We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirtiest, grimmest place I've ever stayed” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britannia Manchester Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Ranked #89 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dirtiest, grimmest place I've ever stayed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We visited in Manchester last weekend. We chose to stay at the Britannia Hotel.
We had a great time in Manchester and the location of the hotel was perfect. However, we were very disappointed in the cleanliness of our room.
We found that the curtain was not properly fitted, the curtain seemed not have been washed for a long time: the "white" curtain was rather grey and there was a big stain on it (see attached photo). There was no bin-bag in the bin and no toilet brush.
As I picked my mobile phone from the bedside table I noticed, that I touched something different. I found out that I just picked up probably the previous guest's fake eyelashes.
We also found a dirty patch on the mirror - see attached photo.
On our second day, when we returned, we noticed that the beds had not been made, and cleaning staff had not visited.
There was no light only two bedside lamps and a table lamp next to the TV. Since there is only a small window close to the ceiling, the room is very dark without any proper lights.
Although there is internet in every room, but it is very slow.

We mentioned to the staff that we were not happy with the cleanliness of our room, they did not seem to be particularly interested.
I sent Britannia Hotel a complaint letter and have not received any response. Interestingly there is no phone number available for complaints.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kovexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    768
    914
    717
    1,181
See reviews for
374
1,351
325
692
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,022)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This room was booked as part of a voucher deal with DBB for two for £80. This seemed a good deal. The room was OK, clean but slightly worn, the bathroom more so. The door to the sliding wardrobe was off the rails and therefore the wardrobe could not be used - again poor but not a major issue as we were only there for one night. The food was edible but nothing great. The major issue was when we returned to the room at ~1.15am. There is a club/pub next door and the room that we had (111) felt like it was on top of it. The music was so loud that both the floor and bed were vibrating! There was no point in complaining at that time of night, the pub was not going to turn its music down! It is not acceptable to let a room to someone under these conditions and I will not be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank wooseyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

stayed 17/18 may good hotel. staff nice enough. room bit small but ok. breakfast good plenty of it. very convenient for shops and men arena short walk away. saturday night was noisey with the disco next door which went on till the early hours. but overall an ok stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank janicebond695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a friend as we went into Manchester for a night out, we thought it was fine great location for our night out only problem we had is we had no aircon in are room with hair dryers and straightners going you can imagine how hot our room was, we rang reception and they said they would bring a fan up but never did!! Other than that worth the money we paid :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had a one night stay booked through wowcher, room was ok but dated and carpet very stained, food was absolutely terrible if they are trying to promote by offering cheap deals they're not doing a very good job of it, do not recommend it at all we will not be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here for a night in June last year, Firstly would just like to say there is NO PARKING anywhere close to this hotel!!!! I was given directions 3 times that did not make any sense to eventually find the car park that was situated a 20 minute walk away from the hotel!!!! So for one, carrying a lot of bags wasn't exactly Ideal, and for 2 what happens if you have a disabled person or an older couple staying here? The journey back after we had checked out the next day was the worst, as I had torn a ligament in my foot the night before, so the walk in the pi***ng down rain and one good foot didn't go down well. I don't understand why they couldn't have a closer car park? Im still shocked at the reaction from the staff as if I was the only person to ever mention it. The rooms where really REALLY dated, to the point where you could smell how old the room was. In all honesty It was a bit scary to be left in the room alone at times. Don't really have anything to rave about here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

2014. Good location but apart from that a very unsatisfying experience. Outdated decor, unhelpful staff, paper thin walls, old and haphazard furniture and equipment (noisy aircon and got 'upgraded' to a room without one) trult dampened our holiday spirits. Very very disheartening. For an additional amount headache and disappointment would have been avoided by booking in another hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redabaniko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#67 of 115 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
0.1 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#55 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Manchester Hotel

Property: Britannia Manchester Hotel
Address: 35 Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Manchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Manchester offers great value accommodation in a fantastic Manchester city centre location. The hotel is located in one of Manchester's premier architectural buildings and is grade II listed with outstanding details, such as balconied stairway throughout the building. This Manchester Hotel has two lively bars, where you can dance the night away or have a quiet drink. Jenny's restaurant serves a varied selection of Britain's favourite dishes, whilst the Overstuffed Pizzeria offers freshly cooked pizzas and pastas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK and Hotels.com so you can book your Britannia Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Manchester
Manchester Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing