge78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

we booked to stay here for my husband's birthday check in polite quick...room 115 very nice for £45 @ night bits to update but not as bad as some reviews say, 3 bars 3restaurants ..excellent location would stay again if in town.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anny998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Stayed here for just one night to visit the Boxing Day sales. To be fair, got the room cheap so didn't really know what to expect. However, from the photo's, did expect somewhere that was a little bit special!
Checking in was fine, and we were offered a free upgrade to a double suite. Happy days!
The room was shabby with an electrical socket that was loose, carpet that was dirty and furniture that had seen much better days. On using the bathroom sink, it was impossible to empty the water as the mechanism was broken. As this was late at night, we waited until the following morning to report this, thus almost flooding the bathroom overnight.
Overall, on looking at the general areas of the hotel i.e. stairs, furnishings etc. and decorations, I agree with other reviewers that the hotel is in desperate need of a major upgrade. Shame really, as I can only assume that this was once quite a grand hotel with guests to match. Happy with what we paid, all things considered, but would not pay any more to repeat the experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012 via mobile

If you like the comforts of a 70's furnished hotel, then look no further. Upon arrival, there was a snake-like queue, which almost doubled back on itself. Peak time check in and only one initial receptionist to greet the massed throng of expectant guests. Once reinforcements arrived at the desk, we were Given room 228.

We arrived only two floors up from one of the slowest lifts in living memory. As soon as we stepped out, we were met by a stench of cigarette smoke...which became even worse once we entered the room. Once on the phone to reception, we were told that this was not only a smoking room, but we were indeed on a smoking floor! What year are we in again??

Anyway, we were moved to the 4th floor, where the oxygen was the only thing that had improved.

We did enjoy our evening out in the brilliant and festive markets, along with a trip into china town. It won't put me off visiting again, but I can safely say that this tired old hotel is jousting for a place along side Fawlty Towers, unless a massive investment returns it to its halcyon days befitting its exterior and prime location

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Amazed to find that having paid for 2 nights in advance, when I got back to the hotel at 9.00 pm on the second night, my key no longer opened my bedroom door. Reception advised me that my room had been given away to other guests and that I should take a seat and wait (for what?). They had no idea where l my belongings were that I had left in the room that morning. They would not give me another room for the moment, even though there were plenty and I had paid in advance! To cut a very long story short, after 40 minutes the duty manager arrived and was very curt almost offensive. It was only when I threatened to call the police some 20 minutes later that i was shown to another room, It took another 40 minutes for my belongings to arrive scrunched up in a plastic bag, with more abrasive treatment from the duty manager. The next day I spoke to the complaints and sales manager who advised me that he was 'objective'! He seemed sympathetic, but one week later, after me chasing him, he offered me a £30 hotel voucher in compensation (which I still havent received). Never again!

Room Tip: Dont bother, the duty manager was unpleasant and rude, the other staff are ineffectual
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#67 of 117 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,422 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Manchester Hotel

Property: Britannia Manchester Hotel
Address: 35 Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Manchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Manchester offers great value accommodation in a fantastic Manchester city centre location. The hotel is located in one of Manchester's premier architectural buildings and is grade II listed with outstanding details, such as balconied stairway throughout the building. This Manchester Hotel has two lively bars, where you can dance the night away or have a quiet drink. Jenny's restaurant serves a varied selection of Britain's favourite dishes, whilst the Overstuffed Pizzeria offers freshly cooked pizzas and pastas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Manchester
Manchester Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing