We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brittania Hotel, Manchester.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britannia Manchester Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Ranked #90 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brittania Hotel, Manchester.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Good hotel in a central location near railway station and bus station(round the corner from bus), good rooms, breakfast can be extra, near restaurants and shops, friendly staff, amazing staircase(but there's a lift), restaurant and lounge/bar area. Great place to people watch.

Room Tip: Pick one at the back. Not a great view as it looks into offices, but hardly any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chewbacca2009_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    768
    914
    717
    1,180
See reviews for
374
1,351
325
692
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,022)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The exterior and the lobby area of the hotel looks grand and impressive - how wrong could it be !!

Firstly we were given a box room with no window (is that legal) with hot air pumping into the room, complained and were made to pay £10 extra for an executive upgrade - the audacity !! Slightly larger room that absolutely stunk of damp and mould (all our clothes now do also).

The walls were filthy, the carpet was filthy and worn so badly in places, the curtains had stains all over them. I have no idea how this hotel is even still open. Only 1 towel in the bathroom even though for double occupancy. The lighting was poor and the window would hardly open. The room was disgusting, luckily we didn’t spend much time in the hotel but for those who are expecting a nice treat, this hotel will ruin your trip !!!

I will never ever stay in a Britannia Hotel, the staff were also useless and slow on the reception desk. I have never written a trip advisor review, but this was just too bad to not spread the word.

An absolute DUMP of a hotel !!!

Room Tip: Dont choose a room in this hotel - EVER !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubbless1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

A mid-week one night stay booked through KGB for our anniversary so can't grumble at the price we paid & location couldn't be better. Outside is made uninviting as is covered with cheap drinks and happy hour posters for the adjoining club which really spoils it's proud appearance. Hotel is perhaps a little tired in decor but has retained many charming features and really holds it's own. Executive room was nice but curtains let in alot of light and no working ventilation in the bathroom which left it steamed up for hours. The staff, however, although not directly rude, on every inter-action appeared disinterested and dispondent if not clearly fed up! Admittedly we arrived for breakfast with 5 minutes to spare and I appreciate strict schedules are important to turn around meal times but there's a polite way of being told, not the way we were barked at & dead on10am the buffet was whipped away. There was no feedback form in the room as the literature promised (probably best!) and on checkout we were simply asked for the key with none of the usual pleasantries. In short, a real shame that in such a competitive industry where budget/mid range accommodation is not hard to find in this city, the most important element being customer service and experience didn't appear to be any part of their philosophy.

Room Tip: Considering there's no air-con and it's in a very busy area, then I'd suggest the higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SBP894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were allocated a room with no window and no air conditioning.Temp outside was 27c making the room like an absolute sauna. Worst nights sleep i've ever had, the place needs a total renovation. Would have had a better nights sleep sitting on one of the benches outside. Please do not stay here, pay the extra 20 quid and stay somewhere else like the premier inn. I complained when we checked out at 6am(couldn't stay in there any longer) but was like talking to a brick wall.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Djajrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just got back after staying one night in this hotel and was pleasantly surprised how good this hotel was. Yes it might need a lick of paint here and there, but its a beautiful hotel. Its in a great location and close to all the pubs, clubs, shops and the train station. It looks very impressive from the outside and as others have already mentioned it has some beautiful architecture. The room was clean and very comfortable, however the walls are very thin. We paid £55 for the night and I thought that was excellent value considering the location of the hotel. I would definitely stay in this hotel again if I returned to Manchester.

Room Tip: Higher room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulnic50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballogie, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

I was at a 2 day business meeting here last week. With the temperature as it was - very high outside - imagine my horror to discover there was no aircon in the bedrooms. With windows open, all you could hear was traffic noise, this coupled with the fact that the curtains were practically see through, meant very little sleep. The meeting rooms were also too hot. Lunch was plates of sandwiches and chips - not very appetising. I would never stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torquay
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Was a little apprehensive after reading some previous comments but pleasantly surprised as found it to be a beautiful old hotel in centre of piccadilly. No complaints, staff helpful, comfortable clean room, usual self service breakfast, with food reguarly replenished.
Central to shops, trams and buses. Some road noise due to position centrally when window was open, could do with fan or A/C as was hot during the visit. Hope to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank torquaytoturkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#67 of 115 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
0.1 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#56 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Manchester Hotel

Property: Britannia Manchester Hotel
Address: 35 Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Manchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Manchester offers great value accommodation in a fantastic Manchester city centre location. The hotel is located in one of Manchester's premier architectural buildings and is grade II listed with outstanding details, such as balconied stairway throughout the building. This Manchester Hotel has two lively bars, where you can dance the night away or have a quiet drink. Jenny's restaurant serves a varied selection of Britain's favourite dishes, whilst the Overstuffed Pizzeria offers freshly cooked pizzas and pastas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Britannia Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Manchester
Manchester Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing