We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rubbish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Ranked #92 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Merseyside, United Kingdom
1 review
“Rubbish”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed here last friday and saturday if u want prostutes next room or cold breakfast go here rooms were terrible no window dirty and wallpaper mouldy such a shame nice as u walk in but the rooms are terrible i would not stay here again never !!!! Staff were nice enough when u could get hold of them also fire alarms kept going off at 2 in morning got dressed went to go outside and was told just a fault hahaha i was not relaxed coming home was a waste of money xx

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandylee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    786
    954
    745
    1,217
See reviews for
386
1,412
331
723
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,051)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

well we stayed here last Saturday (25/01/14). From the outside and entrance looks reasonably nice! very wrong!! We checked into a room which was called 'executive double room' ...... i work in a hotel and the room we were given should of not been called exec in any way!! The room was small, wallpaper peeling off etc, i then went to use the phone to call reception... which wasn't even working! after then calling on my mobile from the 5th floor for 25 minuit's till the receptionist FINALLY answered! We headed for reception and was then told that was a exec room and he could move us but it would be the same!!! getting rather annoyed and sick of messing around we agree to take the new room! BIG BIG MISTAKE!!!!! Room 106, it was even worse and smelt vile! We seemed to be above a nightclub of some sort which was shaking the room!! Anyway head for the bathroom as it was getting late and needed to get ready!!! The shower then starts flooding the bathroom all over the floor!!! this was a joke now!!! but that wasn't everything!!! As i go to close the door i find a pair of USED MANS BOXERS HANGING IN THE BATHROOM!!! digusting! no sorry, just offered a free breakfast and some one to remove them! all in all DO NOT STAY HERE unless you want someone else's under wear in your room!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caroline_dee0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

You couldn't make it up, i was away on business and couldn't bear another night in a travelodge so picked what appeared to be a classic grande hotel ,
Got there and was greeted by a dated room with tatty fixtures,

There was an abundance of party goers which should have been a sign. I found out that there was a nightclub in the basement which attracted noise...

It got worse the fire alarm rang , I was told it was a fault but it kept going off and off and off.

After a sleep deprived night I went down for breakfast , the waiting staff seated me at table 40 , I went to choose my buffet breakfast upon my return there was a woman sat in my seat, I tried to explain that I had been seated there, I was ignored.. spoke to the waiting staff who informed me that 'they always sit there'!!

I asked where I should sit I was informed sit anywhere .
I will not be returning or recommending this hotel to my company for others to stay at.

Shame on you.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badgerbenf71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed at the hotel on Friday night, we booked the executive room and i have to say i was very disappointed in the room. they offered smoking and non-smoking rooms and i wish we had asked for smoking! our room had 2 very small and very high windows which we could not see out of and offered very little natural light. the room itself was freezing cold, even though we stayed in winter the radiator never worked!! the bath was small and all the enamel from the bottom was coming off.
the only positive thing i can say is the location was good and the night doorman was lovely.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julia4270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Just returned today from one nights stay here, stopped on 5th floor, with a sort of window, its a good job my husbands 6ft 4" to open, or wouldn't of had any fresh air. Toilet didn't flush, shower wasn't a shower just a trickle in mid air if you like and the breakfast has to the worst breakfast buffet we have ever been presented with. No tea coffee left at 9.30 when serves till 10.30, and the small selection of food, i wouldn't of given an animal it was that poor. Fire alarm was triggered at 3am meaning guests exiting their rooms only not find a member of staff on a few occasions within the space of half hour to find out if we had to evacuate or stay put! Clearly false alarm. Wouldn't stop here again, but if people wished to stop close by to the centre, and pay extra for a window room.....excluding breakfast then its the place for a cheap night to put your head down.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SKHelm11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I live in the area dan always when we have friends over they stay at this lovely hotel.
it is great value for money and the staff are all very friendly.
yes, it might need a bit of a refurb, but who has money for that in this time and crisis!
i thin they do great hang in there for a couple more year and then splash out on some new decor! nothing that needs doing right away! :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerSpain2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
venice
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Pokey little room that smelt funny, 'double bed' barely big enough for one person. Can hear every word of all the rooms around us. The banging from above you thought the roof was going to cave in. Our window was broken and wouldn't shut. The noise from clubs below went on til 3am then there was the screeching and shouting of people at chucking out time. And then the fire alarm went off FOUR TIMES!! You could smell smoking but clearly the staff could not put their finger on this. Crappy hotel and not even worth the £50 last minute deal we paid.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emma862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#67 of 116 in Manchester
1,109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 116 in Manchester
2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
0.0 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Manchester Hotel

Property: Britannia Manchester Hotel
Address: 35 Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Manchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Manchester offers great value accommodation in a fantastic Manchester city centre location. The hotel is located in one of Manchester's premier architectural buildings and is grade II listed with outstanding details, such as balconied stairway throughout the building. This Manchester Hotel has two lively bars, where you can dance the night away or have a quiet drink. Jenny's restaurant serves a varied selection of Britain's favourite dishes, whilst the Overstuffed Pizzeria offers freshly cooked pizzas and pastas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Britannia Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Manchester
Manchester Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing