We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“britania hotelmanchester”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Ranked #92 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“britania hotelmanchester”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

good central location, walking distance of city centre
clean spacious room
nice breakfast
noisy especially on Saturday night as located over a night club, very loud music playing until 1am
would not stay again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Avril E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    792
    966
    754
    1,229
See reviews for
389
1,428
338
731
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,057)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The Britannia, I am sure is a charming building, steeping in history and tradition. But it's done, out-dated, old, and just not worth the effort. There are MANY new hotels around the Britannia including the Mercure, Park Plaza, etc etc and I would much rather stay there. The breakfast was un-appetizing and not worth the GBP 10. The windows had no grills, which at night on the ground floor was a cause of concern. The TV did not work (its still a box-styled TV form the 90s). The wifi was decent but that was the only saving grace. Please do better, stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Avoid GROUND floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarshadDASWANI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We took our kids (8 & 10) to Manchester at the last minute and needed a family room with good access to the city centre and the Arena. I regret not looking at the reviews on Tripadvisor beforehand as in hindsight this was a bad decision. I was fooled by the description of the hotel and the price which made me think it "must be OK." The hotel is dated, shabby and reeks of smoke and stale beer. It's location means that later at night you are greeted by bouncers on the door, loud music, drunken loutish behaviour and a disturbed night. Probably fine if you are twenty-something and out with your mates but not suitable for a young family. The staff were OK, with the usual language problems, but we were concerned by the signage in the room encouraging us not to leave any valuables in the room. Can't review the quality of the breakfast as we checked out in the middle of the night to try and get more suitable accommodation!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else with kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alex b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

stayed with a voucher (although I am becoming convinced that these are not all they are cracked up to be). very basic, but clean, room that was supposed to be 'executive'. On the road, no air conditioning but window did open which made it cool but extremely noisy all night into the early morning. Staircase and entrance hall do look amazing so a little disappointed with decor of rooms. didn't have an evening meal only breakfast. Very canteen like atmosphere. Plenty of food but it had been kept under the heaters so long it had dried out. Toast done in bulk which saves using the dreaded slow toasters, but was done on one side only. Self service tea and coffee from large flasks which meant tea was strong and 'stewed', coffee cold and bitter. perhaps better to take a teabag and ask for hot water. Good location and as people have commented this is what sells the hotel. A note of caution , the parking advertised by the hotel is not easy to find with the sat nav and is at least 10 mins walk away. there is car parking at ?chaloner street (where the coach station is) that is literally around the corner. £18 for 24hrs so depending how many of you there are, and the price of local train fare this may be more convenient -which it was for us.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liverpoolcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welling, Kent
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This hotel was in middle of busy city so brilliant for nights out. Hotel was ok but very dated but had lovely features. The rooms was clean and comfortable but in arrival we could not see parking . Went to reception and was told 10 mins away . But took us an hour to find with busy London like roads and busy traffic. We walked back in the rain which was ok for me and my husband but for an older couple this would have not been good. My only other criticism was the breakfast. This was not a good selection. Cooked breakfast was ok but nothing special, few cereals. No fruit , well tinned not nice looking peaches and something else which looked terrible and was not touched . Some off colour looking salad. Really not impressed with breakfast at all. I would not stay there again .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a coach tour. Check-in was fast and efficient, and our room was an Executive Double on the third floor, at the rear of the building. The room was clean and tidy really. The windows obviously need replacing, but we were able to open it, although there was no way of securing it, so we had to close it again when not in the room. The carpet was a bit worn and shabby, but the bed was quite comfortable, and the bathroom clean, with some toiletries provided. The hotel was quite noisy on the first night - we had a lady swearing an crying in the corridor, with people running up and down the corridor, but it was better on the second night.
Breakfast was included, and it was OK. I have fruit and toast, and although the fruit was obviously from a tin, it was fine. There seemed to be a shortage of hot food though, but having said that, some people did seem to have rather a lot on their plate, or in some cases, plates. We didn't take advantage on the included dinner, as 6 pm is too early in the evening for us, but it seems the rest of the coach party enjoyed the food, and there seemed to be something for everyone.
If you need a hotel in a good location, and don't plan on spending much time in your room, the this place is just fine. Plenty of pubs and restaurants close by, the Arndale centre is about 10 minutes walk away, and you're on the doorstep of the Gay Village.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BristolJue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the night with friends in December 2013 while visiting Manchester for a night out. Me and a friend paid 10 quid each for a two person room which we were very happy with. The room was nothing special but we found it to be clean despite the decor being old fashioned with signs of wear and tear.

The look of the hotel itself reminded me of the 'overlook hotel' from the Stanley Kubrick movie 'The Shining' it was very 70's looking but I liked the retro look and feel personally! It was basically somewhere to get our heads down after our night out and based on the price we paid I have no complaints whatsoever, except that we had to queue for over half an hour to use an iron in a room on a separate floor which was bizarre and apparently the only ironing room in the whole hotel that everyone had to share.

Don't have 5 star expectations and if you're just looking for somewhere to shower and get your head down after a night out it's recommended!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 870gray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#69 of 118 in Manchester
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
0.2 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#59 of 118 in Manchester
742 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#46 of 118 in Manchester
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Manchester Hotel

Property: Britannia Manchester Hotel
Address: 35 Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Manchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Manchester offers great value accommodation in a fantastic Manchester city centre location. The hotel is located in one of Manchester's premier architectural buildings and is grade II listed with outstanding details, such as balconied stairway throughout the building. This Manchester Hotel has two lively bars, where you can dance the night away or have a quiet drink. Jenny's restaurant serves a varied selection of Britain's favourite dishes, whilst the Overstuffed Pizzeria offers freshly cooked pizzas and pastas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Manchester
Manchester Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing