We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is its prime asset”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Ranked #91 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Location is its prime asset”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

If you like vintage then this is your ideal location to be, the hotel is old however one can consider it to be its beauty and one can say its mold.

My stay was very pleasant baring in mind that i requested a big room and i was located on the top floor, idealy the location is perfect, your 1 minute away from the bus stop and right opposite the hotel there is a 24hour kiosk.

The hotel is perfect if you are not looking for something fancy and your visiting manchester to spent time around the city.

Room Tip: Request a hight and big room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    786
    951
    744
    1,217
See reviews for
386
1,409
331
723
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,049)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

How many idiots are trolling up and down comparison web sites thinking they've hit the jackpot when they find the britania for £45. Quite what people expect for this money is unbelievable. This hotel is not a four star Jem. It's run down, shabby, tired and the list goes on...... The food .... Well it's about £7 a plate that should tell you everything you need to know!
So why the good rating. Simple £45 smack bang in the middle of Manchester, a clean bed, a bathroom, a tv, and good service.... £45 simples!!!!!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank davidharveymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stayed in the Britannia on a recent trip to Manchester and found it to be objectionable on every count. The cost of the room was very high (£150 for the night), the room itself was barely larger than the bed, grubby; and the wallpaper was coming away from the walls with damp and mold visible towards the ceiling.
The staff were rude, disengaged and very slow. I couldn't possibly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Avoid at all costs.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank daire k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I've just spent a night at the Britannia Manchester Hotel and I must say I'm very unhappy with the experience.

First of all, we had to change room. Make sure you get a non smoking room (if you smoke just go outside).

- The whole hotel is dated and pretty much falling apart.

- There's no air conditioning in any area of the Hotel so of course you'll spend most of your time outside.

- We were in a room on the 5th floor (once we had moved) but obviously the lifts decided to stop working. Result of this meant carrying bags up and down and feeling like you've attended the gym for a day.

- Amongst this our evening contained of wondering drunks repeatedly trying to open our room door & the fire alarm activated.

- Food is horrible to the point my partner compared it to school dinners!

- Customer Service was poor aswell. Not once did they ask if everything was okay.

This was actually a gift via wowcher from my Mother In Law and I feel sorry for her wasting her money. It's not worth the full price per room let alone half price on wowcher. I'm making a formal complaint to them also due to this Hotel being Mis-Sold!

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Yes, I should have known with the smell of stale smoke in the corridor, the bland pale, smoke resistant wallpaper. But after asking specifically for a non-smoking room, actually what I expected to be the norm, Phillip and I got one anyway. I have absolutely no idea how an executive could use this room. Phillip and I were there on leisure, so had enough space, but had I been there on business, there would have been cause for complaint. Actually, cause for reimbursement! No work space was provided, no iron or ironing board and no seating space as promised. Poor. Nuff said. Check the pictures...

Room Tip: I was lead to believe that an executive room or suite would be ok. Ended up in a smokers corridor w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel on 14/6/14 and it was disgusting.

The bed in our so called executive room had brown staines on the mattress and the room was the worst I have stayed in. There was no hot water from 7pm until 5am !!

When we checked out we asked to speak to the manager and when I told him about the hot water he lied and told me the hotwater was only off for 2 hours lier !

Then I asked him to come to the room to see for himself, when we got to the room he refused to lookat the dirt and made a homophobic comment about me and my partner sharing a bed !

I was going to phone the police as he wasso vile and disgusting. When I told himi was taking pictures of the room he told me toget outand dont come back !!

I could write more but I feel sick at what happened to us.

Do NOT stay here its a dump !!

Room Tip: Do not stay !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Perfectly serviceable for a city centre hotel and fairly well in the middle of Manchester.

As usual the further away from the reception you get the more tired it looks.

The carvery they offer is ok at 3 courses for a tenner though you would not perhaps rush back.

try and get a room with a window, some of them don't and be aware if you book a twin room you may well end up with the second bed being a put you up in the corner!

All in all would do at a pinch but no reason to rush back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xraysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#66 of 116 in Manchester
1,104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 116 in Manchester
2,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#59 of 116 in Manchester
738 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Manchester Hotel

Property: Britannia Manchester Hotel
Address: 35 Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Manchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Manchester offers great value accommodation in a fantastic Manchester city centre location. The hotel is located in one of Manchester's premier architectural buildings and is grade II listed with outstanding details, such as balconied stairway throughout the building. This Manchester Hotel has two lively bars, where you can dance the night away or have a quiet drink. Jenny's restaurant serves a varied selection of Britain's favourite dishes, whilst the Overstuffed Pizzeria offers freshly cooked pizzas and pastas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Britannia Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Manchester
Manchester Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing