We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This could be a wonderful hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britannia Manchester Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Ranked #90 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This could be a wonderful hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

Expect massive check in queues around 3pm.
Rooms and corridors need updating - dirty marks on walls, draughty windows (no double glazing) so expect noise too, no main light so difficult to undertake work in the room.
Jenni's restaurant is not good - breakfasts are lukewarm, lunch is cooked to death, and evening meal choice is shockingly limited, unappetising and unhealthy. Waiting on staff average at best. The toilets nearest Jenni's are a disgrace for a hotel.
HOWEVER, the Spice restaurant is excellent!! Fantastic food, reasonable prices and excellent service. Would highly recommend Spice, just dont bother staying in the hotel as it is at present. Such a shame as the building is fantastic and has the potential to be a really classy place.

Room Tip: Dont bother - just go to the Spice restaurant if you're passing. Service, quality, value, cleanl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank georgie124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    768
    915
    717
    1,182
See reviews for
374
1,351
325
692
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,022)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

For such an impossing building it is a shame that it has been left to get into such a state. The first thing that hits you when you get up to the floors with the bedrooms is the smell of nicotine. Yes they allow smoking in the hotel.

The rooms are at best grubby, bordering on filthy, fortunately did not eat or drink in the hotel. The reception area was grubby, the staff were uncarring and scruffy. The highlight of the stay was checking knowing I will never be back.

Room Tip: do not stay, you have been warned!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wallace62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

after reading the reviews on here I was a little dubious about staying but must say had no problems at all. Friendly staff, nice room and clean. Not the ritz but it's a great hotel in my opinion. would definitely stay here again on my next trip to manchester. Great value for money as well, Just £39 for the night

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

Stayed here on Wednesday as we were going to the Manchester Utd. game.
Long queue to check in, were delighted to be told we had been upgraded, however, upon entering the room, my immediate thought was....what upgrade !!
The room was tired & small on the 5th floor with very small windows, positioned near the ceiling, felt like I was in an attic room !!
In the morning there was no hot water for the shower & to cap it all, the toilet flush would not work !
There are only two reasons you would stay here.....price (£64 for the twin room) & location, it is right in the centre, only a 10 minute walk from the station, otherwise, avoid !!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DEREK G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

Business trip with my boss. We had 2x double executive rooms! - what a joke! We changed one of the rooms as there was mould all over the bathroom and it was filthy. The bed had seen better days and the bottom sheet didn't fit. The other room was marginally better but there was a massive stain on the not so clean carpet! The only lighting was 2 bedside lamps with 20 watt bulbs, it was dingy and very, very tired. The carvery was passable, the restaurant was smelly with dampness! What a rip off compared to other places at the same price. Will never stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsFerrari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

The Britannia is an old hotel which has been lit up like an old Vegas hotel on Fremont St! The entrance is impressive, the grand staircase is its showpiece, its just a shame the carpet is wearing thin and bare in places.
Check-in was quick, the receptionist was polite and helpful, as were all of the staff during my stay here.
The room I had was a twin on the third floor and off the main road, so no issues with noise. Flicking the light switch had no effect, so I had to fumble in the dark to switch on the bedside lamps. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The towels had a stale smell but once changed the following day were fresh. The TV, although not as old as the hotel, was an old CRT and the picture was snowy on all 5 channels - BBC1 flicked between B&W and colour.
Breakfast, in comparison to Holiday Inn and Ibis hotels I've stayed in recently was superb - the sausages contained meat - with a good selection of hot food for a full English, cereals, yoghurt etc..
The styling of the OverStuffedPizza in the hotel basement didn't seem to match its name. It sounds more fast food pizzeria but the restaurant was beautifully laid - more romantic than the idea of stuffing your face with pizza -eating in there on my didn't seem quite right! The pizza itself lived up to the restaurants name, great value for money. Only criticism here is the napkins (at the end of Jan) were festive wishing me a merry Christmas!
The hotel also has a sports bar and a carvery which I didn't use. The decor throughout the hotel is in desperate need of a refurb and the piped music was reminiscent of pianola music - sit on the sofas on the stair landings and you could almost be back in the 1920s without closing your eyes! The dented walls, flaking creamy wallpaper that hasn't seen fresh paint or been cleaned in years detract yet add to the charm of this olde English hotel. Overall, its in a great location, is comfortable and value for money. If you want quality, go elsewhere, for charm, it has to be the Britannia.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyx72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

There are far better places to stay in Manchester that are far cleaner and less noisy than Britannia Portland street. My company booked this hotel for me to stay for one night. I got no sleep as the hallway was incredibly noisy. The reception staff were not entirely welcoming. The first room I was given and an AWFUL stench so I requested to be moved. The second room was only marginally better. A moth flew out of the bed sheets! The hotel is extremely dated and really is in need of a makeover....desperately! Breakfast was cold, but kitchen/waiting staff were polite. I would MUCH rather have stayed in a Premier inn where you're guaranteed a good night's sleep!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RKM29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#67 of 115 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Manchester Hotel

Property: Britannia Manchester Hotel
Address: 35 Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Manchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Manchester offers great value accommodation in a fantastic Manchester city centre location. The hotel is located in one of Manchester's premier architectural buildings and is grade II listed with outstanding details, such as balconied stairway throughout the building. This Manchester Hotel has two lively bars, where you can dance the night away or have a quiet drink. Jenny's restaurant serves a varied selection of Britain's favourite dishes, whilst the Overstuffed Pizzeria offers freshly cooked pizzas and pastas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Britannia Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Manchester
Manchester Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing