We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“new year in manchester”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Ranked #89 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“new year in manchester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

i think the hotel is in an excellent spot, a few mins walk from the arndale centre, cafes, pubs and restaurants,
i travelled with a coach party from scotland and we ate in jennys restaurant,
gemma and her staff were the most organised people i have ever seen work a dining room,
no clattering dishes , soft voices and NOTHING was too much bother for the staff, the food was plentiful, of a high quality, lots of variety and piping hot,
the constant music was a bit loud but was turned down/off when asked really not needed at all.
the rooms were clean , warm and well maintained,
the ONLY thing which needs looking at are the lifts, they are soooo slow and a bit tempremental, not ideal for the elderly people on my trip
overall a great stay i would use it again

Room Tip: i stayed in 311 large double close to stairs and the lift overlooks an office block so no view but v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ingysingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    776
    929
    728
    1,193
See reviews for
378
1,373
328
705
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,030)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

We stayed ate the Britannia hotel Manchester we stayed at the Britannia Hotel to go and see Andre Reiu at the MEN,hotel very busy with christmas parties but staff very helpful,the room was very spacious and the bathroom a good size and very clean,food in the bar very cheap and very tasty,would go again

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed here in October last year and by the look of the most recent reviews things haven't changed...
The staff were hard to understand, the lift was ominously slow, and the room we were given was awful. One high window, the room and bedding were shabby and grubby, the room was dark, very little lighting, and worst of all was there was a shower cap over the smoke alarm!! We asked for another room, and were given an "up grade" for the same price, and the room was marginally better, one floor lower down.
We thought this hotel was an old well established Manchester icon - but no! It has only been a hotel since the 80s, and was converted from a warehouse. It looks like it. It badly needs refurbishing. It was the only hotel on our whole trip that was like this. But we loved Manchester!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babs883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Riocaud, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed at Manchester Britannia over the weekend (5/6th January). As others have noted this hotel is very centrally located only ten minutes walk from Picadilly station. The stout Victorian building is imposing from outside though somewhat spoilt by the plethora of tacky signs over the front offering cut price meals in the restaurant, and at night by the garish use of lights outlining the windows looking for all intents to be trying to emulate a poor-man's Harrods. However once inside the impressive entrance the enormous chandelier and elaborate staircase gives a sense of quality and old-fashion elegance as does the wood panelled bar area. Check in was efficient though we were not allowed to go to our room until the advertised check-in time of 2pm (that's fair enough). We'd arrived at noon but we were able to leave our case in the luggage room while we went for lunch. We'd taken the option of a £10 upgrade to our £50 booking to have an 'executive' room and were given one at the front of the hotel on the top floor - floor 5. The room was what I'd call tired, slightly grubby carpet and around the doors and windows which looked as though they'd not been cleaned for years, but being where it is there's not much to look out at anyway. having said that the bathroom was clean with a functioning powerful hot shower. The bed was comfortable and clean. There was an old CRT Tv with only 4 channels as well as kettle and hair dryer. The room was a reasonable size but the lack of double glazing and being almost opposite the bus stands meant that it was very noisy throughout the night - buses seemed to run continually. A thing that surprised me in such a robust building was that the floor vibrated when a heavy vehicle passed by outside, The floors also shook when people walked by in the corridor or doors banged closed, which they did throughout the Saturday night, you can here people talking and moving in adjacent rooms, neither of us managed to get much sleep.
The £50 price did seem a bargain for b'n'b, dinner and a bottle of wine for two but I can't say that it was really the good value that it appeared to be.
The dinner was buffet but by the time we went in, about 8pm, it had been picked over by the coach-loads of guests. I'll not describe the food other than to say it was very unappetising both in it's range and presentation, mainly due to the way people had attacked it and what they'd left, and the temperature was either nuclear hot or tepid, depending on the proximity to the halogen lights placed above the trays. It was so bad that we abandoned our plates and went out to a restaurant to eat.
Breakfast however was a lot better with a reasonable selection which was kept topped up with freshly cooked items.
All in all we weren't expecting a luxury stay for £50 and we weren't disappointed.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper avoid rooms on the front. If you enjoy food don't go for the dinner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeKilroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

Arrived at 8am and couldnt book in until 1pm (ok, so we got the early flight) went to Old Trafford until checkin! main front of the hotel looks lovely, but when you get to the rooms, not so lovely. The fact that we were staying there for 3 nights kinda bugged me, as the rooms were dirty and not modern at all. The hotel was a gift to us for xmas present, so we didnt complain and stuck it out. I was very uncomfortable sleeping in the bed as sheets didnt look to clean etc. Yes the hotel needs a make over as it is very old, but the hotel is huge and is in a great spot in manchester. I was delighted with the location of the hotel. Handy to get to everything. Didnt try the food in the hotel but did go to the bar attached to the hotel and food was lovely and drink very cheap.
Wouldnt stay again in the hotel. I wouldnt stay in a hotel more than once anyways when i go away, so thats why. but yes, great spot and would be a great hotel, if the redone the whole interior up!!
Overall, Manchester was great and got to see Man United match. Great New Years!!! :)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Hull
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stopped at the Britannia hotel in Manchester Saturday 5th January 2013. We were booked into room 107, at about 11.30pm we telephoned reception to ask what time the disco finished as in the room it was like being in the disco it was so loud. I was told it would go on till 2am. The reception staff were very helpful and relocated us in room 332. However clearly room 107 and several others are not suitable for guests to sleep in when there is a disco on. Obviously the hotel is past its sell by date and requires a refit may I suggest that sound proofing is included in the refit.

Room Tip: not on the first floor above the disco
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KingstonuponHullJeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

This place is a disgrace to the hospitality business but people obviously stay here for the cheapness, although it is no where near cheap enough. They have ruined a beautiful building, a stunning exterior, entrance, staircase and chandelier but it all stops there. The rooms are awful, tacky, dirty and (as someone has written) not in keeping with the hotel. We were desperate for a hotel room that night and that is what you have to be to stay here. At 5 am a man got into our room and tried to get into bed(?sleepwalker), it was a horrible situation and the security guards pointed out our door was not closing properly. I discussed this with the deputy manager in the morning and he pretty much laughed, gave us a bottle of wine and offered 10% off (10%?!!!!) which we would have to organise ourselves though laterooms.com. We have since made a complaint to their customer services who had to reply back in 28 days, we received a reply on day 29 saying there was nothing they could do and would not be giving us a refund (which we had requested). We felt it was the least they could do as the least you expect from a hotel room is that the door shuts properly. A total disgrace. As i say, do not stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emlou1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#67 of 116 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#8 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,404 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Manchester Hotel

Property: Britannia Manchester Hotel
Address: 35 Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Manchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Manchester offers great value accommodation in a fantastic Manchester city centre location. The hotel is located in one of Manchester's premier architectural buildings and is grade II listed with outstanding details, such as balconied stairway throughout the building. This Manchester Hotel has two lively bars, where you can dance the night away or have a quiet drink. Jenny's restaurant serves a varied selection of Britain's favourite dishes, whilst the Overstuffed Pizzeria offers freshly cooked pizzas and pastas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Manchester
Manchester Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing