We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel but everything else is poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Ranked #94 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Stayed in this hotel 4 or 5 times with work when we have booked as a group and I never gets any better. If you are unlucky you get a dungeon-like room with little or no natural light, covered in stains and usually exposed to all the outside noise. If you are lucky you get a room the same as the above but with a window that you can't see out of.
Breakfast is usually everything deep fried.
Beautiful building which is fine as long as you stay in the lobby and bathe in the original Victorian-era design.
Recommended car park is now miles away across town. Parking at ncp chorlton street is much better but quite expensive.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,971 - 2,977 of 4,200 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed on New Years Eve, and paid £111 for an " executive room" because we wanted a window, ha ha ha what a joke, you could not see out of the window it was that dirty and wouldn't even open, after complaining and waiting a couple of hours, a man turned up with a knife, yes a knife! And tried forcing window open, to no avail, then another man came with a screwdriver and used even more force until the wood split and finally the window opened a full inch!!
The rooms are very shabby and old fashioned,
Bathroom grubby
Don't be expecting a nice LCD tv in your executive room
Or fridge or anything that you would expect to find in an executive room
To add insult to injury we parked at the NCP car park next door as it said on the Britannia website only to be told on checking out, that they no longer have a contract with NCP and they were aware of the error on the website but said there was nothing they were willing to do about it! So it cost us the full £18 to park. Staff and manager no help and quite indifferent to my complaints. Not the best start to our New Year

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracyw1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

On entrance, the hotel looks grand and very nice/classy. We paid £110 for 1 night for 2 of us, This didn't include breakfast or any other extras. When you actually get up to the rooms, the whole decor is extremely old fashioned..... I wouldn't mind about this, but in our room we had a chip with sauce on in the corner, sauce splashed up the walls & a piece of donor meat stuck to the wall! The carpets had stains all over & it just didn't look appealing at all. The bed was fairly comfy and there were no marks on the sheets etc. The bathroom was the clean & towels were pure white. But the rooms definitely need a proper clean & renovation. Wouldn't stay here again & wouldn't recomment the hotel at all.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacey Jade N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Loud from other "guests" and cleaning staff and music from disco. Dirty and dusty. Managed an hour or 2 of sleep. Thought I was in the 3rd world. Breakfast was slop and swill. This place should be closed down by trading standards.

Room Tip: The best room is in any other hotel except this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This is a large hotel, this is quite dated but its central location makes up for it.

Car - we parked in the mcp behind the hotel, £18.00 for 24hours!
We did ask the hotel for any cheaper alternatives and we got given a map to a car park that would only cost £8.00 (or £5.00 if you arrive after 5pm). You must get the hotel to validate the ticket. It is a 10min walk apparently (but we never used it as had been driving for 4hours and just wanted to get to the room).

Price - for an economy double £63 (no window) or we could pay £10 to ''upgrade'', ha ha. Which we did and room was ok, again the location makes up for so much.

Room - was ok, dated, but clean. Thankfully we didnt get anyone double booking our room like some of the other reviewers have had on here.

Lifts - only 2, to serve 5 floors, that have 40+ rooms per floor. They are slow and small, take the stairs.

Food - the hotel now has an indian restaurant inside. We tried it and it was nice. Around £8.00 for a curry / £2.50 rice.

Bar - The hotel has a bar/club outside main door, go left, its called 'Wave Bar'. We went in on a Sat night, and all the drinks were £2.00 each. A great people watching place.

The road the hotel is in - has lots of shops / bar / restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the-huggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

By far the worst nights sleep I've ever experienced. I had a room at the front of the hotel, and on a Saturday night you can forget sleeping, at least four fights outside from the steady stream of revellers till 6/7am !! Police sirens and screaming in the street outside, and once this stopped the traffic and tram bells started.
The hotel itself is a lovely old building with grand entrance, however, the rooms are tired, cleaning was sub standard (bathroom was awful) and the whole place needs a good renovation.
Party animals will probably not mind, I however had to make the train journey home on hardly any sleep - not a good experience!

Room Tip: Don't get a room at the front of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPShields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Got a sunday night room for £35, read the reviews so wasnt expecting much.....arrived in pouring rain, very grand entrance stairs, loved the 'phantom' touch.
Check in very speedy and polite, didnt bother upgrading as offered for £10 more, who needs a window in the dark anyway?.., ..Up to the 5th floor, nice surprise, plenty big enough room, skylight in corner, comfy bed, well equipped room, liked the furniture, all the tea/coffee you would need for a week, shampoos etc. Lots of tv channels, but was in Manchester for a night out not to watch tv!
Rolled in at 2, had an excellent nights sleep no noise at all.....didnt stay for breakfast so cant comment on that.....yes a bit faded but for the price, would be hard to beat.

Room Tip: was happy on 5th floor, internal room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sailorbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.5 mi away
Mitre Hotel
Mitre Hotel
#93 of 120 in Manchester
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#71 of 120 in Manchester
1,188 reviews
4.4 mi away
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Manchester Hotel

Address: Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: £41 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Manchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Manchester offers great value accommodation in a fantastic Manchester city centre location. The hotel is located in one of Manchester's premier architectural buildings and is grade II listed with outstanding details, such as balconied stairway throughout the building. This Manchester Hotel has two lively bars, where you can dance the night away or have a quiet drink. Jenny's restaurant serves a varied selection of Britain's favourite dishes, whilst the Overstuffed Pizzeria offers freshly cooked pizzas and pastas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Britannia Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Manchester
Manchester Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing