We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I liked it, friendly and comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Ranked #89 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I liked it, friendly and comfortable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel as I was going to be in Manchester for a few days. Visiting a private clinic. I was advised to stay in the hotel near the clinic & airport but I read this one was better and I am glad we did. Staff friendly and very accommodating. No plug sockets near beds, a porter moved a bed for us. Room was nice on 3rd floor looking out to the main street. I paid more for us to be comfortable and have a window. Room was lovely and although its not the ritz you get what you pay for we were happy, quite comfortable and no complaints. We managed to get the heating working by the valve on the radiator. We founds Jennys restaurant excellent for 3 course lunch carvery at £6.50 great and staff all European first class for service. The location I researched was not far from the piccadilli train station. Walking distance. We would certainly stay again. Close to shops etc.
Warning to anyone going to Manchester to be careful about taxi cabs. Book before you go anywhere. Club cars & radio cars are both great. Do not jump into a cab outside the hotel. We were waiting on our pre booked club cars driver & got played when a similar looking mini bus cab said he was to take us. We trusted him. On our way our driver phoned me. The deceiver who conned us and stole the fare,
Then tried to charge us more. ! So we careful. Its a lesson to learn.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sooky1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    776
    929
    728
    1,193
See reviews for
378
1,373
328
705
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,030)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

I stayed in october 2012 and I booked using a 3rd party, I got the room cheap and I was greeted politely at the door and at the check in desk.
All of the staff were polite and I felt safe in the building with the security as you enter.

The decor could have been nicer, but the chandelier was amazing.
The bed was comfy enough, cant comment on the telly as I didnt watch it.
The hotel is slap bang in the middle of everything that I needed.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gftk91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

Stayed overnight with my mate on a bit of a shopping epedition. Hotel is vey central. Clost to shops, bars and restaurants. Quite an Olde Worlde hotel but very nice for the price. We had booked an economy room via Bookings.com. It was £39. However this 'economy' room didn't have a window so we paid an extra tenner and got a room with a window. Staff on reception were lovely. Staff in the bar were lovely. Drinks were cheap. Bottle of wine £6.95 and pint of beer £1.50. Got an evening buffet meal in the hotel for just £7. It wasn't exactly 'Jamie Oliver cuisine', but it was fine for the price. We were upgraded to a room overlooking the main road. Big mistake! Very noisy throughout the night. However for the price we paid for this hotel, we cannot complain. It was a great little stay over.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, don''t get a room overlooking the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elainematty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

Everything you read is true - a disgrace to the City of Manchester. Rooms old, tatty, disgusting. I had to move the bed and found filthy tin foil with rotting food.i cannot believe that it hasn't been shut down by health inspectors. I feel v sad for the staff working here. Carvery rank, breakfast worse. Ladies do not stay there alone !

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank anniel444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

Expect massive check in queues around 3pm.
Rooms and corridors need updating - dirty marks on walls, draughty windows (no double glazing) so expect noise too, no main light so difficult to undertake work in the room.
Jenni's restaurant is not good - breakfasts are lukewarm, lunch is cooked to death, and evening meal choice is shockingly limited, unappetising and unhealthy. Waiting on staff average at best. The toilets nearest Jenni's are a disgrace for a hotel.
HOWEVER, the Spice restaurant is excellent!! Fantastic food, reasonable prices and excellent service. Would highly recommend Spice, just dont bother staying in the hotel as it is at present. Such a shame as the building is fantastic and has the potential to be a really classy place.

Room Tip: Dont bother - just go to the Spice restaurant if you're passing. Service, quality, value, cleanl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgie124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

For such an impossing building it is a shame that it has been left to get into such a state. The first thing that hits you when you get up to the floors with the bedrooms is the smell of nicotine. Yes they allow smoking in the hotel.

The rooms are at best grubby, bordering on filthy, fortunately did not eat or drink in the hotel. The reception area was grubby, the staff were uncarring and scruffy. The highlight of the stay was checking knowing I will never be back.

Room Tip: do not stay, you have been warned!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wallace62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

after reading the reviews on here I was a little dubious about staying but must say had no problems at all. Friendly staff, nice room and clean. Not the ritz but it's a great hotel in my opinion. would definitely stay here again on my next trip to manchester. Great value for money as well, Just £39 for the night

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#67 of 116 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#8 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,404 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Manchester Hotel

Property: Britannia Manchester Hotel
Address: 35 Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Manchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Manchester offers great value accommodation in a fantastic Manchester city centre location. The hotel is located in one of Manchester's premier architectural buildings and is grade II listed with outstanding details, such as balconied stairway throughout the building. This Manchester Hotel has two lively bars, where you can dance the night away or have a quiet drink. Jenny's restaurant serves a varied selection of Britain's favourite dishes, whilst the Overstuffed Pizzeria offers freshly cooked pizzas and pastas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Manchester
Manchester Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing