We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slightly run down rooms, but otherwise spotless. booked to go back again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Ranked #90 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Slightly run down rooms, but otherwise spotless. booked to go back again”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

On entering the Britannia the lobby is stunning, Extremely clean, Staff very helpful, Rooms need modernising, but on the whole a lovely place to stay, 5 mins walk from the station so we left teh car at home, literally 2 mins walk to all the shops. Only downside was our room was at the front of the hotel so noise was heard until at least 4 in the morning xx

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sloanie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    783
    941
    739
    1,205
See reviews for
384
1,394
330
715
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,040)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
iceland
Level Contributor
235 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The hotel is in a good location for sure, the lobby looks great and you think you are getting much more then you are. I was very impressed when walking in but once I got to the room, it was a huge let down. It was just grotty. It did have like an odd little roof window and so we got some sunlight in. Tiny little old box telly and dirty carpets but hey, I was only there for one night so I was not about to complain but once the music started, somewhere on the ground floor and i was on the 5th and could not sleep, I asked to have the room changed. It took an awful lot but I finally manged, should not have bothered, got an even grottier room, no window at all and even worse pillows and bed, both rock hard. I will give this place two starts, just for the lovely lobby and enterence, but please do stay away if you want a good nights sleep. And dont expect anything at all from the staff, they might be fed up with working there anyway, most guests must be complaining. Hope someone else takes over this wonderful building and makes it a proper hotel that people will enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel soley as a budget option and made my reservation via booking.com. Understanding that it was an old run-down property in need of modernisation I didn't object to the dirty wall-paper peeling from the walls, the old carpets that would benefit from a quick machine cleaning ir the huge chip in the enamel in the bottom of the old bath...however I really do object to being charged a surcharge for using my credit card when my booking confirmation said that there were no extra charges and the adverstised price would be the price I'd pay. Booking.com are taking this up with the hotel directly as it contravenes one or two legal points. It was only £2 that if it had been included in the price or I had been notified in advance about I would not have quibbled...just a matter of principle and deceitful practice!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The britania hotel in Manchester ,is a nice hotel if staying in Manchester it's in an excellent location for shopping eating out,,the gay village behind the hotel and many more ,I've stayed at this hotel alot of times even new years eve,,the staff are so friendly and make you so welcome,,a few tips if you know your going to Manchester on a certain day book this hotel early as poss the earlier you book the hotel the cheaper you get it for,,I've got the room for 45 pound for a sat night and the rooms and hotel are nice,,also ask for a high floor room cuts out any noise.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor ,or any above the second floor cuts the noise out from the night clubs under the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I know what am getting when you check in here, so, on that count, I cant be too scathing.
Plus points, the location, and the price. The rest, must border on unlawful.
Tried to check in, was rudely told we had no booking, 30 mins later it turned out that we did, and indeed the ignoramus at the desk was in the wrong. An aggressive manager tried to apologise but his unfelt words fell onto my deaf ears. From reception, to the rooms, its like a hostel, a brothel from 1930s France, its a maze of corridors and a cesspit.
Into the room, the bed is already broken, there is no window (I knew this when booked it), BUT, its also ROASTING, def over 30 degree in the room, Now, have a shower and with the steam, it is near pass out material. The last guests had also urinated in the kettle. Its a hovel, a hole and a dive and how it allows to trade as a "hotel" beats me, the Bellgrove Homeless Shelter in Glasgow is a better option than this stinking sh1thole.
Course, 2 emails sent to the hotel direct have been left unanswered
Course, nobody from the hotel puts up any fight on this site, or any other?
Wonder why....

Room Tip: Make sure you get a window !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wreckingbaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The hotel is situated in a perfect location for pubs,clubs,train station,shopping and trams.From the outside its sort of like wow that looks a nice building.On entering the foyer it all looks pretty vast and of quite grand design but after that it all turns a bit grubby.The staff were spot on as they checked us in.Me and my son were just doing a 1 night over night stay to watch football.There are lifts to all the floors,on entering our room it was clean and tidy enough but very dated! After recently staying in a cheap Travelodge room this looked a good 30 years older! I only needed somewhere to park my bag and crash later so this was fine but only if doing the 1 night,Any longer and I wouldn't of been impressed.The bathroom was clean enough and the room had all the usual hotel room bits.There is a well stocked bar downstairs but there are plenty of bars also stacked around the hotel either side with a night club beneath the hotel although I didn't hear any major noise coming from it.There was abit of shouting outside the rooms in the small hours though.We didn't bother paying extra for the breakfast as we had to be up and away early in the morning.Like I say its not the best but I`m not really that fussy.Probably abit too expensive for what it is though.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank villajase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel at the last minute online and read some if the previous reviews. I was a little apprehensive about staying!

Upon arrival, the check in procedure was fast and easy. Service was great. You can see that in the good old days that this was a a grand and splendid hotel to stay in. It's a shame that it seems to be ageing and could do with a refurb. The staircases are lovely.

Room was basic but very comfortable. Food and the service was also very good indeed.

Location is superb being right in the heart of the city centre. For the money I paid to stay here, I have to say it was great value for money.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Snowy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#67 of 117 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,426 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Manchester Hotel

Property: Britannia Manchester Hotel
Address: 35 Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Manchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Manchester offers great value accommodation in a fantastic Manchester city centre location. The hotel is located in one of Manchester's premier architectural buildings and is grade II listed with outstanding details, such as balconied stairway throughout the building. This Manchester Hotel has two lively bars, where you can dance the night away or have a quiet drink. Jenny's restaurant serves a varied selection of Britain's favourite dishes, whilst the Overstuffed Pizzeria offers freshly cooked pizzas and pastas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Manchester
Manchester Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing