We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst I've ever been”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Ranked #89 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Rauma, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst I've ever been”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Level of the hotel is the worst I've ever had.
The room on the sixth floor with no elevator and the room had a smell of petrol or any other fuel, sleeping was impossible. Skylight that did not get caught.
The next day, I got a new room which was a disco on the top,
to bed at. 05.00 am when music stop. then the traffic noise began at seven at morning so the weekend ruined.
The staff with the exception of the baggage room caring boys were not suitable for the customer service.

BR. disappointed customer

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YNWA-70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    775
    928
    726
    1,191
See reviews for
377
1,371
328
702
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,028)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

The hotel is generally okay. Really needs a refurb. The way to the room was more like a maze & it stank of smoke everywhere. Room itself was a decent size. Bed and bath linen were all clean.
I had a room to the street, which was very noise on the second floor as you could hear everything outside.
For 40 odd quid it is decent enough for 1 night.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room on a high floor that isn't facing the street. Also book a room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank de_escapee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

room on 5th floor,very uninviting corridor from lift to room,clean comfy bed,clean bathroom but,very basic,questionable safety of hoovers seen on corridor in morning! 1 lamp not working,no bin for t bags etc,tired and dated residents bar.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayb63_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I was slightly worried about what lay ahead after booking. I'd read reviews of that said the hotel was noisy, in need of revamp, reeked of smoke and a haven for stag and hen parties. We had a very nice, clean room at a great price for the location. Would definitely book again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DM1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Realistically this place is tacky and some of the quotes you get online are outrageous. I couldn't say anything bad about my experience though as it was good.

The room had no window, which was weird, but it cost around £30 via a last minute booking. The bed was comfortable despite the dimness of the room.

I'd stay here again if it was a last resort/cheap option, try elsewhere though if you're looking for accommodation in Manchester City Centre.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JorelJBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Where to start!! An absolute nightmare of a hotel room, anything you could find wrong, we pretty much did. First impressions of the hotel were good, staff seemed relatively friendly and the hotel lobby seemed clean and tidy. We went up to our room on the 6th floor, which on first appearances looked basic but clean. As it was late we really just wanted to go to bed. This was the first big issue. The bed was supposed to be a double however it was clear that this was not the case as we struggled to lie comfortably without pushing each other out of the bed. Next issue, The Mattress was incredibly hard and uncomfortable. I'm sure they got it discounted from Strangeways prison!. In the middle of winter you expect to need bedding and blankets, however this was not the case as the room was hotter than a crematorium, and we had no way of turning the radiators down as the thermostatic valve was broken, and our windows were un-openable. The room also had a terrible buzzing/humming noise coming from the dodgy radiator, which meant we couldn't relax as we were constantly aware of this. We checked out at 06:00am after hardly no sleep or comfort. Definitely won't be returning here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JennieLou91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I stayed here with my boyfriend and a group of friends - someone else did the booking and clearly chose the cheapest option at the last minute without checking tripadvisor!

The reception area of the hotel looks reasonably decent but on walking up to the first floor where our room was a nasty smell hit us. There seemed to have been an attempt to mask it with cheap air freshener but it really wasn't doing the trick. I'm pretty sure the smell was because the hotel was so so dated - but the room service tray full of leftover food that someone had left outside their door may have contributed (it was there at 2pm when we checked in and was still there at 2am).

The room itself was large, having one double bed and a single. There was no issue with the size of it. But the cleanliness was definitely questionable. The carpet was one of those with different shades of brown pile so you couldn't tell how clean it actually was. The bath also had hairs in it and the walls were discoloured. The entire feel was very dated and if I had to guess I would say it hadn't had a renovation/new furniture/been painted in around 25 years.

On returning to the hotel after a night out I got into bed and it turned out to be possibly the worst bed I've ever had the displeasure of sleeping in. Springs were popping out all over and it was in fact two single beds pushed together so there was a large ridge down the middle.

In addition to the uncomfortable bed, there was no air conditioning. Which meant we needed the window open as the room was stifling but then we were faced with the noise from a car park and building works.

The hotel was £80 per room but I wouldn't stay here again if it was £20. I understand the need for budget hotels but at £80 per night it certainly isn't budget - and even the etap can provide a comfortable bed!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AbbyMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#68 of 116 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,401 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Manchester Hotel

Property: Britannia Manchester Hotel
Address: 35 Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Manchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Manchester offers great value accommodation in a fantastic Manchester city centre location. The hotel is located in one of Manchester's premier architectural buildings and is grade II listed with outstanding details, such as balconied stairway throughout the building. This Manchester Hotel has two lively bars, where you can dance the night away or have a quiet drink. Jenny's restaurant serves a varied selection of Britain's favourite dishes, whilst the Overstuffed Pizzeria offers freshly cooked pizzas and pastas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Manchester
Manchester Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing