We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Ranked #92 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed here for one night during the week and i have to say there were several issues that made this review 1* instead of 3*. The hotel is very dated with old, worn & torn furniture, the chest of drawers were already broken upon my arrival and carpet had weird pink stains. The TV had 3 working channels (2 of them were teleshopping) as well as message 'Welcome to Premier Inn' once switched on, I wonder where they've got their TVs from. Now overall that wouldn't be too bad for the price I was paying but what left me disappointed was the fact that there was hair in the bathroom sink upon my arrival as well as suspicious red stain on the bedsheets. I'm sorry but I cannot tolerate a hotel who fails to provide clean linen. The only thing great about the hotel was the location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlainCool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    791
    965
    754
    1,229
See reviews for
389
1,427
338
730
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,057)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My boyfriend and I chose this hotel based on it's location, and in that respect it was just perfect for us. The hotel is very impressive with it's chandelier and beautiful open ornate staircase.

Just 3 down points, the lifts were very slow. The bath towels were more like hand towels, too small.

Also, we had a guide dog with us, (this was noted on our booking so should not have come as a surprise to anyone) as my partner is partially sighted, the girl on check in wanted to charge us a £50 deposit and a £10 fee for the dog!

I REFUSED, told her this was illegal, and discriminatory against disabled. She disappeared through the back, to consult with a manager, came back, said absolutely nothing more about it, no apology, no "yes madam, you are correct", and handed us our room key.

2 days later, on day of departure we received a call very early in the morning to tell us that we had not yet paid and could we do so before we left! Totally unnecessary, as we would of course have paid on check out, and it was not our fault that payment was not taken on check in, due to her confusion.

However, the hotel was satisfactory in every other way. Would I stay again? yes, definitely.

The weekend we stayed was when the hotel was hosting the SPARKLE Transgender weekend, which made for interesting people watching.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottishlassie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We have just spent 2 nights with majestic coaches from teignmouth in devon at the Britannia hotel Manchester
Firstly I want to stress that there are over 500 rooms at this hotel and yes some rooms don't have windows
However our stay was excellent very friendly staff to welcome you on arrival
Very nice bars to drink the evenings away again lovely staff
Then not forgetting the restaurant the welcome was fabulous, The food very tasty a special mention in the restaurant must go to Greg who's smile and friendly welcome lights up the dinning room whatever the weather.
Don't be put off by the bad reviews like we we're go and judge for yourself
We will definitely be booking to go back thank you to all at Britannia you rule xx

Room Tip: Mention when booking that you don't want a room without a window xx
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Despite some poor reviews we booked this hotel for an overnight stay and we're delighted that we had.It was ideal for our needs being well placed for seeing the museums and visiting the city.Our room was comfy and clean giving us a great nights sleep.Very friendly staff.Beautiful central staircase.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jscoates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

dated old fixtures,furniture and decoration. Small noisy claustrophbic rooms. Bizzarre chintzy old fashioned pictures and ornaments. Superficially clean but stained and old carpets. Terrible place.i had to be moved 3 times due to noise and i couldnt wait to leave the next day.

Room Tip: dont stay here but if you do ask for a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vincent_b186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

I have stayed one night there without booking, and it cost to me 75 euros for a single bedroom and without windows. It was very hot the air conditioning was not working well neither. Location is great though as well as the service. If you find your self there ask a room with windows

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefell89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

BAD- load bellowing music till 4am, drunken idiots in the bars, windows filthy, ridiculously hot and no air con, hole in bathroom door.
OK- fairly clean
GOOD- nice hallway, but that's not much use really

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#69 of 118 in Manchester
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
0.2 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#60 of 118 in Manchester
742 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#46 of 118 in Manchester
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Manchester Hotel

Property: Britannia Manchester Hotel
Address: 35 Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Manchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Manchester offers great value accommodation in a fantastic Manchester city centre location. The hotel is located in one of Manchester's premier architectural buildings and is grade II listed with outstanding details, such as balconied stairway throughout the building. This Manchester Hotel has two lively bars, where you can dance the night away or have a quiet drink. Jenny's restaurant serves a varied selection of Britain's favourite dishes, whilst the Overstuffed Pizzeria offers freshly cooked pizzas and pastas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Britannia Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Manchester
Manchester Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing