We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Ranked #92 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Workington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I stayed here for one night and booked a budget price room for only £35. The hotel is in a brilliant location, right in the city centre and less than 5 mins walk from Piccadilly train station. Check in was a bit slow but not unreasonably so. My room had no window but I knew this when i booked and to me it was fine. There was certainly no street noise & I had a good sleep. The room was well equipped including trouser press & hairdryer. Plenty of space for clothes & an adequate if somewhat dated bathroom. Unlike many budget hotels (Ibis, Travelodge etc) toiletries were included. I had breakfast which cost £7 but it was very good and plenty to eat.
On the minus side the hotel is very well worn & the room that I was in was badly in need of being freshened up. The corridors were quite grubby looking with chipped paint & marked walls. The bar area was not particularly good with a TV blasting out with Mrs Brown's Boys showing. In my opinion , because of the obscene language used in this programme, it is an unsuitable show for a public area.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    791
    965
    754
    1,229
See reviews for
389
1,427
338
730
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,057)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

For £29 a night mid week I really cant complain. Even though I live in Manchester I needed a cheap hotel while waiting to move into a new appartment. Clean enough quite at night, polite staff the rooms I stayed in were a little dated but ok breakfast was included in the price continental in bed, even hot toast! the evening meal was a buffy type affair not very good for I think the £8 extra but there is a reasturant to use for a little extra. Theres a quite relaxing bar like a old gentalmans club and a fun pub bar club type place and your on the doorstep of everything to all in all decent enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrmoore1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2013

I needed an overnight stop for a trip to Macclesfield the next morning, so the location of the hotel near Picadilly was good. I booked online through a third party - so got my room for £22.50 which is very reasonable. I'm very glad that I didn't pay any more, and pity anyone who paid full list price that was behind reception, which ran well into triple digits a night.

The room: Lighting in the room consisted of two lamps, operated by a switch on their side - hardly ideal for checking in at night, fumbling about in the dark like an idiot. There were switches on the walls which must have been for overhead lighting in another life but were now redundant. The room could have done with a like of paint and some wallpaper that wasn't 20 years old. There was a television with what seemed only 6 channels, no guide accessible via the remote. How it was even working past digital switch-over I'll never know.

In the morning I discovered that the shower didn't work, but since I had to be at the train station I couldn't complain about it to anyone and have something done about it in time.

The night's sleep was one of the worst I've ever had in my life. The bed was hard and there is zero soundproofing, either for noise from other rooms or from the busy road outside.

The windows themselves were curious and certainly wouldn't have helped noise reduction from outside. The original windows were seperated (by about 4 inches) from an additional single glazed window that I assume was added in the eighties, this is a design that I shall call windowception.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colos_Swarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Bolton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Arrived at the hotel mid afternoon. First impressions were good, large old fashioned staircase, and light fittings impressive. Quick and efficient reception desk and my room was ready straight away. Comfortable bed, room was slightly cold though even though the radiator was on full blast. Very powerful and hot shower.

Overall, good stay, very good location with being central Manchester and near to Piccadilly Gardens.

Wouldnt hesitate to stay again however there are better central hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aashcroft3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013 via mobile

Very cheap and very adequate just a bit run down and very high traffic means little atmosphere. Central long opening at front desk great for an overnight stop. Bedroom was quite big, the stairwell is amazing as long as you like heights. Was built as a Wool Merchants Warehouse really has architectural grandeur.

Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Markie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I was initially given a room on the 4th floor. Very dark, dismal with high windows that I could not see out of. One look at the bed told me I should have a closer inspection. Although the sheets and pillowcases were clean and white the divan trim which was supposed to cover the base looked as if it had been thrown on with no effort to tidy it up. I pulled back the bottom sheet and was disgusted by the state of the mattress cover. It had blood stains on it and was covered in what looked like bits of food and something suspiciously resembling mouse droppings. How on earth the housekeeping could look at that when they were changing the bed and think it was OK is beyond me. I stripped it off the bed and tried to phone housekeeping. No answer. I phoned reception (several times) no answer. In the end I went down in the lift to reception and handed it over. To be fair, they did apologise and immediately offered me a better room on the 5th floor. This room was fine. The hotel is a beautiful, listed building but the rooms are very tired. However, for the price I paid it was satisfactory. I would not stay at weekend as they offer accommodation for stag do's.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dottydenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

This is our third time here, you cannot beat this place for location,price and value for money.
Rooms are clean and staff efficient.Food was good and plenty of choice
Only pity that the 'clubbers' cannot be placed away from those who want a good nights sleep. One night we had to get security to ask people to be quiet.in the adjoing room.Not much fun getting dressed to go to reception going down at 2am to sort the noise out.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Minkymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#69 of 118 in Manchester
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
0.2 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#60 of 118 in Manchester
742 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#46 of 118 in Manchester
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Manchester Hotel

Property: Britannia Manchester Hotel
Address: 35 Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Manchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Manchester offers great value accommodation in a fantastic Manchester city centre location. The hotel is located in one of Manchester's premier architectural buildings and is grade II listed with outstanding details, such as balconied stairway throughout the building. This Manchester Hotel has two lively bars, where you can dance the night away or have a quiet drink. Jenny's restaurant serves a varied selection of Britain's favourite dishes, whilst the Overstuffed Pizzeria offers freshly cooked pizzas and pastas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Manchester
Manchester Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing