We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great brit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Ranked #94 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 5 July 2013

what a great time we had in the britannia hotel last weekend [28-30 june]. a grand looking building situated in the heart of manchester ,close to a number of really good bars and restaurants, for shoppers its very good for the arndale center and surrounding shops. the hotel itself is huge ,the saff are there for you 24/7 a great help. the rooms are spacious ,clean and bright but slightly warm so air con would be an idea. breakfast was help yourself which is the best way to be as you eat what or how much you desire as we are all different, there was a good hot buffet as well as a more continental style buffet.

Room Tip: lower floors were that little bit cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fawlty2wers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,087)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,554 - 2,560 of 4,087 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013

Stayed at this magnificent city centre hotel on dinner, bed & breafast as part of a coach trip and could not fault it. The location is ideal with shopping, lovely canal walks and lots of friendly pubs all within easy walking distance. We were here three years ago and jumped at the opportunity to return. The choice of food was not as great this time, but what was on offer was good and with the bargain price we paid, we could not complain. Hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Britannia Hotel. Although this is a wonderful building and in a great location the hotel is very, very shabby and dilapidated. We were extremely disappointed with the executive room and service. We consider this to be one of the worst hotels we have ever stayed in. The highlighted of the weekend was the Robbie concert. Thinking of booking?? Try somewhere else. We would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: There aren't any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Stayed here whilst on a night out in Manchester, had a executive twin room, which was basic but big and comfortable.
The building is amazing, has really grand feel to it, staircase is like out of a film. Breakfast was ok, good variety but every thing tasted very bland and cheap.staff where brilliant.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This is the first time I have written a review of a hotel - and I stay away probably 4 times a month on business. It was booked for me and it looked fine. The building is beautiful but is a shadow of its former self. However, this hotel is worse than something out of Faulty Towers. The bedrooms were tatty, the number of staff available on duty were minimal and not to be seen - waited 15 mins at the bar after 3 hour drive to get a drink! Barman was probably doing another job. The poor staff are good, but simply overstretched and too junior/inexperienced.
Then the fire alarm went off at 1am - 1 poor young hotel staff on duty but total confusion about what was happening. If it had been a fire it would have been chaos. They just do not have enough people on duty. Those who were spoke poor english. There were a large number of Japanese tourists, and elderly UK tourists, who were confused to say the least by the fire alarms with no direction as to what to do. A shambles and they should be ashamed to be charging the rates they do. The hotel has the potential to be a great example of British architecture but is an embarrassment to us. It compares to the holidays from hell in Spain.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Stayed at this hotel with my family when i was a child and didnt like spending my time here. Was very happy when we left this hotel, because it was a creepy experience. I almost didnt get any sleep at nights because our room looked like something from a ghost movie and i heard some weird noices all the time. There was also a creepy looking door in the room which didnt help. Didnt like the style of this hotel and it was dust on the walls.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Booked this hotel for 2 nights through Tesco Clubcard Rewards for a trip to see the Rocky Horror Show at the Palace Theatre. We didn't realise we would get a 'Horror Show' before we even got to the theatre. it should have cost £368 for an executive double. We were expecting something special for this price. Oh how wrong we were. The hotel looks fabulous from the outside and even inside the decor is very grand with a sweeping staircase and chandeliers. We collected our keycard (which had to be nserted upside down to work) to room 446 on the 4th floor. What a shock when we opened the door. #Where to start.....The wallpaper was peeling off the ceiling, there were no wardrobe doors, the carpet was filthy, There was no ceiling light, just lamps, one of which had been glued back together by a '4 year old'. The bathroom had peeling paint and a cig burn on the sink surround. The room smelt of smoke even though it was a 'non-smoking room'. There was no full length mirror which I found out later were on the sliding wardrobe doors in other rooms. The bed had a single mattress protector on a double bed and the sheets hardly covered the bed. i was soooo disappointed and angry but didn't complain as we were too angry to confront reception. We went out for the night in Manchester and decided to wait until we had tried breakfast the next morning before complaining. Breakfast was very relaxed and served from 7.30 - 10.30. There was lots of choice and nothing to complain about here. The staff were very friendly and served us with tea or coffee. We went to meet friends on Saturday and walked to their hotel 'Le Ville'. Now I know this is a very modern hotel but the rooms were stunning and clean. The complete opposite of ours. Come on Britannia a bit of late spring cleaning wouldn't go amiss on the downright shabby rooms. We appreciate that they are old but a bit of pride should be taken in the presentaion of your rooms, especially considering the cost and what the rest of the hotel looks like. Rooms can be old and clean as I have experienced many times in Old Engish Hotels all over the country

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciderliker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.0 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#70 of 120 in Manchester
1,170 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.3 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Manchester Hotel

Address: Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: £43 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Manchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Manchester offers great value accommodation in a fantastic Manchester city centre location. The hotel is located in one of Manchester's premier architectural buildings and is grade II listed with outstanding details, such as balconied stairway throughout the building. This Manchester Hotel has two lively bars, where you can dance the night away or have a quiet drink. Jenny's restaurant serves a varied selection of Britain's favourite dishes, whilst the Overstuffed Pizzeria offers freshly cooked pizzas and pastas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Manchester
Manchester Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing