We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Ranked #91 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good Value”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Hi recently stayed here for work for a few nights

In short, It's clean and tidy, nice staff, very good location but my room was awfully dated, the decor was very old fashioned.

Other guests were making quite a lot of noise and the walls and not very thick! Perhaps staying a Friday night its no surprise.


Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank aidanwmcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    786
    951
    744
    1,217
See reviews for
386
1,409
331
723
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,049)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

just got back from this hotel would recomend to family and friends needs bit updating but still lovely hotel staff really helpfull room very spaciouse beds nipping clean and comfy we were astonished at the beautifull staircase and amazed at the gorgeouse chandollier hanging just above stair case it is huge plenty places to see lovely shopping centre bars and restraunts breakfast was lovely are looking to book at this hotel again soon

Room Tip: we had room at the front on first floor which was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 613shirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Having recently stayed in this hotel, we would not stay again. Upon first appearances, the entrance strikes you as being very grand but, unfortunately, this deceptive facade hides a multitude of poor standards.
We asked for a quiet room and were offered an executive room, including breakfast, as part of a package deal. Sadly the room was far from executive but rather old and tired with hard bed and pillows and not one, but two adjoining doors through which all conversations could be heard plus the loud televisions. A quiet room? I dread to think what a standard room would offer if this was the executive room
Do not take up the offer of breakfast! This consists of cheap food which has sat under hotplates for hours. Hard fried eggs, dried out toast, cheap baked beans and a literal slop to constitute tomatoes. Really shocking! We did complain about this and were told that we could not have this refunded as we had agreed to a package. We were offered dinner as a means of an apology but seriously, would you eat dinner in a hotel which can't even offer a basic decent breakfast?
The only reedeeming feature about this hotel was its close proximity to the city centre. Apart from that,avoid it at all costs.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnniesland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights.good food,comfortable room and helpful reception area.Good nightlife around and good shops too.A great place to stay to visit the Coronation Set before it closes for good in October.

Room Tip: Although I don`t smoke the ground floor has smokers rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggiemay4249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

WORST HOTEL I HAVE EVERY STAYED AT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

My brother had a penny thrown at his head resulting in a cut...

The window latch was broken so if we wanted we could stand out on the window ledge above the busy highstreet, the plugs were hanging out of the wall, the beds and bathrooms were filthy!

I complained to the manager explaining I can’t sleep due to what sounded like a fight upstairs, the last call I made to complain was 4:50am.. I was told my complaint was logged.. I paid £80 each for 3 rooms that night, I have messaged customer service 3 times now and am just being ignored.. THIS HOTEL LINE IS TERRIBLE.. they have no idea about customer service.

I will never stay in another Britannia brand hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tio25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just recently back from the Britannia Hotel Portland Street. What can I say, its in need of a makeover. Location is great but that's about the only thing going for it. It's ok for a footie weekend but if you're looking for luxury this isn't the place to be. Booked an Executive Room and can only say I wouldn't like to see a standard room! For the price paid, not really worth it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

good central location, walking distance of city centre
clean spacious room
nice breakfast
noisy especially on Saturday night as located over a night club, very loud music playing until 1am
would not stay again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Avril E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#66 of 116 in Manchester
1,104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 116 in Manchester
2,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#59 of 116 in Manchester
738 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Manchester Hotel

Property: Britannia Manchester Hotel
Address: 35 Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Manchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Manchester offers great value accommodation in a fantastic Manchester city centre location. The hotel is located in one of Manchester's premier architectural buildings and is grade II listed with outstanding details, such as balconied stairway throughout the building. This Manchester Hotel has two lively bars, where you can dance the night away or have a quiet drink. Jenny's restaurant serves a varied selection of Britain's favourite dishes, whilst the Overstuffed Pizzeria offers freshly cooked pizzas and pastas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Britannia Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Manchester
Manchester Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing