We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stays Ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Ranked #95 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here as part of an organised trip to Manchester for 2 nights staying Dinner, B&B. After reading the reviews of the hotel all our party were quite apprehensive about staying here, but to be honest it surprised us.
The Hotel itself is quite splendid when you walk through the doors with a fabulous staircase ascending the 5 floors.
The rooms are in need of a refurb, but are sufficient for a couple of nights stay.
Breakfast was good, Dinner not too bad, staff were more than helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on high floor to get away from nightclub noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Steve_bach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,123 - 2,129 of 4,154 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here for a night and it was nothing short of perfection. Helpful staff. great huge breakfast and absolute beautiful decor. The hotel is very centered in Piccadilly close to all sites and attractions. Buses leave right across the road. I was surprised at the price because it was very affordable for the quality. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvbitesnbruises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here previously and had a great room, this time i have spent more money for a room a quater of the size, a 'double' bed wasnt a double bed at all! Just bigger than a single a tiny room with a bathroom with the previous customers hairs in the sink. £69 for one night in a tiny, tatty room. I complaind and they said nothing could be done i get what i pay for, and am shown another room the same size but no window (no point in moving for that!) customer carpark is a 10 min walk away... And at a 'discounted' price of £8 for 24 hours. Anything underneath a grande room, dont bother a huge disapointment for my money.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at the Brittania before we flew to Turkey and had two full days in Manchester. We had evening meal and breakfast which was very nice just nice for setting us up for the day, we visited Salford quays and the Northern Imperial War museum which is well worth a visit alone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel as was attending a conference in Manchester City centre. £45 on booking.com, was unite excited about my stay, as the room was discounted. I had asked for a bath and a quiet room. I had just completed a 5 hour journey on the train, so was quite exhausted. But did not get a good nights rest. Positives - comfy bed, clean room, adequate facilities. Adequate ventilation (however was quite noisy), as was a warm night. Negatives - only one plug socket- so it you need to charge laptop and mobile phone..and camera if vacationing- forget it. Tea/ coffee of poor quality- tasted bad, not enough election of teas and not enough milk. TV not working. Was quite noisy, could hear the outside traffic etc. and the number of people running up and down the corridor at 3am was slightly disturbing.

Room Tip: ask for rooms that have quieter AC, or where guests check in earlier. Check with reception if multip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YD27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I think a lot of people are being rather unfair to this hotel. It's clean, the beds are comfy, the staff are friendly and efficient, the rooms are large and it's centrally located. It's also a total bargain for a city centre location. Our room faced the main road and I didn't particularly notice the noise either. The building is a rather majestic Victorian example and it is furnished to match.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank RachaelBowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Myself and my partner stayed here for one night whilst travelling through the north, we had decided to stay over at very last notice and finding this room for £45 on late rooms was a obvious bargain.
We arrived early evening and had to hunt a nearby carpark as we hadnt been instructed on booking where the actual carpark was, by the time we got to the hotel to find out it was pointless travelling to where appeared out of the city for parking, so settled for the expensive ncp carpark.
On arrival the hotel looked fantastic at the main entrance but sadly thats where it started to go downhill quickly, on reaching the desk i felt like i was dealing with basil fawlty at the desk who on realising we was "one of the late rooms riff raff" became less then helpful, never mind we got our keys and made our way to the room, making our way to the room we passed through a very old fashioned bar and corridor which wasnt too bad, kind of reminded me of the shining but it was a older building.
On arrival at the room we discovered that our no windows room actually had a window... Not all that bad if it wasnt opposite yates but to be fair the noise didnt concern me all that much, however the room, basic is an understatement, in the corner was a television from the early 90's barely able to pick up more then two channels and even then it was fuzzy, we had been left towels for one person and noticed that the lamp in the room had obviously been victim of some kind of disaster as the lampshade remained at 45 degrees and was completly wonky, the bed was average, luckily in the wardrobe i found spare pillows and also some fur blanket thing, whether that was part of the room is a different matter, there was two plugs on the other side of the room for charging phones on but obviously this proved problematic with sleeping on the other side of the room, lighting in the room was near on non existent, this may well be due to the past its best lamp however the bathroom was bright, i didnt eat in at the hotel so cannot comment on food, overall the hotel is in major need of a refurb, if the rooms were better looked after and staff not so up themselves then i would gladly pay the £160 per night they charge normally however if i had of paid that i would have been extremely angry, the hotels generally good for a one night passing for a cheap price but anything more and i would be seriously considering elsewhere

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rickster01uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
4.4 mi away
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.0 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mitre Hotel
Mitre Hotel
#93 of 120 in Manchester
951 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.3 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Manchester Hotel

Address: Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: £43 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Manchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Manchester offers great value accommodation in a fantastic Manchester city centre location. The hotel is located in one of Manchester's premier architectural buildings and is grade II listed with outstanding details, such as balconied stairway throughout the building. This Manchester Hotel has two lively bars, where you can dance the night away or have a quiet drink. Jenny's restaurant serves a varied selection of Britain's favourite dishes, whilst the Overstuffed Pizzeria offers freshly cooked pizzas and pastas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Britannia Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Manchester
Manchester Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing