We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling Customer Service. A Scam?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Ranked #94 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We booked a groupon to enjoy high tea at this establishment. The voucher cost us twenty six pounds. After calling numerous times in the week, on numerous days, and receiving no response, when we did get through too book the groupon for the next day, we were told that there was nobody to sort the groupon for us, and we had to call on a weekday, when nobody answers the phone. After speaking to one member of staff, I then asked to speak to the supervisor, Connor, the highest ranking member of staff on shift. During my conversation with this gentleman I not only received no help and was bluntly told that I could not book the voucher (brought as a gift for a friend) but I was also laughed at by the other members of staff on shift, as Connor seemed to offer hilariously sarcastic responses. I would strongly discourage anybody to eat at this restaurant, as the staff are rude and unpleasant, the company is making it very difficult for people to redeem paid vouchers, I would not be one to say scam, but the situation does force questions to be asked. I am appalled by this experience considering the Britannia hotel has been around for 31 years, I will be in contact with groupon and trading standards to ensure this is dealt with properly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,060)
There are newer reviews for Britannia Manchester Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,368 - 2,374 of 4,060 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

I stayed one night as it is very conveniently located. There is no denial on location!!!
I agree with all the previous comments regarding unfriendly staff but the overpriced breakfast was really what chocked me the most.

In the room there was no chairs so working was a real inconveninece.

Just ne electric socket "hidden" behind the TV so very unpractical to plug laptop or recharge phone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

From the attitude of the staff to the rooms themselves the word disgusting sums it up. Booked to stay for 2 nights but couldn't bring myself to go back there the second night. Arrived late and was given a "turret room" (615). I was disappointed on arrival at the outdated decor and furniture, CRT TV etc. but when I started to look closer I became horrified.

Not only was it freezing (radiator was off with no way to Turn it on), the carpet was disgustingly dirty, curtains did not close all the way, wardrobe door was broken to name but a few things I was unhappy with. To this end I called reception and asked for a different room, I even offered to pay to upgrade myself. I was told however that the hotel was completely fully booked and that no other rooms were available (even tho rooms were being advertised online as being available for that night). Instead they brought me a tiny heater.

When in the morning I checked out early due to the issues I was refused a refund for my second night and told to email the complaints team. Which I will.
I'm not one for writing bad reviews but in this instance if I can stop anyone having the same experience as me it's worth it.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank XraynbeauxX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Respite the poor reviews I decided to give this play as try as Manchester was very busy and all the decent hotels were busy. Never again! I had to wait 45 mins to check in as there was 'a problem with my room', the room was awful, the staff were so rude, I'm sorry to leave a bad review but this hotel is shocking!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Darren E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel on the 01st November 2013 for 1 Night. The noise at the weekend from the nightclubs below is excessive and loud if you are requiring sleep, avoid at all costs.
We rang the reception to complain about the noise and he said he was surprised we could hear the noise 5 floors up. We offered him to visit our room to hear the noise to which he refused, as said he would try to get us another room

He rang back and said could not offer us another room as hotel was full, and we could have a free breakfast and extra hour in hotel, and said he will post vouchers under door in the night for us to have a free breakfast for the inconvenience caused. He did not even take the time to leave the vouchers, We did not want the breakfast we just wanted sleep as been a long day travelling.

The Rooms also need refurbishment as rooms have damp patches, wallpaper falling off.

The Hotel charges £86 per night without breakfast. We have stayed in better hostels.

To say Britannia Hotels started in Manchester in 1976. You would think they would be trying to run the hotels better and keep the customers happy, as an happy customer will return to the hotels in the future.

Would be nice for Alex Langsam CEO To Stay during his visits to Manchester in the Future on Weekends.
Next time we are in Manchester we would not consider this hotel, But consider
The Mercure Hotel across the road.

Room Tip: Avoid Hotel At All Costs
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackpoolmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

There is an overwhelming stench of decades of stale smoke - vaguely masked by some sort of Tangerine Dream air freshener - all over the fabrics, furniture and fittings in the room and corridors of this hotel. My hot water was luke-warm, my check-in service slow and rude, and my walls damp. The nightclub blared its music out painfully loudly until around 3am -- and it wasn't even that cheap. Oh, there was no light in the room other than a small bedside lamp, and the lock on the door didn't work.

Room Tip: Pick one in another hotel.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotelfan828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night the staff on reception were rude no welcome and when you asked anything it was an effort for them to even speak
The room was dated and not that clean bedding
I have stayed here years ago nothing has changed I think they need a new general manager to educate the staff that u know what this is a hotel where u sort of try to look after the customer bad leadership starts from top down I blame the manager

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevewales44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#73 of 120 in Manchester
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.0 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Manchester Hotel

Address: 35 Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: £43 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Manchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Manchester offers great value accommodation in a fantastic Manchester city centre location. The hotel is located in one of Manchester's premier architectural buildings and is grade II listed with outstanding details, such as balconied stairway throughout the building. This Manchester Hotel has two lively bars, where you can dance the night away or have a quiet drink. Jenny's restaurant serves a varied selection of Britain's favourite dishes, whilst the Overstuffed Pizzeria offers freshly cooked pizzas and pastas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Britannia Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Manchester
Manchester Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing