We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britannia Manchester Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Ranked #90 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel itself is in prime location in Manchester, it looks good on the face of it and reception seems quite swanky. Thats were it ends! The room I stayed in was a joke, luckily I was only staying for a works night out otherwise I would have demnaded a move. The bed was concave, and I often woke up being rolled to the middle, the wallpaper was peeling off and dusty plaster on the floor, floor to ceiling curtains had no window behind them??? Was expecting a view of the cirty but instead more 30 yr old wall paper. Uncomfortable, smelly, dirty and expensive and thats just the room, the breakfast was pretty poor, poor choice, tiny glasses for a drink so you spend more time up and down filling up. Get a tent and go to the park, you will have a better experience

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pubcrawler1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    768
    915
    717
    1,182
See reviews for
374
1,351
325
692
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,022)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We are really unhappy with our stay at the Britannia hotel. We were on a 15 hour flight excluding the transit time and being really tired were looking forward to a nice shower and rest. I asked for a room with a nice view and was given room 613 and 612. No one told us about all the stairs we had to carry our luggage up because the elevator stop on the 5th floor. No view due to the wall, no aircon or fan and nearly 40 'C. After complaining I was told they can only change our rooms in two hours time and brought us fans. You can sleep with a open window due to the traffic noise. Then the shower head is broken and flooded the bathroom floor and the hot water tap is loose and does not work probably. The light does not work. The televisions are outdated and the remote nearly never works. The closet had one door missing.
We have stayed in Tokyo, Daejeon, Vienna and Seoul but this was the most expensive and horrible stay we have experience.
We were looking forward to stay in this historic building but much to our disappointment. The hotel has so much potential but is neglected and not maintained.

Room Tip: In summer, stay on the ground floor if you have no other hotel to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilian v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with National Holidays. All staff were friendly and helpful, single room was clean and comfortable with good bath and shower. Bit noisy at night but then that's to be expected as hotel is on very busy street with good access to central Manchester.
Evening meal was good tho' desserts were pretty tasteless. Full English buffet breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice and good quality. All in all, excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaddyP111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hotel in its hay day must have been stunning but it's a bit tired,
No air con in rooms the window would not open properly
Carpets in room stained curtains stained luckily bed linen was clean,
No atmosphere in bar area.
(The only good thing was the breakfast if you book night before you get it for 7-50£ )
Will not be going back it's a pity the building just needs lots of TLC

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hols65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

My sister and I stayed overnight Saturday at the Britannia hotel, after a full day's shopping. We thought we had made a good decision to stay there as it was so close to the shops, being within 10 minutes walk of Arndale Centre and nearby stores. We were rather tired come 1030pm and were looking forward to a good night's sleep. However, the music coming from the Bar adjacent to the hotel (I understand owned by the hotel), was so unbearably loud, it was like having a band in our room with a thundering bass. My description is not exaggerated. It is absolutely incredible that any hotel would expect guests to accept or tolerate such noise which didn't finish until after 2am. At about 1130pm I complained to reception, but the response was that she would advise the manager, and the music would probably subside - although she didn't know when, and it didn't anyway! I noticed a display near the dining room stating Bar Wave was Fri and Sat nights. The hotel therefore could be far more 'comfortable' during weekdays. Our room was on the first floor 103. I would advise anyone who wanted to get to sleep before 3am not to stay there at weekend. The food was mediocre buffet style: but kitchen and waiting staff were pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyLea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Will not return to this hotel AGAIN!!!! room dark dirty and very hot. Stayed overnight to be fair the bed linen was clean and the bathroom .but the carpet was filthy and the walls . Did not feel i could complain at the hotel as the staff were very thin on the ground . Also they did not seem to have the time of day for any body.had a great night out down canal street .would recomend a night out there to any one.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sswilkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

On arrival the Hotel foyer looks very impressive but the rooms were fairly basic but were kept clean,there was a problem that we didn't have a television on the first day of arrival.
Evening meal both nights were disgusting and inedible. Breakfasts were not to bad. Manchester itself very busy and very noisy so don't expect to get a good sleep.
On the plus side the hotel was very central to the shopping area, and there was also a China Town.
A visit to the Trafford Centre is a must ,It is a huge area crammed with all well known brands,and designer shops too. Also a vast area for eating.
Enjoyed this trip,Coronatiion Street trip was brilliant, and not far away from the hotel.Would recommend a visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanneparry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#67 of 115 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Manchester Hotel

Property: Britannia Manchester Hotel
Address: 35 Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Manchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Manchester offers great value accommodation in a fantastic Manchester city centre location. The hotel is located in one of Manchester's premier architectural buildings and is grade II listed with outstanding details, such as balconied stairway throughout the building. This Manchester Hotel has two lively bars, where you can dance the night away or have a quiet drink. Jenny's restaurant serves a varied selection of Britain's favourite dishes, whilst the Overstuffed Pizzeria offers freshly cooked pizzas and pastas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Britannia Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Manchester
Manchester Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing